grub2 menu entry

Non release banter
johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#46 by johnywhy » 29 Aug 2018, 18:46

hi all

i just installed Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64 to my boot drive, from live USB. now i'm confused about which grub to use.

----------
Update: my solution is here
---------

is this fine?

Code: Select all

menuentry "porteus" {
    set root='(hd0,1)'
    linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
    initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
    }
it's not booting: getting
syslinux/vmlinuz not found
i'm concerned that the drive already had a folder named Boot. Will there be a conflict?

i see more complicated entries in this thread, and wondering if/why i need the extra switches:

Code: Select all

changes=64bit_v31_nemesis/nemesis login=guest
changes=/nemesis
png=nemesis
changes=EXIT:/64bit_v31/xfce
changes=1_porteus
copy2ram
extramod=/mnt/sda5/64bit_v31rc1/kde
fsck
noauto
boot=casper quiet splash
...
     set porteus_parms="extramod=/Modules;/Modsavedat volume=33 reboot=cold"  # acpi=off"
     linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz $porteus_parms
...
     echo "Porteus bootloader is:          "$root
     set porteus_parms="changes=/porteus kmap=us,ru"
THX
Last edited by johnywhy on 31 Aug 2018, 18:47, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#47 by Ed_P » 29 Aug 2018, 19:45

johnywhy wrote:
29 Aug 2018, 18:46
i just installed Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64 to my boot drive, from live USB. now i'm confused about which grub to use. is this fine?

Code: Select all

menuentry "porteus" {
    set root='(hd0,1)'
    linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
    initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
    }
it's not booting: getting
syslinux/vmlinuz not found
Try replacing your set root line with:

Code: Select all

search -f /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz --set=root
echo :Root: "$root
ls ; echo
sleep -1 -v 8 ; echo
and see what it shows when you boot.
i'm concerned that the drive already had a folder named Boot. Will there be a conflict?
Do a ls /mnt/sda1 and a ls /mnt/sdb1 from your live USB, what do you see, one /boot/ folder or two?
i see more complicated entries in this thread, and wondering if/why i need the extra switches:

Code: Select all

changes=64bit_v31_nemesis/nemesis login=guest
changes=/nemesis
 :
 :
 ...
     set porteus_parms="extramod=/Modules;/Modsavedat volume=33 reboot=cold"  # acpi=off"
     linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz $porteus_parms
...
     echo "Porteus bootloader is:          "$root
     set porteus_parms="changes=/porteus kmap=us,ru"
Maybe. Time will tell. On the live USB check the /boot/doc/cheatcodes.txt file.

Is your system an EFI system or a BIOS system? Is your install partition FAT32?
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#48 by johnywhy » 30 Aug 2018, 14:17

hi Ed_P
Thx for steps! Some questions.
Do a ls /mnt/sda1 and a ls /mnt/sdb1 from your live USB, what do you see, one /boot/ folder or two?
- when i mount the iso in windows, i see there's only one "boot" folder. No "Boot" folder.
when i browse the boot partition in windows, i see there's only one "boot" folder. No "Boot" folder.
Is your system an EFI system or a BIOS system?
i believe it supports EFI, but i'm currently booting in 'Legacy' mode.
Checking...
Is your install partition FAT32?
NTFS.

USB_INSTALLATION.TXT on the ISO says "FOR EFI SYSTEMS: Ensure the first partition is of type FAT32."
- Well, that's an issue. My boot partition is NTFS.
Isn't EFI + NTFS the most common combo these days?

"FOR BIOS SYSTEMS: From Windows: a) copy the contents of the ISO image to your drive"
- instructions don't say what to do for EFI + NTFS system. Porteus cannot be installed to EFI + NTFS? Or must be iso-type install?

"From Porteus itself (booted from CD): a) launch 'Porteus Installer' from the desktop menu".
- That's how i installed. Would be cool if the installer detected my environment, and did the correct type of installation.
On the live USB check the /boot/doc/cheatcodes.txt file.
Thx for that, very helpful!

