from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#1 by francois » 12 Jan 2020, 02:08

Here is the grub2 syntax:

Code: Select all

    }
    menuentry "Porteus XFCE x86-64 rc ISO" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd0,5)
    set isofile="/isos/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso"
    search --no-floppy --file --set=root $isofile
    loopback loop $isofile
    linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$isofile changes=1_porteus login=root acpi=
    initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
    }
In what folder should I put my additional modules like firefox, chromium?

Thanks!
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#2 by Ed_P » 12 Jan 2020, 05:02

I suggest you create a folder, on the drive the isos folder is on, name it porteus4.0 and in it create a folder named Modules. Then you can use a grub2 menu like mine.

Code: Select all

set timeout=30

# Set the default variable to the submenu entry you prefer
set default=1

     set linux_folder=/porteus4.0
     set extramods="extramod="
     
     set iso=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v4.0-x86_64.iso
#     set iso=/ISOs/Porteus-OPENBOX-v4.0-x86_64.iso
#     set iso=/ISOs/porteus-4.0rc5-x86_64-20180318.iso
#     set extramods="extramod=$linux_folder/003Modules;"

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - changes="       --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules noload=cinnamon changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/changes/porteussave.dat"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF' " --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules;$linux_folder/modsavedat noload=save.dat;cinnamon"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF+ " --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules noload=cinnamon"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF " --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods "

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }
AF stands for Always Fresh mode. AF+ is Always Fresh plus the modules I have added. AF" is Always Fresh plus the modules I have added and my changes that I have saved as a module. The Changes menu is the AF ISO plus the modules I have added and my changes in my /porteus4.0/changes/porteussave.dat file which is updatable.

And my folders and files are all on an NTFS formatted drive.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#3 by francois » 12 Jan 2020, 22:52

@Ed:
You helped me think about it.
I just needed to add :
extramod=/64_V32/porteus/modules/

Code: Select all

linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$isofile extramod=/64_V32/porteus/modules/ changes=1_porteus login=root acpi=
It works now.

Thanks.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#4 by francois » 13 Jan 2020, 22:43

It is interesting to realize that we have very different syntax to achieve the same goal. You use a dat container?

In addition, the from=$isofile strategy is really great, it boots faster and it is a great backup for the porteus hdd install.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#5 by Ed_P » 13 Jan 2020, 23:46

We are both using grub2 so the syntax shouldn't be that different, I think some of your code is from grub4dos. One of my goals is to be able to move the menus to a different netbook with a different harddrive structure and not have to make a lot of changes to them. Another is to have a system my grandkids can't screw up. :D I do use a dat container for 1 of my menus the others are all read only.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#6 by francois » 14 Jan 2020, 00:31

No grub4dos on my part. Only debian or ubuntu howto and the like or one of these two forum.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#7 by Ed_P » 14 Jan 2020, 00:43

Try your menu with a # sign in front of these 3 lines.

Code: Select all

    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd0,5)
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#8 by francois » 15 Jan 2020, 02:37

# sign in front of these 3 lines will be the same as not writing these three lines. B)
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

from iso porteus: how to get modules mounted?

Post#9 by Ed_P » 15 Jan 2020, 06:52

True, and if the menu still works with them commented out then they can be deleted. If the menu fails to boot you simply remove the # signs in the front of the lines to resolve the problem. :)
Ed

Post Reply