grub2 menu entry

Non release banter
johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#61 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 00:55

well i got it working with a mod of your grub.

Code: Select all

     set linux_folder=/porteus-iso
     set iso=$linux_folder/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso
     set extramods="extramod="
menuentry "Ed's Porteus 4.0 ISO" {
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/modules"
     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }
then, create the save-file in Porteus system tools, reboot.
then append to boot_parms:

Code: Select all

¨changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/porteussave.dat¨
Thx for that!

i found out i cannot apply Porteus updates to an iso boot.
Any workaround?

THX

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#62 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 01:26

johnywhy wrote:
31 Aug 2018, 00:55
well i got it working with a mod of your grub.
:Yahoo!:
i found out i cannot apply Porteus updates to an iso boot.
Any workaround?
What kind of updates? Browsers? USM files?
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#63 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 02:25

i believe it's OS, or system-wide, updates, from system menu

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#64 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 03:11

:%) Still not sure what you are referring to. Menu>Administration>Browser Selection and Update Tool?

If so, you create xzm modules with the updates and add them to a Modules folder outside of the ISO then tweak the startup parameters to include the extramods= cheatcode. Look at my 2nd menu.

Code: Select all

set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules
Some of my Porteus 4.0 folders that may appeal to you.

Code: Select all

/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Optional/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/misc/

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/*.dat
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteusave-bkupcopy.dat*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteussave.dat*

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/*.xzm
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/003-jssouza-180702.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/007-printing-x86_64-2018-02-23.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/AisleRiot-3.22.4-x86_64-don.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/firefox-52.9.0esr-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/flashplayer-plugin-30.0.0.154-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/jre-8u181-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/qt-4.8.7-x86_64-6.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/tightvnc-1.3.10-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/xmahjongg-3.7-x86_64-don.xzm*
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#65 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 04:08

will get back on that. Meantime, lost network
- i turned off networking in startup config,
- rebooted
- no nm-applet in panel
- i turned on networking in startup config,
- rebooted
- still no nm-applet in panel
:crazy:

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#66 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 04:15

We cross posted. I was updating my post as you posted.

As for the network problem, delete the porteussave.dat file, create a new one, and start over.

The advantage of ISO booting, the ability to start over when you screw up. :D
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#67 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 04:18

recovered net by typing nm-applet at command prompt.
it auto-connected, then on reboot connected again.
no need to delete autosave.

for update, go to system > porteus settings centre > porteus updater

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#68 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 04:48


User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#69 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 05:38

johnywhy wrote:
31 Aug 2018, 04:18
recovered net by typing nm-applet at command prompt.
it auto-connected, then on reboot connected again.
no need to delete autosave.
:good:
for update, go to system > porteus settings centre > porteus updater
Ok. :) But the 4.0 ISOs are dated after the 2 updates you linked to, so the "updates" are included in the ISO.

I've included those type of updates, 00*- files, in my Modules folder when I needed to. There is also the option of rebuilding an ISO.
Ed

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 153
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

grub2 menu entry

Post#70 by amplatfus » 01 Sep 2018, 17:35

Ed_P wrote:
31 Aug 2018, 03:11
:%) Still not sure what you are referring to. Menu>Administration>Browser Selection and Update Tool?

If so, you create xzm modules with the updates and add them to a Modules folder outside of the ISO then tweak the startup parameters to include the extramods= cheatcode. Look at my 2nd menu.

Code: Select all

set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules
Some of my Porteus 4.0 folders that may appeal to you.

Code: Select all

/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Optional/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/misc/

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/*.dat
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteusave-bkupcopy.dat*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteussave.dat*

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/*.xzm
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/003-jssouza-180702.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/007-printing-x86_64-2018-02-23.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/AisleRiot-3.22.4-x86_64-don.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/firefox-52.9.0esr-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/flashplayer-plugin-30.0.0.154-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/jre-8u181-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/qt-4.8.7-x86_64-6.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/tightvnc-1.3.10-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/xmahjongg-3.7-x86_64-don.xzm*
Hi,
Please, where I could find flashplayer-plugin-30.0.0.154-x86_64-1.xzm?
In the downloaded ISO I cannot find it.

Thank you in advance,
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#71 by Ed_P » 01 Sep 2018, 18:24

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# update-flash
[OK] User is root
[OK] Distro is Porteus
[OK] Flash is installed

[OK] Internet connection exists
Downloading live script ...
Downloading: update-flash-live  DONE
/usr/local/bin/update-flash-live: line 63: warning: command substitution: ignored null byte in input

Searching online for latest flash player version ...

Installed version:	30.0.0.154-
Latest version:		30.0.0.154

 Would you like to continue? [y/n]
Put the xzm module in your modules folder.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

grub2 menu entry

Post#72 by francois » 08 May 2019, 00:56

Booting from iso for xubuntu to be added to /mnt/sda2/etc/grub.d/custom_40 with toram:

Code: Select all

menuentry "Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS ISO" {
         set isofile="/1_isos/xubuntu-18.04.2-desktop-i386.iso"
         # or set isofile="/<username>/Downloads/ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso"
         # if you use a single partition for your $HOME
         loopback loop (hd0,1)$isofile
         linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile noprompt noeject toram
         initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
 }
}
And as kubuntu old is already on sda2:

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sda2 /mnt

mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev  &&
mount --bind /dev/pts /mnt/dev/pts &&
mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc && 
mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys

chroot /mnt

update-grub
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-142-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-142-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-97-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-97-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-96-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-96-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.elf
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
done
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

grub2 menu entry

Post#73 by francois » 02 Oct 2020, 13:49

In the first post, there was no umount procedure to get out of a chroot mounted partition in ubuntu or debian. Based on the following link post #4, here it is:
https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... filesystem

Code: Select all

exit
cd/
umount /mnt/dev/pts
umount /mnt/dev/
umount /mnt/proc/
umount /mnt/sys/
umount /mnt/
This will bring you back to your original partition and file structure setting antecedent to the chroot procedure.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

benjibasson
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 140
Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
Distribution: Arch linux

grub2 menu entry

Post#74 by benjibasson » 13 Oct 2022, 20:13

Hi
I have extracted Porteus V5 to /home/benjamin/Porteus on sda6 Ubuntu
I have fill /etc/grub.d/40_custom by

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
title porteus  on sda6 xfce 
root (hd0,5)
kernel /home/benjamin/Porteus/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/home/benjamin/Porteus>
initrd /home/benjamin/Porteus/64bit_v30/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
boot
I have done grube update and unfortunaly it doesn't assume /etc/grub.d/40_custom

Code: Select all

benjamin@benjamin-LIFEBOOK-A530:~$ sudo update-grub2

Code: Select all

Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub'
Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub.d/init-select.cfg'
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-48-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-48-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-41-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-41-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.elf
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Found Windows 10 on /dev/sda1
done

How can I be launch Porteus on my internal drive with grub?

Cheers

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#75 by Ed_P » 14 Oct 2022, 05:38

Hello benji.

I rarely specify a value for root. Different systems count partitions differently as such I would replace your

Code: Select all

root (hd0,5)
with

Code: Select all

search -f "/home/benjamin/Porteus/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz" --set=root

And on my Windows systems I install Grub2Win to support and maintain my grub2 menus.
Ed

Post Reply