Brave Browser

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
Post Reply
neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1863
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Brave Browser

Post#1 by neko » 21 Oct 2021, 06:51

Brave Browser

004-brave-nightly-bin-1.33.23-x86_64-1.xzm (118 M)
https://www.mediafire.com/file/7x2wwz86 ... 6_64-1.xzm
md5sum: 973bd1c3140fd739a5122a38f4fb2792 004-brave-nightly-bin-1.33.23-x86_64-1.xzm

Thanks.

Kulle
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 382
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Brave Browser

Post#2 by Kulle » 30 Oct 2021, 07:38

Hi neko,
brave-nightly doesn't work in Porteus 4.0
Activate Error: "Cannot read module data. Corrupted download?"

There are now only modules for Porteus 5.0 offered?

User avatar
babam
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 277
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc3 Xfce K5.14.10
Location: Rainy city

Brave Browser

Post#3 by babam » 30 Oct 2021, 07:47

Kulle, upgrade your kernel.
Sorry, my English is bad.

Kulle
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 382
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Brave Browser

Post#4 by Kulle » 30 Oct 2021, 08:19

Hi babam,
"upgrade your kernel" I have never done that. I'll deal with that soon.

For Porteus4.0
1.) download:
https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/ ... _amd64.deb
2.) deb2xzm

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1863
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Brave Browser

Post#5 by neko » 31 Oct 2021, 06:12

@Kulle
1.There are now only modules for Porteus 5.0 offered?
--->
Yes, it for 5.0 only.

2.Activate Error: "Cannot read module data. Corrupted download?"
--->
Because the XZM is the squashfs that was compressed with zstd.
zstd is not support at Porteus 4.0.

3. 004-brave-nightly-bin-1.33.23-x86_64-1.xzm and the XZM that was created from
https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/ ... _amd64.deb
will need libxkbcommon.so library whose version mismatches Porteus 4.0.


Thanks.

Kulle
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 382
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Brave Browser

Post#6 by Kulle » 31 Oct 2021, 11:17

Hi neko,
thanks for the infos,
I use brave-browser-nightly_1.33.46_amd64.xzm in Porteus 4.0 (see #4 above).
and I have also installed libxkbcommon-1.0.3-alt1.x86_64.xzm for some time now,
because this is also required for the newer versions of Google chrome.

User avatar
maia
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 99
Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 16:56
Distribution: Porteus 5 rc3 < 64b Openbox
Location: Brasil

Brave Browser

Post#7 by maia » 04 Nov 2021, 02:44

Tks for Brave :)
Sorry my english is really, g##gle-tr4nsl4t0r

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1863
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Brave Browser

Post#8 by neko » 10 Jan 2022, 10:16

Brave Browser version 1.34.80 for Porteus 5.0rc3

004-brave-browser-1.34.80-linux-amd64.xzm (117 M)
deleted
md5sum: 35d8e01cdf52a5e14f27425cac025978 004-brave-browser-1.34.80-linux-amd64.xzm

Thanks.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3446
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.0rc3 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany
Contact:

Brave Browser

Post#9 by Rava » 19 Jan 2022, 16:52

neko wrote:
10 Jan 2022, 10:16
004-brave-browser-1.34.80-linux-amd64.xzm (117 M)
https://www.mediafire.com/file/yy1xw9n3 ... -amd64.xzm
Activated 004-brave-browser-1.34.80-linux-amd64.xzm Starting it via terminal fails. :(

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ brave-browser
bash: brave-browser: command not found
Sadly, there is no link to /opt/brave/brave-browser, e.g. creating a simple symlink named /usr/bin/brave-browser that links to /opt/brave/brave-browser would do the trick.

