Page 1 of 1

Switching audio channels in pulseaudio via CLI?

Posted: 13 Jan 2019, 06:28
by Rava
Is there an easy way of switching audio channels in Porteus that runs pulseaudio as audio … "app"?

As in, best a CLI solution that can either be part of a script or converted into a .desktop file, e.g. "audio-normal.desktop" and "audio-reverse.desktop", just like my monitorrotate-normal.desktop and monitorrotate-left.desktop

Re: Switching audio channels in pulseaudio via CLI?

Posted: 14 Jan 2019, 11:53
by ncmprhnsbl
you might find a way with this:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ pactl --help
pactl [options] stat
pactl [options] info
pactl [options] list [short] [TYPE]
pactl [options] exit
pactl [options] upload-sample FILENAME [NAME]
pactl [options] play-sample  NAME [SINK]
pactl [options] remove-sample  NAME
pactl [options] load-module  NAME [ARGS ...]
pactl [options] unload-module  NAME|#N
pactl [options] move-(sink-input|source-output) #N SINK|SOURCE
pactl [options] suspend-(sink|source) NAME|#N 1|0
pactl [options] set-card-profile  CARD PROFILE
pactl [options] set-default-(sink|source) NAME
pactl [options] set-(sink|source)-port NAME|#N PORT
pactl [options] set-(sink|source)-volume NAME|#N VOLUME [VOLUME ...]
pactl [options] set-(sink-input|source-output)-volume #N VOLUME [VOLUME ...]
pactl [options] set-(sink|source)-mute NAME|#N 1|0|toggle
pactl [options] set-(sink-input|source-output)-mute #N 1|0|toggle
pactl [options] set-sink-formats #N FORMATS
pactl [options] set-port-latency-offset CARD-NAME|CARD-#N PORT OFFSET
pactl [options] subscribe

The special names @DEFAULT_SINK@, @DEFAULT_SOURCE@ and @DEFAULT_MONITOR@
can be used to specify the default sink, source and monitor.

  -h, --help                            Show this help
      --version                         Show version

  -s, --server=SERVER                   The name of the server to connect to
  -n, --client-name=NAME                How to call this client on the server
and
https://manpage.me/?q=pactl

Re: Switching audio channels in pulseaudio via CLI?

Posted: 14 Jan 2019, 12:53
by Rava
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
14 Jan 2019, 11:53
you might find a way with this:

https://manpage.me/?q=pactl
Thanks ncmprhnsbl,
I searched through the man page for "channel" and found only these entries mentioning channel:

Code: Select all

suspend-source SOURCE true|false
set-source-volume SOURCE VOLUME [VOLUME ...]
Searching for "right" gives no results. Seems at least by what the man pages tells us pactl is not offering a solution.
Unless there are undocumented parameters. :(

Re: Switching audio channels in pulseaudio via CLI?

Posted: 14 Jan 2019, 22:14
by ncmprhnsbl