It says "if changes need to be saved to a FAT or NTFS partition, a savefile container has to be used."
Does that mean i'm required ,on FAT or NTFS, to do "changes=/path/file.dat"?

"'noeject' cheatcode can be used together with 'copy2ram' to prevent unmounting of your booting media"
"when the 'copy2ram' cheatcode is used with 'noeject', this will prevent the unmounting of your booting media (CD/DVD disc, USB, card readers, etc)."
- curious-- how does the OS prevent me from manually removing a USB?
- hrm-- if i load the OS into RAM, why do i care if the boot media is unmounted?

"from=/path/folder -- If the destination partition is not provided with this cheatcode, the booting script will search through all available devices for your data."
- would this help me, on EFI + NTFS?

"'changes=EXIT:'"
- how do i combine that with changes=/path/file.dat

"noswap Prevents the automatic use of an existing swap partition."
- does noswap also prevent Porteus from creating and using a new partition?

Would be cool if Porteus installer provided the correct grub entry for my environment, or at least display /boot/doc/cheatcodes.txt file after installation.

i attempted to follow "BIOS install from Linux" from read-me in the ISO:
"From any Linux Distribution other than Porteus:" -- yes, doing this in Mint Linux.
a) copy the contents of the ISO image to your drive -- done.
b) navigate to the /boot folder and launch the installer -- Where? They mean, mount the ISO i just copied to the drive? Done.
'bash Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com' -- i got

Code: Select all

$ bash Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Porteus Installer
Not enough space left in . (0 KB) to decompress Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com (188 KB)
hrm-- maybe cuz i'm inside an ISO? My drive has 12GB free.

Btw, the url for all codes is a dead link.
http://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation ... meters.txt
Is it one of these?
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/

THX Ed!

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#49 by Ed_P » 30 Aug 2018, 15:45

Wow!

Ok, lets try a different approach.

1. Change the machine to boot in EFI mode.
2. In EFI mode disable the Secure Boot option.
3. Do you see a partition with an EFI folder? Is it FAT32?
4. If you do and if it is reinstall Porteus. This will ensure a Porteus EFI entry is added to the system.
5. Then to your grub2 menu add:

Code: Select all

menuentry " Porteus "  {
     set efibootmgr=/EFI/boot/bootx64.efi
     search -f $efibootmgr --set=root
     chainloader $efibootmgr
 }
johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 14:17
USB_INSTALLATION.TXT on the ISO says "FOR EFI SYSTEMS: Ensure the first partition is of type FAT32."
- Well, that's an issue. My boot partition is NTFS.
Isn't EFI + NTFS the most common combo these days?
Yes but the EFI partition is always FAT32 and it's always the 1st partition and usually hidden.
"From Porteus itself (booted from CD): a) launch 'Porteus Installer' from the desktop menu".
- That's how i installed. Would be cool if the installer detected my environment, and did the correct type of installation.
I'm sure it did and if you had it configured for Legacy mode it detected it as BIOS. Reconfigure it for EFI as noted above.
It says "if changes need to be saved to a FAT or NTFS partition, a savefile container has to be used."
Does that mean i'm required ,on FAT or NTFS, to do "changes=/path/file.dat"?
Only if you want changes to Porteus to be saved. And there are other ways to do that. But 1st things 1st.
"from=/path/folder -- If the destination partition is not provided with this cheatcode, the booting script will search through all available devices for your data."
- would this help me, on EFI + NTFS?
Sounds reasonable.
"'changes=EXIT:'"
- how do i combine that with changes=/path/file.dat
changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/changes/porteussave.dat works for me.
Would be cool if Porteus installer provided the correct grub entry for my environment, or at least display /boot/doc/cheatcodes.txt file after installation.
Where did you get grub2? What else is on the machine?
Btw, the url for all codes is a dead link.
http://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation ... meters.txt
Is it one of these?
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/
Try https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#50 by johnywhy » 30 Aug 2018, 16:13

i just tried the installer from porteus live again.
realized i must check to install bootloader.
i didn´t do that previously, cuz i didn´t want to break my existing grub/windows/mint/puppies.

so the question is: how to do a frugal porteus install, without breaking existing grub?
Ed_P wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 15:45
Change the machine to boot in EFI mode.
That may break some of my other OS´s. Is it the only way?
Where did you get grub2? What else is on the machine?
Mint installed grub.

