Updated 001-core.xzm

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Post Reply
rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Updated 001-core.xzm

Post#1 by rchase » 08 Aug 2020, 02:54

I managed to learn enough scripting to automate the process of removing old packages and installing new ones, (manually) downloaded all packages in 001-core.xzm for which I found updates, removed all of the old packages, and installed all the new ones. The resulting module is much larger than 001-core.xzm (I haven't stripped it of package documentation). I tried booting with my updated core module, but I can't log in; xorg complains several times about a missing libnettle.so.6. How can this be fixed? Might 003-xfce.xzm need to be updated too?

Updated core module:

Code: Select all

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vlVOkNCrrh43Ttkh3A0qwMm7CWtBWzTK/view?usp=sharing
Removal Script:

Code: Select all

# Extract substring of all characters preceding the first "-" followed by a numeral:
#
get_package () {
	package="$(cut -d'-' -f 1 <<< $1)"
	second_field="$(cut -d'-' -f 2 <<< $1)"
	if [[ "${second_field:0:1}" != [0-9] ]]; then
		package="$package-$second_field"
	fi
}

exec 3</mnt/sdb5/temp/oldpackages.txt
while IFS= read -r opline <&3
do
	get_package $opline
	old_package_name=$package
	exec 4</mnt/sdb5/temp/new-package-list.txt
	while IFS= read -r npline <&4
	do
	get_package $npline
	new_package_name=$package
		if [ $new_package_name == $old_package_name ]; then
			ROOT=/mnt/sdb5/temp/unpacked removepkg $opline
			break
		fi
	done
done
Update Script:

Code: Select all

input="/mnt/sdb5/temp/new-package-list.txt"
while IFS= read -r line
do
ROOT=/mnt/sdb5/temp/unpacked installpkg "$line"
done < "$input"
printf "%s\n\n\n"
read -p "Hit Enter to exit"

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2584
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Updated 001-core.xzm

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 08 Aug 2020, 04:57

:D.. we're on the verge of releasing 5.0 RC2
but yes, updating just core would be problematic, since the higher level modules generally depend on the versions in the lower levels..
have come accros the libnettle issue in the past, but don't quite remember off the top of my head what that requires..
hang tight and we'll have a whole new base for you to play with..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 885
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Updated 001-core.xzm

Post#3 by beny » 08 Aug 2020, 09:47

hi nettle is a network libs http://slackware/slackware64-current/sl ... 6_64-1.txz, but you can try if you have the changes active a ln -s to the new nettle version,i have done this for a kodi build from source code.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Updated 001-core.xzm

Post#4 by rchase » 08 Aug 2020, 14:29

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
08 Aug 2020, 04:57
:D.. we're on the verge of releasing 5.0 RC2
but yes, updating just core would be problematic, since the higher level modules generally depend on the versions in the lower levels..
have come accros the libnettle issue in the past, but don't quite remember off the top of my head what that requires..
hang tight and we'll have a whole new base for you to play with..
Thanks -- it did just take me more time than I care to admit to produce the defective module above, but having automated the process, I could go ahead and do the same for 003-xfce.xzm; do you suppose that might resolve the problem? The main reason I started tinkering with base modules is that I wanted to put exFAT support in core.xzm and the Faenza icons back into xfce.xzm (even though they take up ~18 MB of space -- I really don't care for Paper) without loading separate modules.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Updated 001-core.xzm

Post#5 by rchase » 08 Aug 2020, 14:30

beny wrote:
08 Aug 2020, 09:47
hi nettle is a network libs /slackware/slackware64-current/slackware64/n/nettle-3.6-x86_64-1.txz, but you can try if you have the changes active a ln -s to the new nettle version,i have done this for a kodi build from source code.
Please elaborate -- where exactly should I put a symbolic link to precisely what?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2584
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Updated 001-core.xzm

Post#6 by ncmprhnsbl » 08 Aug 2020, 22:31

rchase wrote:
08 Aug 2020, 14:29
I could go ahead and do the same for 003-xfce.xzm; do you suppose that might resolve the problem?
possibly, but 002-xorg could be just as important. ..the other thing to note is some packages aren't in slackware currrent (check the tags in /var/lib/pkgtools/packages ie _sBo or _jay) and may need to be recompiled..
rchase wrote:
08 Aug 2020, 14:30
where exactly should I put a symbolic link to precisely what?
i'd boot up to text mode and log in root, then:

Code: Select all

cd /usr/lib64
ls libnettle*  (to find out the version we have)
ln -s libnettle.so.<that version> libnettle.so.6
if that works, then copy the link to your extracted 001-core module and recompress..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
babam
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 124
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus Xfce 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

Updated 001-core.xzm

Post#7 by babam » 09 Aug 2020, 05:58

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
08 Aug 2020, 04:57
:D.. we're on the verge of releasing 5.0 RC2
That's good news.
Sorry, my English is bad.

Post Reply