[HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post tutorials, HOWTO's and other useful resources here.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5940
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#31 by francois » 09 Jul 2014, 02:10

I get the files with:
https://www.mediafire.com/?3t33a7c2xyp0k

There is something going on your side.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2881
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 + 4.0 i586 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#32 by Rava » 08 Aug 2014, 13:16

francois wrote:I get the files with:
https://www.mediafire.com/?3t33a7c2xyp0k
There is something going on your side.
Without having changed anything, it now works just fine again...

Maybe it was some kind of server local / foreign IP issue? *head scratching, pondering*
francois wrote:Hello rava, one or two days ago I have sent you a private message thru email offering you to send the modules thru email attachment. Did you receive it?

If not just send me a private message, I will send you the modules.
Sorry, I was so busy with other stuff that I not managed to read any of my emails for weeks...

Yes, I was that occupied and busy...

Anyhow, I just downloaded all 3 modules and saved them as *_V2, to once again check the md5sums, and look what happened:

Code: Select all

ed746c988a8718ec7bbdb6216afa0911  01-iscan-data-1.25.0-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
ed746c988a8718ec7bbdb6216afa0911  01-iscan-data-1.25.0-x86_64-1_sg_V2.xzm
0d51b2b36a8a909c9b48230cf61562be  02-iscan-2.29.3-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
0d51b2b36a8a909c9b48230cf61562be  02-iscan-2.29.3-x86_64-1_sg_V2.xzm
0c264d18eab0d4d742831f47a7ed6e3b  03-iscan-plugin-2.1.2-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
0c264d18eab0d4d742831f47a7ed6e3b  03-iscan-plugin-2.1.2-x86_64-1_sg_V2.xzm
Weird, eh? 01* and 02* are all fine, but how is it possible that both 03* versions have the old wrong md5sum? O___o
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5940
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#33 by francois » 02 Sep 2014, 17:30

Finally Rava, did you achieved to get your scanner to work with these files?
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5940
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#34 by francois » 18 Dec 2014, 22:06

Howto updated for some obsolete hyperlinks and for porteus 3.1.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2881
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 + 4.0 i586 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#35 by Rava » 03 Jan 2015, 04:52

francois wrote:Finally Rava, did you achieved to get your scanner to work with these files?
Sadly, no, I was to busy with RL, so I scanned using Witless XP instead, but I still want to have it running with Port, now with Port 3.1 x86-64 (of course, XFCe version, also I think about trying LXQT as well, sounds interesting)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5940
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#36 by francois » 15 Mar 2015, 12:28

A still very useful post. :)
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Ueliton
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Feb 2016, 22:21
Distribution: Fedora 24 XFCE, Porteus 3.17.4
Location: Utinga, Bahia, Brasil

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#37 by Ueliton » 20 Aug 2016, 15:32

With my Epson L355 worked with RPM packages. It's very simple!

Find the Driver here: http://download.ebz.epson.net/dsc/searc ... FromResult
Or go straight to the download page: http://support.epson.net/linux/en/iscan ... sion=1.0.1

1-download and extract iscan-bundle-*. *. *. * x * .rpm.tar.gz

2-in the folder iscan-bundle-*. *. *. * x *.rpm three subfolders containing an RPM package these should be converted.

3-for resolving dependencies use the sane-backends of Fedora, download and convert it as well:
For 32 bits: http://fedora.c3sl.ufpr.br/linux/releas ... 4.i686.rpm

For 64 bits: http://fedora.c3sl.ufpr.br/linux/releas ... x86_64.rpm
ueliton@wmkeeper.com, https://www.playonlinux.com/en/profil-47380.html, https://launchpad.net/~ueli-ton

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5940
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#38 by francois » 20 Aug 2016, 19:18

@ueliton:
Useful information. Good contribution to the porteus forum. It is very appreciated that you give back to the forum. :D
Thanks.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5940
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#39 by francois » 18 Nov 2016, 22:18

If you ever get to register the wrong ip address for the brother printer scanner function, you will get an error message if you try to assign the right one:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# brsaneconfig4 -a name=scanner model=MFC-7860DW ip=192.168.0.107
"scanner" is already registered.
Here the MFC-7860DW printer was already assigned to 192.168.0.10, and would not accept 192.168.0.107:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# brsaneconfig4 -q | grep scanner
  0 scanner             "MFC-7860DW"        I:192.168.0.107
All you have to do is to remove /opt/brother/scanner/brscan4/brsanenetdevice4.cfg and then reassign the wright printer ip address to the printer scanner.

Added in the first post.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5940
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

[HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#40 by francois » 31 Dec 2020, 17:20

This thread is still good to install scanner for brother printers network mode. :)
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

Post Reply