Code: Select all

$ ls /mnt/sda1
$Recycle.Bin/                    Users/
$SysReset/                       Windows/
$WINRE_BACKUP_PARTITION.MARKER*  Windows.old/
$Windows.~BT/                    bootmgr*
$Windows.~WS/                    gambas-3.7.0_tahr.sfs*
AMTAG.BIN*                       grldr*
BOOTNXT*                         hiberfil.sys*
BOOTSECT.BAK*                    ldlinux.sys*
Boot/                            menu-2018-07-24-082539.lst*
CPM/                             menu-advanced.lst*
Documents\ and\ Settings@        menu.lst*
Intel/                           pagefile.sys*
PerfLogs/                        puppyxtahr/
Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso*    pupswap.swp*
Program\ Files/                  racy5.5frugal/
Program\ Files\ (x86)/           sda_mbr.bak*
ProgramData/                     swapfile.sys*
Recovery/                        ubnfilel.txt*
Recovery.txt*                    ubnpathl.txt*
System\ Volume\ Information/     vlina1.3frugal/
USB_INSTALLATION.txt*            xslacko4.4frugal/[/quote]

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#51 by Ed_P » 30 Aug 2018, 16:46

johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 16:13
i just tried the installer from porteus live again.
realized i must check to install bootloader.
i didn´t do that previously, cuz i didn´t want to break my existing grub/windows/mint/puppies.

so the question is: how to do a frugal porteus install, without breaking existing grub?
You could just boot the ISO file. It's what I do.
Ed_P wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 15:45
Change the machine to boot in EFI mode.
That may break some of my other OS´s. Is it the only way?
It's the only way to ensure Porteus installs the EFI files.
Where did you get grub2? What else is on the machine?
Mint installed grub.
Yes, I see you have grub not grub2. grldr. I suspect you also have a 32bit machine not a 64bit one.
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#52 by johnywhy » 30 Aug 2018, 17:01

Ed_P wrote:Change the machine to boot in EFI mode. It's the only way to ensure Porteus installs the EFI files.
but i don´t need the EFI files if i boot as BIOS, correct?
Yes, I see you have grub not grub2. grldr.
hah, i wasn sure. How can you tell?
I suspect you also have a 32bit machine not a 64bit one.
i can install and run 64-bit OSś (Linux and Windows). Doesn that prove i have a 64-bit machine?

(why does porteus mess up my single-quote key :cry:

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#53 by Ed_P » 30 Aug 2018, 17:18

johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 17:01
Ed_P wrote:Change the machine to boot in EFI mode. It's the only way to ensure Porteus installs the EFI files.
but i don´t need the EFI files if i boot as BIOS, correct?
Correct but the grub menu gets more complicated.
Yes, I see you have grub not grub2. grldr.
hah, i wasn sure. How can you tell?
You have the grldr file.
I suspect you also have a 32bit machine not a 64bit one.
i can install and run 64-bit OSś (Linux and Windows). Doesn that prove i have a 64-bit machine?
Yes. I do see you have the x86_64 Porteus ISO.
(why does porteus mess up my single-quote key :cry:
:%) ~ ` " ' : ; Not sure what keyboard your using, I don't seem to have a problem.
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#54 by johnywhy » 30 Aug 2018, 17:41

