Porteus using Debian

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Post Reply
User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#1 by ralcocer » 04 Nov 2018, 17:09

I have been having problens with Porteus reading my memory and using it, I have been having problems with crashes I never had before upgrading to Ver.4. I tried Slax
but it is just a Web-based distribution right now no better that my chromebook. This morning I found Debiandog and gave it a try the first thing I noticed was how familiar the bootup script look, it was Porteus, I then wen to my HD to try to activate some modules and my surprise the will all activate also it will read the whole installed memory.
Also run in memory and comes with a lot of applications.
If porteus ever wanted to use Debian as a base Stretchdog is the answer.
https://debiandog.github.io/doglinux/

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#2 by brokenman » 05 Nov 2018, 23:12

If this is Porteus, or based on Porteus why is there ZERO mention or credit given? Have they used Porteus as a base to create this?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#3 by ralcocer » 06 Nov 2018, 07:14

They do mention it as a matter of fact.

two boot methods available:

1. DebianDog 'boot style Porteus' - porteus initrd1.xz made for debian kernel and firmware. + encrypted save file option.
(recommended if you are familiar with puppy or porteus boot options)
2. DebianDog live-boot-3x - debian initrd.img created with initramfs-tools-v3.x. + encrypted save file/partition option.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#4 by ralcocer » 06 Nov 2018, 07:21

It is mentioned in this page.
Specifications:
Kernel: 4.9.0-3
Choice of Boot Methods: porteus-boot and live-boot v3 (see for options Here)

https://debiandog.github.io/doglinux/zz ... chdog.html

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#5 by ralcocer » 06 Nov 2018, 07:47


User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#6 by brokenman » 06 Nov 2018, 11:51

Ok. Well this to me does not look like credit. Not even a link back. :no: But ... no problem.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#7 by ralcocer » 06 Nov 2018, 13:21

Well that means you are doing something good and is worth copiyin,g they even have activate and deactivate for xzm modules using your image., the reason I was shopping around is that when I updated to V4 Porteus will only read 1/2 of my system memory and it will crash no messages or anything, I was so worried I ordered a new memory module.
I installed the debian and all of a sudden I have my memory back.

You should at least look at it before you put it down, Slax is doing Debian,which I didn't like, this one have even more apps running in 254 mb.
I still be using Porteus because all my 3D printer stuff is in there.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus using Debian

Post#8 by brokenman » 07 Nov 2018, 17:14

I'd need a system information dump to troubleshoot your problem.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5645
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Porteus using Debian

Post#9 by francois » 10 Nov 2018, 14:08

@ralacocer:
Here is tome porteus version of debian Quick Ubuntu based Porteus (x64) - UPortabilizer ;)
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Porteus using Debian

Post#10 by ralcocer » 02 Jan 2019, 15:02

I found the problem with an 8g memory reads as only 4 linux-PAE

PAE stands for P-hysical A-ddress E-xtension to access 4 GiB RAM on 32-bit systems

I made a switchover to Debian because I was unable to bring the kernel to compile with Porteus .

can a regular kernel be patched with the standalone aufs without having to compile it from scratch.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5645
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: Porteus using Debian

Post#11 by francois » 02 Jan 2019, 18:31

@brokenman
The debian dog project has been going on since 2014. I have mentioned it on our forum Porteus-Wheezy : interesting for sure
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Porteus using Debian

Post#12 by ralcocer » 26 Feb 2019, 12:24

I have ended up back to Porteus thanks to the author of Kernel Builder he was gratefull enough to make a 64gb kernel module and now I have use of the 8gb memory in my system. Don't know why my debian live will not do OpenGL, my main use is for 3D-printing and Porteus has it from the start. I don't know how to make pcmanfm to read more than 4gb.

Post Reply