ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Post#1 by Rava » 31 Oct 2022, 20:09

My system: XFCE 4.16 with newest updates

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /etc/porteus/00*
001-core.xzm:20221006
002-xorg.xzm:20221006
002-xtra.xzm:20220630
003-xfce.xzm:20220925
ps vs top - Why does top not lists xfce4-terminal when ps does list it?

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ /bin/ps ax | grep xfce4-terminal | grep -v grep
 2459 tty2     Sl     7:09 xfce4-terminal
guest@porteus:~$ top -bn 1 |grep xfce4-terminal
guest@porteus:~$ 
(The sole purpose of the added "| /bin/grep -v grep" is to omit the hit for the "|grep xfce4-terminal" itself.)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2065
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Post#2 by donald » 31 Oct 2022, 22:44

Rava wrote:
31 Oct 2022, 20:09
Why does top not lists xfce4-terminal....
What do you mean?. :unknown:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /etc/porteus/*
001-core.xzm:20221006
002-xorg.xzm:20221006
002-xtra.xzm:20220630
003-xfce.xzm:20220925
initrd.xz:20220928
guest@porteus:~$ top -bn 1 | grep xfce4-terminal
 1412 guest     20   0  473948  46624  36856 S   0.0   1.2   0:01.06 xfce4-terminal
guest@porteus:~$ 

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Post#3 by Rava » 31 Oct 2022, 23:41

donald wrote:
31 Oct 2022, 22:44
What do you mean?. :unknown:
This, as done in the xfce4-terminal itself as you can see in my screenshot:
Image
Good that top -bn 1 | grep xfce4-terminal shows your xfce4-terminal process but on my system top and grep doesn't show anything.

Added in 2 minutes 2 seconds:
BTW, I used my "c" script for clearing the terminal and displaying what you see at top. The script itself is this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
clear;echo -e "\033[1m\033[32m"`whoami`"\033[m" on "\033[1m\033[32m"`tty`"\033[m"
Added in 3 minutes 33 seconds:
Without using backtick and a more modern code approach that would be this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
echo -e "\033[1m\033[32m"$(whoami)"\033[m" on "\033[1m\033[32m"$(tty)"\033[m"
Cheers!
Yours Rava

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2065
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Post#4 by donald » 01 Nov 2022, 00:00

Rava wrote:
31 Oct 2022, 23:46
Good that top -bn 1 | grep xfce4-terminal shows your xfce4-terminal process but on my system top and grep doesn't show anything.
In pure AF mode too?

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Post#5 by Rava » 01 Nov 2022, 00:16

donald wrote:
01 Nov 2022, 00:00
In pure AF mode too?
What exactly is pure AF mode?
I do never use changes= cheatcode but I use more than the base modules when I bootup since not having these running Linux would not make much sense to me.

I daily use e.g.
palemoon (browser)
interlink (email)
mtpaint (graphics editor)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2065
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Post#6 by donald » 01 Nov 2022, 02:03

...seriously?
Who would have thought that I would have to explain this to a long-time Linux user.

cat /etc/porteus/* shows we use the same modules.
You may use a different initrd.xz - I don't know.

You have a bug, I don't. So it must be something added to the system, right?
( and no one knows what (highly modified?) modules you add.)

so what does pure AF mode mean?

Boot the system without your add-ons. If the error disappeared, it is a proof that
one of your add-ons is to blame.

Now add one of your files, then the 2nd and so on until the error occurs again.
Once you have identified the module that is causing the error, you will know
what to investigate further.

Since this does not occur in my "AF only" system and no one knows what exactly you are adding,
how can I help?

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

ps vs top - why does top not lists xfce4-terminal?

Post#7 by Rava » 01 Nov 2022, 02:15

donald wrote:
01 Nov 2022, 02:03
cat /etc/porteus/* shows we use the same modules.
You may use a different initrd.xz - I don't know.
We use the same initrd

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/$ cat /etc/porteus/initrd.ver
initrd.xz:20220928
donald wrote:
01 Nov 2022, 02:03
so what does pure AF mode mean?

Boot the system without your add-ons. If the error disappeared, it is a proof that
one of your add-ons is to blame.
That is what I thought it meant but I wanted to be sure. :)

For now the bug is not really that severe. But I try your suggestion nonetheless.
unless it points to a cracked system and that I have altered files. if that would be the reason then using md5sum from the compromised system would give unreliable results and I should boot from an ISO and from a different PC altogether checking my modules that way.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply