Quirky motherboard RAM discussion

Non release banter
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO

Quirky motherboard RAM discussion

Post#1 by Ed_P » 16 Apr 2016, 17:02

Rava typing here, sorry first time me trying to create a new thread and then move post there. I wanted the posts to be all below that very thread, instead my initial post got moved to the very end, therefore I need to put the needed initial info into Ed_P's post. This is all written by me, Rava, unless you see below the <Rava END>. <- Not that one, that's not bold, and it's also for making things as clear as I could, sorry for messing this up a bit, I am not that experienced of a moderator when it comes to moving posts. First time me doing so by also creating what I wanted is an starting post that explains the initial info... :)

The off-topic posts in reply to http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php? ... 742#p44184 post in the programming subforum were move to here by me, Rava, since that discussion is not about coding or about the "goodies" (aka aliases & functions) I share there) and not about Porteus, therefore I moved that discussion here where its on topic..

And I removed the below lines from my initial post that started the discussion into this thread since that detail is irrelevant to the original post.

[...] So you see, even a system with 3 1/2 GB RAM and Dual Core CPU gets into stress. Technically that PC has 4 GB RAM installed, but the silly BIOS only supports 3 1/2 GB of it (yes, it is updated to the newest version, which is years old already,not that new of a machine it is...).

The above info is what started the moved discussion. <Rava END>

Ed_Ps real post starts NOW:
Rava wrote:Technically that PC has 4 GB RAM installed, but the silly BIOS only supports 3 1/2 GB of it (yes, it is updated to the newest version, which is years old already,not that new of a machine it is...).
Frequently part of the RAM is allocated to the video card.