Solution:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# cd /usr/bin/
root@porteus:/usr/bin# ln -s /opt/brave/brave-browser .
root@porteus:/usr/bin# ls -o brave-browser 
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root 24 Jan 19 17:49 brave-browser -> /opt/brave/brave-browser
Aside from that it then seems to run from the terminal:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ brave-browser
[3719:3719:0119/175046.697352:ERROR:CONSOLE(1)] "[Shields]: Can't request shields panel data for tabId: 2.  Error: No tab url specified", source: chrome-extension://mnojpmjdmbbfmejpflffifhffcmidifd/out/brave_extension_background.bundle.js (1)
[3719:3719:0119/175046.697506:ERROR:CONSOLE(1)] "[Shields]: Can't request shields panel data for tabId: 2.  Error: No tab url specified", source: chrome-extension://mnojpmjdmbbfmejpflffifhffcmidifd/out/brave_extension_background.bundle.js (1)
[3719:3719:0119/175046.697815:ERROR:CONSOLE(1)] "[Shields]: Can't request shields panel data for tabId: 2.  Error: No tab url specified", source: chrome-extension://mnojpmjdmbbfmejpflffifhffcmidifd/out/brave_extension_background.bundle.js (1)
[3719:3719:0119/175046.698134:ERROR:CONSOLE(1)] "[Shields]: Can't request shields panel data for tabId: 2.  Error: No tab url specified", source: chrome-extension://mnojpmjdmbbfmejpflffifhffcmidifd/out/brave_extension_background.bundle.js (1)
[3719:3867:0119/175049.775343:ERROR:chrome_browser_main_extra_parts_metrics.cc(227)] START: ReportBluetoothAvailability(). If you don't see the END: message, this is crbug.com/1216328.
[3719:3867:0119/175049.775378:ERROR:chrome_browser_main_extra_parts_metrics.cc(230)] END: ReportBluetoothAvailability()
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6606
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 4.0 & 5.0rc3 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Brave Browser

Post#10 by Ed_P » 20 Jan 2022, 05:24

It's in the Porteus' DE menu under Internet. But the Brave Rewards for viewing Brave Private Ads is a bit of a turn off. I prefer Firefox and it's StopAll Ads add-on.
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3446
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.0rc3 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany
Contact:

Brave Browser

Post#11 by Rava » 20 Jan 2022, 08:15

Ed_P wrote:
20 Jan 2022, 05:24
It's in the Porteus' DE menu under Internet.
I saw the .desktop file in the module myself. But… how is what you wrote helping any trying to start it via terminal?
Ed_P wrote:
20 Jan 2022, 05:24
But the Brave Rewards for viewing Brave Private Ads is a bit of a turn off. I prefer Firefox and it's StopAll Ads add-on.
Not about rewards per se, but the add blocker seems to be an inferior one.
In Palemoon I use uMatrix and uBlockOrigin and most pages not complain ever about me using an add-blocker at all. :)

But the way Brave Browser's add blocker is set up (or functions), the very first site I tested it on printed a full screen overlay (blocking the page contents) complaining about me using an add blocker. :(
ADBLOCK DETECTED
Unfortunately AdBlock might cause a bad affect on displaying content of this website. Please, deactivate it.
I wonder if it's possible using uBlockOrigin as add-blocker in Brave instead of the one incorporated in it?
I recall there was an attempt in making the code workable for g-chrome, so if that was successful it should work on Brave as well, no?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1212
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Brave Browser

Post#12 by beny » 20 Jan 2022, 11:39

i have used a slackbuild version to build brave-browser that repack a rpm version, and it is an old version,so i have installed the neko's one that is a deb package and work if you want run brave from a terminal cd into the brave directory in /opt and you have one script that allow you to run the browser and the "exe"

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3446
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.0rc3 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany
Contact:

Brave Browser

Post#13 by Rava » 20 Jan 2022, 15:21

^
or simply do as root

Code: Select all

cd /usr/bin/
ln -s /opt/brave/brave-browser .
In my book, to have to move into the binary folder of any program in order to start it via terminal is quite… how do I say that in a polite way? "Less convenient." :D
___________________________

Seems brave is as annoying in hogging the status as my default browser as chrome or chromium is.
Without me telling it to be my default browser, it still sets itself up as default browser in my system. ImagePalemoon to stay the default browser

Thank you NOT very much, I prefer choosing for myself which browser should be the default, and I want Palemoon to stay the default browser. PM is loaded via boot and usually always started first. Sometimes I need a 2nd browser… and when its Chrom* based that jerk software is always setting itself up as the default without me saying so. That annoys me. :crazy:
_____________________________________

Update
I just installed https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... -night-eye
Does anyone of you fine folks know which files I need to save into my 992-rootcopy_5.0rc3-RECENT.xzm module for saving such things?