You could just boot the ISO file. It's what I do.
BIOS or EFI? Share your grub?
Ed_P wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 17:18
johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 17:01
but i don´t need the EFI files if i boot as BIOS, correct?
Correct but the grub menu gets more complicated.
complicated is ok
You have the grldr file.
is it possible that's from some previous grub? i get:

Code: Select all

$ grub-install --version
grub-install (GRUB) 2.02-2ubuntu8.3
i tried this (still non-EFI),
https://www.ab9il.net/linux/porteus-linux-grub2.html
and got
Searching for porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg file... device not ready yet... porteus data not found
then i saw this:
Creating a 'Frugal' installation is very similar to installing on a USB drive. Porteus can be installed on it's own partition, or it can be installed side by side with Windows or another Linux OS on the same partition. For directions on installing Porteus to a device that will also run other operating systems, please visit the documentation section and/or the community forum at the Porteus website, at http://porteus.org. These installations are highly variable depending on whether or not Windows needs to be installed on the device, and on what bootloader is used for the system.
http://www.porteus.org/tutorials/37-ins ... -v-10.html
Hrm, "go look in the forums" is not too helpful :hmmm:

To boot from ISO, this doc seems to say i must include both the ISO, and the extracted kernel files. Seems like duplication.
In order to boot from the ISO image, your bootloader must boot Porteus from the linux kernel and initrd included in that ISO (otherwise, the kernel version will differ from the version of the kernel modules included in the ISO in /porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm). You need to unpack /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz and /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz and place them somewhere on your hard disk or USB drive. Then, you need to point your bootloader to that kernel and initrd and use the 'from=' cheatcode.
http://www.porteus.org/faq/desktop-faq.html#twenty4
(why does porteus mess up my single-quote key :cry:
if i type single-quote on porteus, it doesn't get typed to screen. Instead, the next letter typed gets an accent mark. Seems treated as a non-American kbd.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#55 by Ed_P » 30 Aug 2018, 18:15

johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 17:41
You could just boot the ISO file. It's what I do.
BIOS or EFI? Share your grub?
My system is EFI.

Code: Select all

     set linux_folder=/porteus4.0
     if [ -f /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz ]; then linux_folder=""; fi
#    LXQT  MATE  OPENBOX  XFCE
     set iso=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v4.0-x86_64.iso
#     set iso=/ISOs/Porteus-OPENBOX-v4.0-x86_64.iso
     set extramods="extramod="
#     set iso=/ISOs/porteus-4.0rc5-x86_64-20180318.iso
#     set extramods="extramod=$linux_folder/003Modules;"

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods "

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF+" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold noload=mychanges $extramods$linux_folder/Modules"
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules noload=cinnamon"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF'" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules"
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules;$linux_folder/Modsavedat noload=save.dat;cinnamon"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO"       --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold noload=xfce load=cinn $extramods$linux_folder/Modules resolution=1600x900"
#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/changes/porteussave.dat 3"
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules noload=cinnamon changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/changes/porteussave.dat"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }
I have 4 menus, AF for Always Fresh, AF + for Always Fresh plus the modules I use, AF ' for Always Fresh plus the modules I use and my module of my Porteus changes and lastly my fully functional menu with my changes saved in my save.dat file.

Everything is saved on an NTFS partition. And I am using a custom DE so some of my parms won't apply to you.
is it possible that's from some previous grub? i get:

Code: Select all

$ grub-install --version
grub-install (GRUB) 2.02-2ubuntu8.3
Apparently.
johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 17:41
i tried this (still non-EFI),
https://www.ab9il.net/linux/porteus-linux-grub2.html
and got
Searching for porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg file... device not ready yet... porteus data not found
Probably not on (hd0,2) or root not set to the drive it is on.
Hrm, "go look in the forums" is not too helpful :hmmm:
Oh, ok. I will stop.
To boot from ISO, this doc seems to say i must include both the ISO, and the extracted kernel files. Seems like duplication.
In order to boot from the ISO image, your bootloader must boot Porteus from the linux kernel and initrd included in that ISO (otherwise, the kernel version will differ from the version of the kernel modules included in the ISO in /porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm). You need to unpack /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz and /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz and place them somewhere on your hard disk or USB drive. Then, you need to point your bootloader to that kernel and initrd and use the 'from=' cheatcode.
I've heard of that approach but haven't found it necessary with current grub2 code.
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#56 by johnywhy » 30 Aug 2018, 19:03

ha, no please don't stop, you're super helpful!
it sounded like they meant threads already exist with the info.

