Page 1 of 1

ad-hoc network

Posted: 06 Sep 2011, 19:34
by francois
We have many computers in the same building. The wifi routers emits waves that are not captured well in the different areas of the building. I thought that my laptop that is well placed in the building, has it receives well the wifi waves could be used in ad-hoc mode at the same time by other wifi devices less well placed.

Looking on the net I get from connect two laptops using wifi:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205501

from ad-hoc wifi command :
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=188482

Here is what I did using Ad-Hoc key s:****************** (the *** are nos ascii code but letters) :

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"Cherrier"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: E0:91:F5:A0:AC:B1
          Bit Rate=12 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=33/70  Signal level=-77 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:6  Invalid misc:1414   Missed beacon:0

bash-4.1# iwconfig wlan0 essid francois  mode Ad-Hoc key s:******************
Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.
bash-4.1#   
Can I at the same time use y wifi card wlan0 to receive from a wifi router and emit with the same care wifi on an ad-hoc network? Is there a gui or a better command to do it?

Thanks.

Re: ad-hoc network

Posted: 07 Sep 2011, 14:45
by Hamza
You need to install wpa supplicant.

Re: ad-hoc network

Posted: 07 Sep 2011, 15:27
by fanthom
@francois

i have found this on facebook :crazy:
didn't try but looks ok to me :)

good luck!

EDIT:\\
hmmm..... i think you will need second NIC to achieve the goal: one for getting internet access and second one for sharing it through ad-hoc wifi network.
to answer your question: from what i know it's not possible to use one wifi card to receive from a wifi router and emit with the same card on an ad-hoc network.

Re: ad-hoc network

Posted: 08 Sep 2011, 18:56
by crashman
@ francois

I'm sure to 99% you need two wifi cards in central device
bulding-->router<----device-wifi1<->wiffi2---->laptop-->bulding

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# iwconfig wlan0 essid francois  mode Ad-Hoc key s:******************
Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.
bash-4.1#   
here is wrong setting wlan0 you need full parameters try this:

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 essid francois  mode ad-hoc key s:****************** channel 4
ifconfig wlan0 up
channel parameter must be another than in router.

Re: ad-hoc network

Posted: 09 Sep 2011, 02:23
by francois
Thanks to yo all for these diligent answers.