I want to only save the bare minimum of needed files. ( Palemoon gets its own saved-settings-and-extensions file ) - All other programs go into 992-rootcopy_5.0rc3-RECENT.xzm . Hopefully what will be added by saving what's needed to have Brave remember the "dark-mode-night-eye" is not too large.

I presume all needed files (or subfolder(s) and files) are all in guest's ~/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser .

Sadly, the files in the subfolders of ~/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser/Default/Local Extension Settings are cryptic and less helpful - none are able to tell me which extension they refer to. :wall:

Added in 3 minutes 28 seconds:
At least it is possible to figure out what ~/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser/Default/Extensions/alncdjedloppbablonallfbkeiknmkdi is:

/home/guest/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser/Default/Extensions/alncdjedloppbablonallfbkeiknmkdi/4.7.2_0/manifest.json says via grep default_title manifest.json
"default_title": "Night Eye"
:)

Added in 7 minutes 40 seconds:
Hopefully this in /home/guest/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser/Default

Code: Select all

.:
total 32
drwxr-xr-x 3 guest  4096 Jan 20 16:44 Extensions/
-rw------- 1 guest 27520 Jan 20 16:29 Preferences

Extensions/alncdjedloppbablonallfbkeiknmkdi/4.7.2_0/:
total 212
drwx------ 13 guest   4096 Jan 20 16:28 _locales/
drwx------  2 guest   4096 Jan 20 16:28 _metadata/
-rw-------  1 guest 183988 Jan 20 16:28 background.js
drwx------  3 guest   4096 Jan 20 16:28 css/
drwx------  3 guest   4096 Jan 20 16:28 html/
drwx------  4 guest   4096 Jan 20 16:28 js/992-rootcopy module
-rw-------  1 guest   2100 Jan 20 16:28 manifest.json
drwx------  3 guest   4096 Jan 20 16:28 res/
Is all I need to save… (fingers crossed, knocking on wood)

Added in 5 minutes 37 seconds:
To test my attempt, I

· copy all of /home/guest/.config/BraveSoftware/ to a /tmp folder on an ext[234] partition (as backup)
· deactivate the brave module
· remove all files and folders in /home/guest/.config/BraveSoftware/
· only copy the above mentioned files and folders back into /home/guest/.config/BraveSoftware/
· activate the brave module

test if extension "Night Eye" works as it should.

If not, I have to figure out what else files (and probably folders and files) I also have to save…

Added in 17 minutes 39 seconds:
For now, my 992-rootcopy module went up from a pleasant 56 KB to 360 KB :wall:

Me thinks after I figured out what needs to be saved from guest's ~/ for Brave to correctly recall "Night Mode", I will upgrade my main Brave module incorporating that stuff (including the root created symlink, see above) and leave it out of my 992-rootcopy module, reverting that back to its 56 KB. :) And I sure do not want any browser without the pleasant-for-the-eyes night mode. :celebrate3:

Would be also nice to know how to kick Brave in its butt so that it NOT sets itself up as default browser, but as it seems, no one on here seems to know (I asked the same stuff about chrome and chromium, and all are chrome based browsers, so a solution to that for one variant should work for all, but sadly, I never got any helpful info on that.)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1863
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Brave Browser

Post#14 by neko » 23 Jan 2022, 12:37

Brave Browser version 1.34.81 for Porteus 5.0rc3

004-brave-browser-1.34.81-linux-amd64.xzm (117 M)
https://www.mediafire.com/file/uyybhooy ... -amd64.xzm
md5sum: 5545b1a3554c803c5d2b585d9f568e39 004-brave-browser-1.34.81-linux-amd64.xzm


Thanks.

Post Reply