[SOLVED] SLAX Modules

Non release banter
gsthompson277
White ninja
White ninja

[SOLVED] SLAX Modules

Post#1 by gsthompson277 » 07 Mar 2011, 20:20

Can I load SLAX modules in PORTEUS and if so how? I am a fresh install on a new HP Laptop testing it. I also need to know how to manually install drivers. I have my wifi drivers from the manufacturer now what do I do with them. I am a total newbie so be gentle.
Last edited by gsthompson277 on 11 Mar 2011, 02:50, edited 1 time in total.

Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Distribution: Porteus

Re: SLAX Modules

Post#2 by Hamza » 07 Mar 2011, 20:30

No , because , we use the Squash4 , and SLAX use the Squash3 ,but you can convert your module sq3 to sq4 in porteus.

Welcome to the Porteus Community.

Posted after 2 minutes 32 seconds:
Thanks Ahau for the move of the topic !

Merci Ahau pour avoir deplacer le sujet
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit

Post#3 by Ahau » 07 Mar 2011, 20:39

Topic moved to 'General Chat', as HOWTO's and resources is for posting resources and documentation, rather than help requests.

Welcome, gsthompson277!

Hamza is correct, you can convert your sq3 modules to sq4. Some modules may not work--especially if you're running 64-bit porteus. With that as my segue, I have a couple more questions for you --

What version of Porteus are you running? I'm assuming version 0.9, rather than version 1.0 (currently in testing/beta). 32-bit or 64?

For your wireless, please try opening a terminal and running the command 'pns-tool' without the quotes. Your wireless card may already be detected by the kernel. Follow the script, and let us know if that gets your wireless up and running. If not, let us know what information it gives you. Also, if it fails, enter the command 'lspci' and post the output here.

Thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

gsthompson277
White ninja
White ninja

Post#4 by gsthompson277 » 07 Mar 2011, 23:26