What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
babam
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 34
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#1 by babam » 08 Jul 2018, 12:50

I am using Easy2Boot (Grub4Dos), what is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

I have extracted Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE to '/PorteusXFCE' on sdb1 (NTFS).

The problem is the booting script can't find base modules inside '/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base'.

The kernel and initrd are loaded properly.

Thanks.
Last edited by babam on 10 Jul 2018, 13:16, edited 2 times in total.
Sorry, my English is bad.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 622
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#2 by tome » 08 Jul 2018, 16:05

From /.../cheatcodes.txt:
from=/dev/device
from=/path/folder
from=/path/porteus.iso

... Loads Porteus from the specified device, folder or ISO file.
Examples:
'from=/dev/sdb2' will attempt to load unpacked Porteus ISO from
the second partition on your second drive.
'from=/mnt/sda2/linux-testing' will attempt to load unpacked ISO
from the 'linux-testing' folder placed on the second partition.
'from=/linux-ISO/porteus.iso' will attempt to load the Porteus
data from an ISO file placed inside the 'linux-ISO' folder.

If the destination partition is not provided with this
cheatcode, the booting script will search through all available
devices for your data.
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

babam
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 34
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#3 by babam » 08 Jul 2018, 16:32

from=/PorteusXFCE ---> Doesn't work
from=/dev/sdb1/PorteusXFCE ---> Doesn't work
from=/mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE ---> Doesn't work
Sorry, my English is bad.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 622
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#4 by tome » 08 Jul 2018, 17:50

Is your hierarchy correct - /mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base or wrong - /mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/base (this was for older Porteus v1 and v2)?
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

babam
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 34
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#5 by babam » 09 Jul 2018, 01:48

/mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base
Sorry, my English is bad.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4125
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#6 by Ed_P » 09 Jul 2018, 03:53

Have you tried:

from=/mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base

or

from=/mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus
Ed

babam
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 34
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#7 by babam » 09 Jul 2018, 05:00

Ed_P wrote:
09 Jul 2018, 03:53
Have you tried:

from=/mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base

or

from=/mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus
The result is the same, both are not working.
Sorry, my English is bad.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4125
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#8 by Ed_P » 09 Jul 2018, 05:16

:hmmm:

How about:

from=/dev/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base

or

from=/dev/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus

?

Can you attach the grub4dos menu you are using for Porteus? Maybe a

find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /PorteusXFCE/porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg

would help.
Ed

babam
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 34
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#9 by babam » 09 Jul 2018, 05:39

Still not working.

Parted Magic and SalixOS can easily be used with the frugal install.
Sorry, my English is bad.

babam
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 34
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#10 by babam » 09 Jul 2018, 06:37

Ed_P wrote:
09 Jul 2018, 05:16
:hmmm:

How about:

from=/dev/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base

or

from=/dev/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus

?

Can you attach the grub4dos menu you are using for Porteus? Maybe a

find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /PorteusXFCE/porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg

would help.
title Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 64-Bit - Always Fresh
root (hd0,0)
kernel /PorteusXFCE/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/PorteusXFCE noauto ramsize=70%
initrd /PorteusXFCE/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
boot
Sorry, my English is bad.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 622
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#11 by tome » 09 Jul 2018, 14:06

Try this:

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 64-Bit - Always Fresh
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /PorteusXFCE/porteus/porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg
kernel /PorteusXFCE/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/PorteusXFCE noauto ramsize=70%
initrd /PorteusXFCE/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
Be sure your porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg exist.
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4125
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#12 by Ed_P » 09 Jul 2018, 16:31

You can also use:

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 64-Bit - Always Fresh
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /PorteusXFCE/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
kernel /PorteusXFCE/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/PorteusXFCE noauto ramsize=70%
initrd /PorteusXFCE/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
That file has to exist. ;)

:)

As for from= would that be from=/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base rather than just from=/PorteusXFCE? :%) My from= always points to an ISO file so not sure about installs.
Ed

babam
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 34
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#13 by babam » 10 Jul 2018, 04:53

The problem is the booting script can not find base modules inside '/PorteusXFCE/porteus/base'.

The kernel and initrd are loaded properly.
Sorry, my English is bad.

raja
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 135
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v4.0-rc1-64
Location: Chennai,India

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#14 by raja » 10 Jul 2018, 08:03

Try changing installation directory name to porteus. Remove "from=***" entry in grub. You will succeed.

or

If you have compulsion to keep directory name as "PorteusXFCE", expand initrd.xz, change, folder=porteus to PorteusXFCE, in the linuxrc script, repack and boot.
cheers.
Linux Kernel-4.4.120-32 bit; Linux kernel-4.15.7-64 bit.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 622
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

What is the 'from=' cheatcode for frugal install.

Post#15 by tome » 10 Jul 2018, 16:14

1-st test:
Move /mnt/sdb1/PorteusXFCE/porteus to /mnt/sdb1/ and try boot without from=
2-nd test:
Replace 000-kernel.xzm with http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/archive/Po ... kernel.xzm and vmlinuz with https://www.dropbox.com/s/7i08u2969t0s8 ... -p3.1?dl=1
Maybe something is missing in current vmlinuz (compiled as module in 000-kernel.xzm)
Be sure /mnt/.../PorteusXFCE directory exist only on one partition.
How you boot porteus now? If from hard drive could you show me your working entries in bootloader you use?
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

Post Reply