ad-hoc network

Non release banter
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6435
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

ad-hoc network

Post#1 by francois » 06 Sep 2011, 19:34

We have many computers in the same building. The wifi routers emits waves that are not captured well in the different areas of the building. I thought that my laptop that is well placed in the building, has it receives well the wifi waves could be used in ad-hoc mode at the same time by other wifi devices less well placed.

Looking on the net I get from connect two laptops using wifi:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205501

from ad-hoc wifi command :
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=188482

Here is what I did using Ad-Hoc key s:****************** (the *** are nos ascii code but letters) :

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"Cherrier"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: E0:91:F5:A0:AC:B1
          Bit Rate=12 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=33/70  Signal level=-77 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:6  Invalid misc:1414   Missed beacon:0

bash-4.1# iwconfig wlan0 essid francois  mode Ad-Hoc key s:******************
Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.
bash-4.1#   
Can I at the same time use y wifi card wlan0 to receive from a wifi router and emit with the same care wifi on an ad-hoc network? Is there a gui or a better command to do it?

Thanks.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1908
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: ad-hoc network

Post#2 by Hamza » 07 Sep 2011, 14:45

You need to install wpa supplicant.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5667
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: ad-hoc network

Post#3 by fanthom » 07 Sep 2011, 15:27

@francois

i have found this on facebook :crazy:
didn't try but looks ok to me :)

good luck!

EDIT:\\
hmmm..... i think you will need second NIC to achieve the goal: one for getting internet access and second one for sharing it through ad-hoc wifi network.
to answer your question: from what i know it's not possible to use one wifi card to receive from a wifi router and emit with the same card on an ad-hoc network.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: ad-hoc network

Post#4 by crashman » 08 Sep 2011, 18:56

@ francois

I'm sure to 99% you need two wifi cards in central device
bulding-->router<----device-wifi1<->wiffi2---->laptop-->bulding

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# iwconfig wlan0 essid francois  mode Ad-Hoc key s:******************
Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.
bash-4.1#   
here is wrong setting wlan0 you need full parameters try this:

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 essid francois  mode ad-hoc key s:****************** channel 4
ifconfig wlan0 up
channel parameter must be another than in router.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6435
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: ad-hoc network

Post#5 by francois » 09 Sep 2011, 02:23

Thanks to yo all for these diligent answers.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

Post Reply