runit as init with Porteus

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Post Reply
User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1582
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#1 by Rava » 25 Mar 2018, 14:44

roadie wrote:
24 Mar 2018, 16:42
I run a different init with Porteus and that will effect things as compared to the standard Porteus init. But, booting from the ISO showed the same problems when I last tested them. Looking into it is on my todo list, but I'm easily led astray with my current playing. However, I don't believe your machine specs are the problem, it's a software issue causing it.
Mind telling us what kind of init you use.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 218
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#2 by roadie » 25 Mar 2018, 17:32

Rava wrote:
25 Mar 2018, 14:44
Mind telling us what kind of init you use.

I use runit, not because it's a lot better than SysVinit, though it does manage services after starting them.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1582
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#3 by Rava » 25 Mar 2018, 19:05

And you combined that with Port?
How? Did you hack the initrd?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 218
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#4 by roadie » 25 Mar 2018, 21:04

Rava wrote:
25 Mar 2018, 19:05
And you combined that with Port?
How? Did you hack the initrd?
Yes, it replaces the Porteus init and I found after a few attempts that hacking the initrd is not necessary. Though it's not terribly complex to convert to runit, when compared to the stock Porteus init, runit really offers little apart from service management. Not to say service management isn't a good thing, I just haven't found the need for it to this point. I use it to keep ahead of the sinister systemd and the overly complex OpenRC, along with the possibility of Slackware dropping SysVinit.

And, I'm thinking this is completely off topic for this thread.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1582
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

runit as init with Porteus

Post#5 by Rava » 26 Mar 2018, 04:07

roadie wrote:
25 Mar 2018, 21:04
And, I'm thinking this is completely off topic for this thread.
no it is not.

now that I moved the posts. :D
Cheers!
Yours Rava

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 218
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

runit as init with Porteus

Post#6 by roadie » 26 Mar 2018, 15:34

Rava wrote:
26 Mar 2018, 04:07
roadie wrote:
25 Mar 2018, 21:04
And, I'm thinking this is completely off topic for this thread.
no it is not.

now that I moved the posts. :D
There ya go, that's fixed.

As to changing inits in Porteus, I found the easiest way was to unpack 001-core.xzm and install the needed files, then repack. I've also chrooted into the unpacked core and installed from there. As I said, it's not needed to hack the initrd, it's only necessary to replace the init that linuxrc copies over. Actually linuxrc is doing a lot of stuff before the init is started and runit files have to be modified to account for that.

There are various flavors of runit, Arch has one, there is a slackonly package, but it's barebones. I ended up using the Void Linux version, in fact if you want to try runit, Void is an good way to do it as it's the default init. And, Void is a very good distro, even better when converted to run under Porteus, but that's another thing. Also being the default init, runit is kept up to date by the Void developers.

The Void version has extra boot files which are used instead of /etc/rc.d, although it's easy to use both. I use some /etc/rc.d files along with the runit files. I haven't tried the Arch version, but I assume it uses everything in /etc/rc.d. I have no idea how services are started with the Arch or slackonly version, runit has it's own directories in /etc/runit and /etc/sv which contain the boot files and service files. The /etc/inittab file is not used with runit, after I realized that, things went much easier

You can check ruinit out at http://www.smarden.org/runit which also has links to methods for various distros including Slackware. Porteus is a bit different because of the live system and needs tweaking to get going. But Void linux would show you the layout and how things work, better than I can explain.....old and easily forget things.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1912
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current Xfce x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

runit as init with Porteus

Post#7 by Blaze » 26 Mar 2018, 15:53

Any tests of BSD-style startup scripts Vs Runit?
Linux porteus 4.18.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Aug 18 16:50:00 UTC 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 218
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

runit as init with Porteus

Post#8 by roadie » 26 Mar 2018, 17:28

Blaze wrote:
26 Mar 2018, 15:53
Any tests of BSD-style startup scripts Vs Runit?

I've never tried BSD, so don't know how it's set up. As far as startup, I found little difference between Porteus SysVinit and runit, Porteus startup times are hard to improve on. I have noticed a difference in times to get from a login prompt to the desktop, in my setup I'm not using /etc/rc.d/rc.4, I just start slim and the hanging that I've seen in 4.0-RC4 is not present when using runit.......no doubt it would be the same with SysVinit, but I haven't tested that.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1912
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current Xfce x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

runit as init with Porteus

Post#9 by Blaze » 26 Mar 2018, 18:25

roadie wrote:
26 Mar 2018, 17:28
I've never tried BSD
Slackware Linux uses the BSD-style file layout for its system initialization files.
More info here http://www.slackware.com/config/init.php
Linux porteus 4.18.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Aug 18 16:50:00 UTC 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1582
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

runit as init with Porteus

Post#10 by Rava » 26 Mar 2018, 19:12

roadie wrote:
26 Mar 2018, 15:34
You can check ruinit out at http://www.smarden.org/runit which also has links to methods for various distros including Slackware. Porteus is a bit different because of the live system and needs tweaking to get going. But Void linux would show you the layout and how things work, better than I can explain.....old and easily forget things.
Very interesting info. Mind sharing a minimal xzm file that only keeps the needed difference? I would like to try runit with Port but RL keeps me so busy. .. I was just able to download rc5 today and not even have it installed to any system. Working on preparing RL stuff for tomorrow... at least as much as I manage to prepare in advance. Feel like needing a holiday but will have to keep on working like that for at least some months.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 218
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

runit as init with Porteus

Post#11 by roadie » 27 Mar 2018, 02:10

Rava wrote:
26 Mar 2018, 19:12
roadie wrote:
26 Mar 2018, 15:34
You can check ruinit out at http://www.smarden.org/runit which also has links to methods for various distros including Slackware. Porteus is a bit different because of the live system and needs tweaking to get going. But Void linux would show you the layout and how things work, better than I can explain.....old and easily forget things.
Very interesting info. Mind sharing a minimal xzm file that only keeps the needed difference? I would like to try runit with Port but RL keeps me so busy. .. I was just able to download rc5 today and not even have it installed to any system. Working on preparing RL stuff for tomorrow... at least as much as I manage to prepare in advance. Feel like needing a holiday but will have to keep on working like that for at least some months.

I'll see what I can get together, but you really would be as well off to download the Void packages and install them to 001-core.xzm, or download Void Linux and see if runit will be something you want. My files are far from perfect, when I hack something, I literally hack/cut/slice and dice.

Post Reply