Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Non release banter
Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#1 by Kulle » 25 Aug 2021, 07:24

The change from 4.0 to 5.0 turns out to be time-consuming and difficult.
Example:
In Porteus 4.0 I like to use 06-abiword.xzm
(I don't remember where I got it from)
It doesn't work in Porteus 5.0; missing dependencies:
libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0, libcroco-0.6.so.3, libjpeg.so.8, ......

What is the easiest way to solve such problems?
because usm does not exist in 5.0
thanks

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3924
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 25 Aug 2021, 08:10

in this case:
https://ponce.cc/slackware/slackware64- ... 1ponce.txz
https://ponce.cc/slackware/slackware64- ... 1ponce.txz
https://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware ... 6_64-3.txz

how did i find these?
first i searched for abiword on https://slakfinder.org (pkgs.org could work too, be sure to prefer slackware current repos)
installed and ran it from term:

Code: Select all

abiword: error while loading shared libraries: libwv-1.2.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ok, searched for 'wv' , found it in the same ponce repo, got it, installed it and ran abiword from term:

Code: Select all

abiword: error while loading shared libraries: libgsf-1.so.114: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
ok, searched for 'libgsf', found it in the official current repo, got it, installed it and ran abiword from term:
works now.

i'll most likely add this one to the bundles collection.
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#3 by Kulle » 25 Aug 2021, 08:28

Thanks ncmprhnsbl,
but this is of course very time-consuming if many dependencies are missing.

Abiword is also available as an Appimage.
But that doesn't work either:

Code: Select all

./AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage 

** (AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): WARNING **: 08:12:55.208: Unable to load AbiWord icon /home/bratao/abiword_install/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/abiword.png: Failed to open file “/home/bratao/abiword_install/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/abiword.png”: No such file or directory


(AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: 08:12:55.208: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

** (AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): WARNING **: 08:12:55.208: Unable to load AbiWord icon /home/bratao/abiword_install/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps/abiword.png: (null)


(AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: 08:12:55.208: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

** (AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): WARNING **: 08:12:55.208: Unable to load AbiWord icon /home/bratao/abiword_install/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/abiword.png: (null)


(AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: 08:12:55.208: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

** (AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): WARNING **: 08:12:55.208: Unable to load AbiWord icon /home/bratao/abiword_install/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/abiword.png: (null)


(AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: 08:12:55.208: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

** (AbiWord-x86_64.AppImage:1584): WARNING **: 08:12:55.208: Unable to load AbiWord icon /home/bratao/abiword_install/share/icons/hicolor/256x256/apps/abiword.png: (null)

Aborted

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#4 by Kulle » 31 Aug 2021, 08:13

Porteus 5.0 is in Dark Theme / Dark Mode.
Can you change that if necessary?
thanks

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#5 by Kulle » 13 Nov 2021, 12:00

Newer programs work in Porteus 5.0 but not in Porteus 4.0
Very very remarkable:
The latest version of the Tor browser does not start in Porteus 4.0 Xfce

Here are lines 171 to 181 of the file tor-browser_en-US/Browser/start-tor-browser.
I have echo commands built in: "echo 123" is running, "echo 456" is no longer running.
Is obviously terminated with exec > "$logfile" exec 2> "$logfile"

Code: Select all

echo  123
if [ "$show_output" -eq 0 ]; then
    # If the user hasn't requested 'debug mode' or --help, close stdout and stderr,
    # to keep Firefox and the stuff loaded by/for it (including the
    # system's shared-library loader) from printing messages to
    # $HOME/.xsession-errors or other files. (Users wouldn't have seen
    # messages there anyway.)
    exec > "$logfile"
    exec 2> "$logfile"
fi
echo 456
.xsession-errors ???
How to fix this error?
I think only experts can help here.
Thanks

User avatar
babam
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 526
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc3 Xfce K6.1.1
Location: Rainy city

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#6 by babam » 13 Nov 2021, 18:36

Kulle wrote:
13 Nov 2021, 12:00
Newer programs work in Porteus 5.0 but not in Porteus 4.0
Very very remarkable:
The latest version of the Tor browser does not start in Porteus 4.0 Xfce
You're so dependent on USM, is that why you don't want to switch to 5.0rc3?
Sorry, my English is bad.

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#7 by Kulle » 14 Nov 2021, 08:51

Hi babam,
Porteus 4.0 must also work!
The latest version tor-browser-linux64-11.0_en-US does not launched in Porteus 4.0 Xfce
That is very strange,
because this version works in Porteus 5.0 and other distros.
I am interested in why that is.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2064
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#8 by donald » 14 Nov 2021, 16:53

Kulle wrote:
14 Nov 2021, 08:51
I am interested in why that is.
Problem is:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~/tor-browser_en-US$ ./start-tor-browser.desktop --verbose
Launching './Browser/start-tor-browser --detach --verbose'...
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /home/guest/tor-browser_en-US/Browser/libxul.so:
/home/guest/tor-browser_en-US/Browser/libxul.so: undefined symbol: gdk_wayland_display_get_wl_compositor
Couldn't load XPCOM.
Others also have this problem.
https://www.linuxquestions.org/question ... 175703351/

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#9 by Kulle » 14 Nov 2021, 18:17

Thanks Donald,
I read there:
"All I know about wayland is that this is some kind of new thing that is supposed to replace xorg, and that Slackware (14.2 at least) doesn't have it."
This may mean that Wayland must be installed
I will pursue this further

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#10 by Kulle » 29 Nov 2021, 10:30

If you activate modules for Porteus 5.0 in Porteus 4.0 (e.g. accidentally),
the system will be seriously damaged! Programs can no longer be started.
Why is that?

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2086
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#11 by beny » 29 Nov 2021, 11:16

hi kulle when you use the changes directory you can't do as you wish,so you can't activate modules that no have a match on a new system porteus 4 is based on slackware 14.2 porteus 5 on slackware current,and you know that is a different environment,but i can be wrong....

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#12 by Ed_P » 29 Nov 2021, 16:27

Kulle wrote:
29 Nov 2021, 10:30
If you activate modules for Porteus 5.0 in Porteus 4.0 (e.g. accidentally),
the system will be seriously damaged!
Even after you deactivate the module?
Ed

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#13 by Kulle » 29 Nov 2021, 17:00

Hi Ed_P;
the system was severely damaged,
and I could not deactivate the module Gimp (Gimp 2.10.28 . photo retouching . image composition . painting).
Programs could no longer be started.
Normal shutdown was also not possible.
I had to turn off the computer

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#14 by Ed_P » 29 Nov 2021, 17:47

Kulle wrote:
29 Nov 2021, 17:00
I had to turn off the computer
And when you turned it back on?
Ed

Kulle
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 594
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Change from Porteus 4.0 to Porteus 5.0

Post#15 by Kulle » 30 Nov 2021, 11:37

Hi Ed_P,
I always use "copy 2ram"
Changes are not saved.
And when I turn the computer back on, everything's okay.
So I can always experiment wildly

Post Reply