XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
glestwid
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 182
Joined: 09 Jan 2018, 20:05
Distribution: Porteus-XFCE 5.0 i586

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#1 by glestwid » 07 Jul 2022, 22:18

Hi,

I can successfully change its background via

Code: Select all

xterm -bg blue

but don't know how to change the font size used in xterm session. Tried to specify

Code: Select all

-fs 20
- no luck, the font remains intact. How could I change it just for this run of xterm via its cmd line params?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2069
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#2 by donald » 07 Jul 2022, 22:37

Use -fa and -fs parameters
e.g.

Code: Select all

xterm -fa 'Monospace' -fs 14

glestwid
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 182
Joined: 09 Jan 2018, 20:05
Distribution: Porteus-XFCE 5.0 i586

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#3 by glestwid » 08 Jul 2022, 07:50

Nope, the fs doesn't seem to work:
Image

What should I do now?

nanZor
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 381
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.01 x86-64 LXQT

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#4 by nanZor » 08 Jul 2022, 08:44

That's interesting - it works for me. Running the latest mostly stock 5.0 final lxde 64 bit though. So that's really puzzling. I even used single and regular quotes around Monospace and it worked either way.

Is there any other info we need to know? Is this from your 5.0 i586 xfce relatively stock, or is yours heavily modified already?
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3885
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#5 by Blaze » 08 Jul 2022, 09:04

nanZor wrote:
08 Jul 2022, 08:44
That's interesting - it works for me.
For me too.
Image
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2069
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#6 by donald » 08 Jul 2022, 15:49

@ glestwid

you use Porteus-XFCE 5.0 i586 ,right?
so I did setup the same to check if it works or not.

Here we go.
as guest:
Image
as root:
Image

I have no idea why it does not work for you --- it seems to work for anyone else. :unknown:

glestwid
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 182
Joined: 09 Jan 2018, 20:05
Distribution: Porteus-XFCE 5.0 i586

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#7 by glestwid » 10 Jul 2022, 17:08

nanZor wrote:
08 Jul 2022, 08:44
Is there any other info we need to know? Is this from your 5.0 i586 xfce relatively stock, or is yours heavily modified already?
Nope, no modifications were done on XFCE. Moreover, on LXQT xterm ignores font size as well. What should I do to have it fixed? My porteus seems to be a bit older:
Image

nanZor
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 381
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.01 x86-64 LXQT

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#8 by nanZor » 12 Jul 2022, 00:51

That's perplexing since it seems to a one-off case only affecting your setup, and nobody can reproduce the problem.

Other questions loom - are you dual screen and the working uxterm is on the other but hidden? Is this bare-stock running uxterm, or is this some other xterm module you are loading - does it only happen under a VM and not on real hardware? At this distance, I can only guess. etc etc.

As a diagnostic, and to make sure we are all on the same page, I'd install the latest 5.0 final - and see if you can reproduce the problem in a bare-stock form on actual hardware.

If it still show up as a problem, it may signify that you'll have to investigate on your own, and when the trouble is found, let us know!
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3936
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

XTerm - how to change used font size from its cmd line?

Post#9 by ncmprhnsbl » 12 Jul 2022, 03:02

glestwid wrote:
10 Jul 2022, 17:08
My porteus seems to be a bit older:
kernel 5.12.14 looks like 5.0 rc1
another clue to porteus version is: `cat /etc/porteus/*` which will supply base module build dates..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply