Page 1 of 1

Steps for running porteus from iso file

Posted: 18 May 2011, 05:44
by rnport
Can someone please clearly mention steps for running porteus 32bit from iso file. Also, what will be limitations of such booting ? Can one use additional modules and save.dat file with iso booting ?

Re: Steps for running porteus from iso file

Posted: 18 May 2011, 08:32
by Hamza
You can use

Code: Select all

from_iso=/path/to/iso
Regards,

Re: Steps for running porteus from iso file

Posted: 18 May 2011, 10:39
by rnport
So will it always be in "fresh mode" and without any additional modules ?

Re: Steps for running porteus from iso file

Posted: 18 May 2011, 10:59
by fanthom
@rnport
when you are booting from the ISO you must remember about one important thing:
your bootloader must boot porteus from initrd and vmlinuz included in that ISO otherwise kernel version will differ with version of kernel modules included in ISO/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm.
Let's say you have LILO or GRUB installed on your HD already:
- first what you need to do it to unpack ISO/boot/vmlinuz and ISO/boot/initrd.xz somewhere
- create porteus menu entry in lilo.conf or menu.lst like here (example for LILO)

Code: Select all

# Porteus
label = Porteus                                                                                                                       
vga=791
image = /boot/vmlinuz-ps1
initrd = /boot/initrd-ps.xz1                                                                                                                                    
append = "from_iso=/dev/sda5/iso_images/porteus-v1.0_rc2-x86_64.iso changes=/dev/sda4/porteus_changes rootcopy=/dev/sda4/porteus_rootcopy extramod=/dev/sda4/porteus_xzm autoexec=xconf;telinit~4 toroot copy2ram lxde nohd nocd"
you can use the same cheatcodes as with normal booting ('from_dev=' is the only exception).
read /boot/docs/cheatcodes.txt for more info about cheatcodes.

Ahau
tips about booting from ISO could be included in some FAQ or doc i guess :)

Re: Steps for running porteus from iso file

Posted: 18 May 2011, 12:09
by rnport
Appreciate your clear instructions. Can we do without last 4 options: copy2ram lxde nohd nocd ; I want to boot to kde.

Re: Steps for running porteus from iso file

Posted: 19 May 2011, 14:07
by Ahau
@fanthom - posted this to FAQ on the main site. Take a look and let me know if I've put it together properly. It might warrant a HOWTO with a link from the FAQ to the HOWTO...