about to try the iso method, will get back, THX

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#57 by johnywhy » 30 Aug 2018, 20:02

what are these, in your grub:

Code: Select all

--class slackware   
--class icon-porteus
if [ -f /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz ]; then linux_folder=""; fi (assume full-partition install if no 'boot' folder found?)
noload (skipping the journal replay? Why? Why "=Cinnamon"?)
reboot=cold (reboot from BIOS?)
search (Find the iso? why needed if we tell it exact path of the iso?)
loopback (why needed if we have 'from'?)
param doc seems to be here:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ ... eters.html
and
https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ ... /ext4.html

THX
Last edited by johnywhy on 30 Aug 2018, 20:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#58 by Ed_P » 30 Aug 2018, 20:34

johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 20:02
what are these, in your grub:

Code: Select all

--class slackware   
--class icon-porteus
Used by grub2win for it's boot menu.

Code: Select all

if [ -f /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz ]; then linux_folder=""; fi 
(assume full-partition install if no 'boot' folder found?)
Kinda, code for my USB installs.

Code: Select all

noload
(skipping the journal replay? Why? Why "=Cinnamon"?)
Why would I want to delay booting with it loading a journal? Cinnamon is the DE in the ISO I'm using.

Code: Select all

reboot=cold
(reboot from BIOS?)
Reboot from EFI or BIOS with RAM refreshed.

Code: Select all

search 
(Find the iso? why needed if we tell it exact path of the iso?)
Easier to move the menu to other machines or drives.

Code: Select all

loopback
(why needed if we have 'from'?)
Try booting the ISO without it. :)
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#59 by johnywhy » 30 Aug 2018, 21:07

Without testing it, I think you need loopback so grub mounts the iso before looking for kernal files, correct?

Will it work with just search, without from?

Do I need grub2win? I haven't had troubles booting Windows.

Why not disable journaling altogether, to improve performance?

In case you missed it:
This:

Code: Select all

menuentry 'Porteus Linux' {
	set root='(hd0,1)'
	linux /porteus-iso/vmlinuz
	initrd /porteus-iso/initrd.xz  from=/porteus-iso/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso
gives:
error: invalid filename 'from=/porteus-iso/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso'
but i have:

Code: Select all

/media/johny/30549A8C549A5506/porteus-iso$ ls
initrd.xz  Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso  vmlinuz
Any ideas?

THX

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#60 by Ed_P » 30 Aug 2018, 22:28

johnywhy wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 21:07
Without testing it, I think you need loopback so grub mounts the iso before looking for kernal files, correct?
Yup.
Will it work with just search, without from?
I suspect not.
Do I need grub2win? I haven't had troubles booting Windows.
If you're happy with what you have, no.
Why not disable journaling altogether, to improve performance?
I wasn't disabling journeling I was disabling the DE that was in the ISO I was testing with so I could test a different DE module.
In case you missed it:
This:

Code: Select all

menuentry 'Porteus Linux' {
	set root='(hd0,1)'
	linux /porteus-iso/vmlinuz
	initrd /porteus-iso/initrd.xz  from=/porteus-iso/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso
gives:
error: invalid filename 'from=/porteus-iso/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso'
but i have:

Code: Select all

/media/johny/30549A8C549A5506/porteus-iso$ ls
initrd.xz  Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso  vmlinuz
Any ideas?
Try from=/media/johny/30549A8C549A5506/porteus-iso/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso
Ed

Post Reply