bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
Post Reply
jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 964
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1

Post#1 by jssouza » 09 Jul 2019, 16:52

Meld is a visual diff and merge tool .

It is available as a bundle for Cinnamon and Mate DEs as well as a bundle for all other DEs through the bundles application.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4923
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

bundle - meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate and Cinnamon

Post#2 by Ed_P » 09 Jul 2019, 18:11

Sounds promising. I take the "visual diff" statement to mean it can be used to compare two scripts and to highlight the differences between them?
Ed

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 964
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

bundle - meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate and Cinnamon

Post#3 by jssouza » 10 Jul 2019, 05:06

Yes you can do that.

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 151
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v4.0-xfce
Location: France

bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate and Cinnamon

Post#4 by bour59 » 16 Jul 2019, 09:46

hello!
do you intend to create a bundle for other DE (xfce). thanks

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 964
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate and Cinnamon

Post#5 by jssouza » 17 Jul 2019, 06:10

Added meld bundle for XFCE and KDE.
Meld does not work for openbox WM based DEs (openbox, lxde, lxqt).

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2072
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate, Cinnamon, KDE and XFCE

Post#6 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Jul 2019, 06:41

jssouza wrote:
17 Jul 2019, 06:10
Meld does not work for openbox WM based DEs (openbox, lxde, lxqt).
eh? sure it does... for openbox, i just add gtksourceview3 and gsettings-desktop-schemas..
lxde, lxqt may need pygobject3 (and maybe gobject-introspection) as well..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 964
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate, Cinnamon, KDE and XFCE

Post#7 by jssouza » 17 Jul 2019, 07:05

Tested on these 3 DEs and meld crashed. Why is gsettings-desktop-schemas not part of these DEs? :unknown: I would've thought any gtk based application that is activated on top of the DE would need the schemas compiled for it to work properly. Seems a little redundant to add gsettings-desktop-schemas on every new module instead of in the DE itself.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2072
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate, Cinnamon, KDE and XFCE

Post#8 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Jul 2019, 07:36

jssouza wrote:
17 Jul 2019, 07:05
I would've thought any gtk based application that is activated on top of the DE would need the schemas compiled for it to work properly.
i know this is arch: https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extr ... p-schemas/ but the required by list is not that long(27) with mostly gnomey stuff..
but i suppose it wouldn't hurt to have it..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 964
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

bundle - Meld for Porteus 5.0rc1 Mate, Cinnamon, KDE and XFCE

Post#9 by jssouza » 17 Jul 2019, 07:52

Yup, that was the reason on all the 3 DEs. Now added gsettings-desktop-schemas into the bundle (redundant on kde and xfce) and works. Bundle renamed to alldesktops.
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
17 Jul 2019, 07:36
but i suppose it wouldn't hurt to have it..
IMHO, I think it should be in base, coz the activate script compiles schemas whenever a new module is activated, hence would make sense that it already has the gsettings-desktop-schemas there.

Post Reply