Slackware iso parm - [Solved]

Non release banter
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Slackware iso parm - [Solved]

Post#1 by Ed_P » 30 May 2017, 05:07

Anyone booted a slackware-live iso? I've been trying to boot slackware64-live-xfce-current.iso as an iso with grub2 and failing with a media not found error and a suggestion to issue a mount command.

This is what I'm using in grub2:

Code: Select all

     set iso='/ISOs/slackware64-live-xfce-current.iso'
     set bootparms='load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw printk.time=0 kbd=us '
     
# Possible ISO boot parms: from=all from=$iso, fromiso=$iso, findiso=$iso, iso-scan/filename=$iso 

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux (loop)/boot/generic livemedia=/dev/sd6:/$iso $bootparms
     initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.img
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Slackware iso

Post#2 by Ed_P » 30 May 2017, 05:46

Found the problem. :fool:

This

Code: Select all

     linux (loop)/boot/generic livemedia=/dev/sd6:/$iso $bootparms
should be

Code: Select all

     linux (loop)/boot/generic livemedia=/dev/sda6:/$iso $bootparms
:good:
Ed

Evan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 466
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Distribution: *

Re: Slackware iso parm - [Solved]

Post#3 by Evan » 30 May 2017, 10:59

sd6 <----------> sda6

LOL , took me a while to spot it.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Slackware iso parm - [Solved]

Post#4 by Ed_P » 30 May 2017, 14:02

^ I know! Me too. :D
Ed

Post Reply