[How to] Android Mobile Phone as Modem

Post tutorials, HOWTO's and other useful resources here.
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1255
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

[How to] Android Mobile Phone as Modem

Post#1 by wread » 04 Aug 2011, 03:15

You can have your Android phone connected as modem to your computer. I named this script /opt/porteus-scripts/android-modem, that works for me ok.

#!/bin/bash
# This script tunnels the tcp-output of an android phone to the usb input of a computer,
# thus making the phone act as a high velocity modem.
# First you must have a rules-file. Name it /etc/udev/rules.d/90-android.rules, containing
# one line: SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="22b8", MODE="0666"
# substitute idVendor with the idVendor of your phone. In a konsole type lsusb,
# (mine says ID 22b8:2d66 Motorola PCS)
# Second, you must have the executable file adb from android-SDK installed in the exec path.
# Third, you must edit Firefox to use the mobile phone as proxy:
# Edit>Preferences>Advanced>Network>Settings, Manual proxy configuration, HTTP Proxy (set
# localhost) Port (set 8080), and check "Use this proxy server for all protocols"
#
/usr/bin/adb forward tcp:8080 tcp:8080
#
# In your android mobile you must start the application "proxoid" with Port parameter 8080

The rules-file I put in /rootcopy, as well as the /usr/bin/adb executable. So I connect the phone to usb, start proxoid in the phone, run /opt/porteus-scripts/android-modem, edit Firefox and navigate. :Yahoo!:

If you don't have adb, get it from http://www.mediafire.com/?jmg4i1g5jjwjt94

Enjoy!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: [How to] Android Mobile Phone as Modem

Post#2 by francois » 24 Aug 2011, 09:45

Thanks wread.Good to know.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: [How to] Android Mobile Phone as Modem

Post#3 by ponce » 24 Aug 2011, 10:22

FYI, I use the native usb tethering on the phones: that creates an usb0 device (when connected and activated) on which you can

Code: Select all

dhclient usb0
and you're ready to go.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1255
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: [How to] Android Mobile Phone as Modem

Post#4 by wread » 28 Aug 2011, 13:01

@ponce
Of course, yours is a more elegant solution, thanks for the tip, Ponce!; I didn't even know the existence of dhclient. Dhclient is not part of Porteus 1.0 -at least I couldn't find it!- . :oops:

Meanwhile I hacked my Android to get root access and use Tether over Wi-Fi or Blue Tooth to get connected to IN.

Cheers! :beer:
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: [How to] Android Mobile Phone as Modem

Post#5 by brokenman » 17 Feb 2012, 03:47

These are not the androids you are looking for (use the force).
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
TheDoctor
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 03 Sep 2011, 21:15
Location: I am everywhere.
Contact:

Re: [How to] Android Mobile Phone as Modem

Post#6 by TheDoctor » 30 Apr 2012, 18:10

ponce wrote:FYI, I use the native usb tethering on the phones: that creates an usb0 device (when connected and activated) on which you can

Code: Select all

dhclient usb0
and you're ready to go.
This is what we did for our last Byzantium Linux field test (yesterday afternoon) and it worked like a charm.

Post Reply