PorteuX 0.9 has been released

PorteuX - The Next Experience. It's inspired by Slax and Porteus but with heaps of improvements
seed_clapper
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 44
Joined: 17 Oct 2022, 13:22
Distribution: Porteus 5 LXQT

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#31 by seed_clapper » 01 Jan 2024, 17:15

porteux, does PorteuX have grub boot menu like porteus?
When I try to boot in grub mode from ventoy it just blinks black screen and goes back to ventoy menu.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8374
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#32 by Ed_P » 01 Jan 2024, 17:25

This grub2 boot menu works for me:

Code: Select all

menuentry " PorteuX 0.9 ISO - Cinnamon"  --class slackware   --class user-icon-porteux  {
#    https://github.com/porteux/porteux/releases

     set linux_folder=/porteux
#     set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.7-xfce-4.18-current-x86_64.iso"
 #    set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.7-lxqt-1.3.0-current-x86_64.iso"
 #   set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.8-mate-1.27.3-current-x86_64.iso"
     set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.9-mate-1.27.3-current-x86_64.iso"

     set bootparms="volume=33 reboot=cold extramod=$linux_folder/Modules;$linux_folder/modsavedat \
       kmap=us norootcopy noload=-test;mate;lxqty;xface"   

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz      from=$iso $bootparms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.zst
     }
Your problem sounds like a ventoy problem.
Ed

seed_clapper
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 44
Joined: 17 Oct 2022, 13:22
Distribution: Porteus 5 LXQT

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#33 by seed_clapper » 01 Jan 2024, 17:57

Ed_P wrote:
01 Jan 2024, 17:25

Code: Select all

#     set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.7-xfce-4.18-current-x86_64.iso"
 #    set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.7-lxqt-1.3.0-current-x86_64.iso"
 #   set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.8-mate-1.27.3-current-x86_64.iso"
     set iso="/ISOs/PorteuX/porteux-v0.9-mate-1.27.3-current-x86_64.iso"
This is exact reason why I ask if PorteuX has its own grub menu. Every time new version released or I want to test different DEs I have to manually edit ventoy_grub.cfg.
Ed_P wrote:
01 Jan 2024, 17:25
sounds like a ventoy problem
Ventoy has no problem with porteus' grub menu. Maybe PorteuX stripped grub menu because it was rarely used.

porteux
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 175
Joined: 12 Mar 2023, 22:10
Distribution: PorteuX

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#34 by porteux » 01 Jan 2024, 19:03

As far as I understand, Porteus has no grub support at all.

Ventoy works by manually detecting the current distro it's loading and then it injects code on-the-fly to handle stuff.

Porteus is officially supported by Ventoy, while PorteuX isn't. For 0.9 I made a Ventoy detection from PorteuX side (initrd) and it works in some scenarios.

I wonder why you want to load PorteuX via grub.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5416
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#35 by Rava » 01 Jan 2024, 19:24

porteux wrote:
01 Jan 2024, 13:34
It's still unclear what exactly you're trying to achieve.

If I do this it just works, regardless if bash.sh is already present or not:

Code: Select all

mousepad ~/bash.sh
What might be an issue is that by default a file in a POSIX filesystem will not be executable.
Either do the needed change via your DE's file browser, or via the terminal. I will do all in the terminal, file creation and file mode change.
Example: using the shell to create a sample ~/bash.sh

Code: Select all

guest@rava:~$ echo '#!/bin/sh
> echo "Hello world!"' >~/bash.sh
guest@rava:~$ cat ~/bash.sh
#!/bin/sh
echo "Hello world!"
guest@rava:~$ ./bash.sh
bash: ./bash.sh: Permission denied
Why "Permission denied" - because ~/bash.sh is not executable:

Code: Select all

guest@rava:~$ ls -l ~/bash.sh
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 30 2024-01-01 20:21 /home/guest/bash.sh
Using chmod to change that:

Code: Select all

guest@rava:~$ chmod u+x ~/bash.sh
guest@rava:~$ ls -l ~/bash.sh
-rwxr--r-- 1 guest users 30 2024-01-01 20:21 /home/guest/bash.sh
guest@rava:~$ ~/bash.sh
Hello world!
guest@rava:~$ ./bash.sh
Hello world!
guest@rava:~$ 
:magic:

Added in 4 minutes 14 seconds:
Cave! the users specified by chmod might be confusing.
u=User (the owner of the file)
o=NOT owner but "Others"
g=Group
a=All

See either chmod --help or man chmod for more details.

