[Seemingly solved] Is this a Palemoon 32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3 bug?

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Post Reply
User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4606
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.0 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

[Seemingly solved] Is this a Palemoon 32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3 bug?

Post#1 by Rava » 24 Jan 2023, 20:46

Hi

today I updated my PM to "palemoon-32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3", and the release note says it being a milestone thingy yadda yadda.

Most things seem to war as usual, but I just posted a post using the ROFL emote - :ROFL: - , and that one emote is not animated. (The :celebrate3: right next to it is animated)
When I locally save the ROFL emote and open it in viewnior, I see it is animated okay.

Other emotes from https://forum.porteus.org are also static and lack the known animation like these ones:
:Yahoo!: :x :cry: :P


while others are still animated like these:
:roll: :shock: =@


Is this a bug from "palemoon-32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3"?

I have JavaScript disabled on https://forum.porteus.org via eMatrix 5.0.2 - but everything works just fine on https://forum.porteus.org - and having no JS should make no difference on the animation of GIFs on website anyway.

Has anyone upgraded to the same PM version and encountered the same issue?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3707
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Is this a Palemoon 32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3 bug?

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 25 Jan 2023, 01:40

:hi: all animated emotes look correct using palemoon-32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3 here.
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4606
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.0 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

Is this a Palemoon 32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3 bug?

Post#3 by Rava » 25 Jan 2023, 01:53

^
Now that I exited and restarted PM, it all looks animated and normal for me as well.
Maybe for the first startup it was some glitch from the older version to the new one?

I use these settings in my prefs.js

Code: Select all

user_pref("browser.sessionstore.cache_behavior", 2);
user_pref("browser.startup.page", 3);
as gotten the tips doing so by one of the core developers on the PM forum.

Oh well, better not to think too much about such weird glitches, one would only get a headache when some software behaves in such erratically ways. An then stops and acts all normal just like that as the errors previously never happened. I guess, still, all's well that ends well. :celebrate3:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7435
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

[Seemingly solved] Is this a Palemoon 32.0.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3 bug?

Post#4 by Ed_P » 25 Jan 2023, 02:34

Rava wrote:
25 Jan 2023, 01:53
Oh well, better not to think too much about such weird glitches, one would only get a headache when some software behaves in such erratically ways. An then stops and acts all normal just like that as the errors previously never happened. I guess, still, all's well that ends well.
:happy62: :good:
Ed

Post Reply