Opera 64 (lite version)

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#16 by Ed_P » 15 Oct 2019, 05:36

:o Thank you donald. :beer:
donald wrote:
15 Oct 2019, 00:48
Try the standalone player on this page (they call it a "projector")
https://www.adobe.com/support/flashplay ... loads.html
[flash_player_sa_linux.x86_64.tar.gz]

Extract the archive and run the flashplayer file.
I extracted the .tar file but I don't know how to run it, or convert it to .xzm, tar2xzm doesn't work/exist. Then I found I could extract the flashplayer inside the .tar file and it does indeed run and plays the .swf files on my hard drive. :shock: :celebrate14: :Yahoo!:

Thank you :worthy: donald.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#17 by Ed_P » 09 Mar 2020, 06:34

Hi Donald.

With the newer releases of firefox I'm having more need to use the flashplayer projector to run the .swf files on my harddrive. I've set up a simple script to run it but the terminal window has to stay open while it runs. Is there a bash option to disable that requirement? :%)
Ed

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1605
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#18 by donald » 09 Mar 2020, 15:42

Hi Ed
My tiny test script (flash.sh) to run the player:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
(/home/guest/test/flashplayer &)
if you want the player to stay open but the terminal closed,run the script as follows:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~/test$ ./flash.sh && exit

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#19 by Ed_P » 09 Mar 2020, 22:33

Thank you donald. :beer:

I started with:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

/mnt/sda6/Users/Ed/"My Webpages"/Games/flashplayer > /dev/null 2>&1 &
which works but was leaving the terminal window open. Your changes and approach do indeed work but what I am still looking for is the ability to dbl click on the script in my FM and get the same result. At this point running it from the FM still doesn't work. :(
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2480
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#20 by ncmprhnsbl » 09 Mar 2020, 22:40

why not just make a .desktop file for it? hint: use an existing .desktop file as a template..
Ed_P wrote:
09 Mar 2020, 22:33
At this point running it from the FM still doesn't work
is it executable? (chmod +x <script>)
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#21 by Ed_P » 09 Mar 2020, 22:51

I've consider doing that ncmp but would prefer it not being on my desktop. And yes, it is executable. Running it from the FM it does run but also ends in a blink.
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2480
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#22 by ncmprhnsbl » 09 Mar 2020, 23:36

Ed_P wrote:
09 Mar 2020, 22:51
I've consider doing that ncmp but would prefer it not being on my desktop.
can be anywhere ... often in /usr/share/applications, that way it should appear in a menu..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Opera 64 (lite version)

Post#23 by Ed_P » 09 Mar 2020, 23:40

Yup. :Yahoo!: I just created the desktop file in my /home/guest folder thus it doesn't show on the Desktop. dul :D Putting one in the /usr/share/applications folder for it to appear in the menu is a clever idea also. :good:

Thank you guys. :friends:

Added in 19 minutes 36 seconds:
For any others who might stumble upon this this is my .desktop file.

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
# https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?p=74262#p74262
Name=Games
Comment=Play Adobe Flash .swf files
Exec=/mnt/sda6/Users/Ed/"My Webpages"/Games/flashplayer
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/flash-player-properties.png
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Name[en_US]=Games
StartupNotify=false
Categories=Game;

BTW For specific games flashplayer gamename.swf works also. For example:

Code: Select all

Exec=/mnt/sda6/Users/Ed/"My Webpages"/Games/flashplayer  /mnt/sda6/Users/Ed/"My Webpages"/Games/pacman.swf
Ed

Post Reply