bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2416
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#16 by ncmprhnsbl » 24 Nov 2019, 04:35

do

Code: Select all

ldd /usr/bin/freerdp | grep not
will show any missing libs
if you're using xfce4 you'll need gstreamer for RDP to work
do

Code: Select all

# getpkg gstreamer
will get it from slackware-current for you..
there's also a crash when preferences is invoked.. gsettings related.. not sure of the fix yet..
EDIT just needed to run

Code: Select all

glib-compile-schemas /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas
note: that with RC1 xfce4 you'll need gsettings-desktop-schemas package as well.. (getpkg will work for this as well)

so yes, this bundle as is, is not for RC1 or "alldesktops" at this stage. :)
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 210
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#17 by rchase » 24 Nov 2019, 04:43

It isn´t a matter of missing libraries, I´ḿ just asking how to integrate RDP into Remmina; leaving them separate and activating them in turn works -- up to a point. Windows reports no audio devices installed once the connection is established. If they can be combined, the result should be a bundle for all desktops running 5.0rc1, as far as I know -- if thereś something xfce-specific above, I don´t know what it is.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2416
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#18 by ncmprhnsbl » 24 Nov 2019, 04:57

sounds like you might have merged the wrong way around..
manually: as root with both modules in tmp

Code: Select all

mkdir build
xzm2dir remmina-1.3.6-x86_64-alldesktops.xzm build
xzm2dir freerdp*.xzm build
dir2xzm build remmina-1.3.6-x86_64-fixed.xzm
rchase wrote:
24 Nov 2019, 04:43
Windows reports no audio devices installed once the connection is established.
if you've got gstreamer, maybe there's more needed... gst-plugins-base maybe??? plus: did freerdp need these at compile time?
answer my own question:

Code: Select all

reeRDP-2.0.0-rc4/winpr/wlog.7
Package gstreamer-base-1.0 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `gstreamer-base-1.0.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package 'gstreamer-base-1.0' found
:) you've compiled freerdp without gstreamer support. recompile with gstreamer present..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#19 by Blaze » 24 Nov 2019, 08:43

Sorry for this issues :oops:
remmina-1.3.6-x86_64-alldesktops.xzm (builded under Porteus 5 RC1)

Code: Select all

freerdp-2.0.0_rc4-x86_64-1_SBo
gst-plugins-base-1.16.1-x86_64-1
gstreamer-1.16.1-x86_64-1
json-glib-1.4.4-x86_64-1
libsodium-1.0.18-x86_64-1
libvncserver-0.9.11-x86_64-4
remmina-1.3.6-x86_64-1_SBo
I added gstreamer. Probably gstreamer is dependence for openbox, because MATE and Cinnamon is have gstreamer.
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2416
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#20 by ncmprhnsbl » 24 Nov 2019, 09:02

Blaze wrote:
24 Nov 2019, 08:43
Probably gstreamer is dependence for openbox, because MATE and Cinnamon is have gstreamer.
afaics, gstreamer is in KDE and Cinnamon only, all other DE modules are without it..
also there's gsettings-desktop-schemas for the preferences to work.. this is in MATE, KDE and Cinnamon only..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#21 by Blaze » 24 Nov 2019, 09:24

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
24 Nov 2019, 09:02
gstreamer is in KDE and Cinnamon only, all other DE modules are without it..
yes, you are right.

Thanks.
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 210
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#22 by rchase » 24 Nov 2019, 15:13

Thanks, all. I obtained gstreamers and gsettings-desktop-schemas, activated them in addition to printing, and repeated the compilation -- this time, no errors appeared after "FreeRDP-2.0.0-rc4/winpr/wlog.7". I manually merged Remmina with freerdp and activated the resulting module, but RDP was missing again. I deactivated that module and activated the separate Remmina and freerdp modules in turn -- still no RDP.

Blaze, thanks for your upload -- your new module works like the one I made following ncmprhnsbl's instructions (prior to activating gstreamer and gsettings-desktop-schemas); Windows reports that no audio device is installed. I realize that the main purpose of remote connections isn't to create ad hoc media servers, but with audio redirection working, it is possible.

Is RDP for Remmina (on Slackware) still a work in progress or can audio be made to work? MS seems to have documentation about audio over RDP (prominent among the search summary: it may be subject to frequent changes).

P.S. I'm using Remmina now from Cinnamon to edit this post via my Windows 10 machine -- it reports no audio device installed.

P.P.S. I fired up XP and was able to connect via RDP; this time Windows reported that the RDP was handling the audio and the volume settings were enabled, but the device volume slider was pegged to the left and although it could be adjusted, instantly pegged left again when "Apply" was pressed. My Windows RDP clients receive audio from other Windows machines.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 210
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

bundle - Remmina: Remote Desktop Application for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#23 by rchase » 27 Nov 2019, 19:00

No audio? It works on Windows.

Post Reply