Added in 10 minutes 59 seconds:
One other small detail: you can still execute a script even when it is not executable like so:

Code: Select all

guest@rava:~$ chmod a-x bash.sh 
guest@rava:~$ ls -l bash.sh 
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 30 2024-01-01 20:21 bash.sh
guest@rava:~$ . bash.sh 
Hello world!
but there is a huge CAVE! when doing it like so: when there is one or more explicit exit commands in the script (e.g. to signal an error occurred so that the exit status is non zero, e.g. via

Code: Select all

exit 1
the starting bash itself will exit since you not started a new one for that script, but you executed the script in your current bash. So when that script encounters any exit command the bash itself will quit instead. That is often not what you wanted especially when the script would explain the issue prior the exit command. Today's CPUs and GPUs are too powerful and quick for you to even see any characters of the error message.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8374
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#36 by Ed_P » 01 Jan 2024, 19:44

porteux wrote:
01 Jan 2024, 13:34
If I do this it just works, regardless if bash.sh is already present or not:

Code: Select all

mousepad ~/bash.sh
Try creating your sh file in /mnt/live/memory/images/changes/home/guest/ like babam.
Ed

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 400
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 5.0-RC1
Location: In a hayfield

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#37 by roadie » 01 Jan 2024, 20:51

babam wrote:
01 Jan 2024, 13:06
I use Xfce and Mousepad to edit text files.

Code: Select all

$ mousepad /mnt/live/memory/images/changes/home/guest/bash.sh
Then the result is ~/bash.sh is unreadable.

I don't have a changes directory in /mnt/live/memory/images, so any editor will show nothing......the editor will open, but will display nothing.

Using geany, as I've removed mousepad, I can open any file in /mnt/live/memory/changes without problems.

seed_clapper
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 44
Joined: 17 Oct 2022, 13:22
Distribution: Porteus 5 LXQT

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#38 by seed_clapper » 02 Jan 2024, 05:52

porteux wrote:
01 Jan 2024, 19:03
I wonder why you want to load PorteuX via grub
I encountered an UEFI machine without legacy boot option.
Both porteus and PorteuX stuck at black screen with white cursor in normal boot mode but
porteus can boot in grub mode
PorteuX in grub mode says something about uefi file not found and after some time goes back to ventoy menu.

Out of curiosity I checked ventoy grub mode booting on BIOS machine
porteus boots normally
PorteuX just blinks.
porteux wrote:
01 Jan 2024, 19:03
Porteus is officially supported by Ventoy
You are right! Thank to your hint I was able to boot PorteuX on UEFI from ventoy in grub mode
by recreating iso with copy of "/boot/syslinux/porteuX.cfg" renamed to "porteuS.cfg".
The double config fix is so simple it can be easily applied to next 0.10 release of PorteuX.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8374
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

PorteuX 0.9 has been released

Post#39 by Ed_P » 02 Jan 2024, 06:06

seed_clapper wrote:
02 Jan 2024, 05:52
I was able to boot PorteuX on UEFI from ventoy in grub mode
by recreating iso with copy of "/boot/syslinux/porteuX.cfg" renamed to "porteuS.cfg".
A clever solution seed_clapper. :good: But beyond the capabilities of many new PorteuX users. :( You should recommend to Ventoy to search for the porteuX.cfg file the way they search for the porteuS.cfg one. Or make the name of the .cfg file it searches for a user parm or cheatcode. :happy62:
Ed

Post Reply