Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Post Reply
User avatar
n0ctilucient
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 448
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 15:59
Distribution: fullmoonremix
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#1 by n0ctilucient » 24 Nov 2018, 15:05

I'm using Chrome browser and I'm getting Ajax errors when posting to chat. Do I need to install Mono?
:hmmm: I do NOT have the "right" to tell anyone what they should do...
but I reserve the "right" to tell them what they should "consider".

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2021
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#2 by Blaze » 24 Nov 2018, 15:34

:hmmm:
Linux 4.19.2-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Nov 14 09:31:28 UTC 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
n0ctilucient
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 448
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 15:59
Distribution: fullmoonremix
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#3 by n0ctilucient » 24 Nov 2018, 16:52

I"m also getting JSON errors. Perhaps this is just a ARM thing.
Last edited by n0ctilucient on 24 Nov 2018, 23:54, edited 1 time in total.
:hmmm: I do NOT have the "right" to tell anyone what they should do...
but I reserve the "right" to tell them what they should "consider".

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 221
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#4 by roadie » 24 Nov 2018, 17:12

I get an error with Palemoon, keeps repeating making reading chat pretty much impossible.

Code: Select all

SyntaxError: JSON.parse: unexpected character at line 1 column 1 of the JSON data

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4243
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#5 by Ed_P » 24 Nov 2018, 17:38

I get the AJAX errors trying to go back a thread page. And I have seen the JSON errors. These are forum problems not browser problems.
Ed

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 221
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#6 by roadie » 25 Nov 2018, 02:07

I use NoScript with Palemoon, if I block porteus.org, I don't get the error. I would think that probably some script being run by the forum software is causing the errors.

edit:
Actually, it seems to be the updater causing the error that I get.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1885
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#7 by Hamza » 26 Nov 2018, 13:25

Working on the problem.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
n0ctilucient
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 448
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 15:59
Distribution: fullmoonremix
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#8 by n0ctilucient » 02 Dec 2018, 11:17

Now I'm getting JSON errors constantly on the main forum page. They go away on the topic pages.
:hmmm: I do NOT have the "right" to tell anyone what they should do...
but I reserve the "right" to tell them what they should "consider".

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5976
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#9 by brokenman » 02 Dec 2018, 21:51

Could this be from the quick reply box? I just disabled it today to see if errors continue.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 221
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 4.0-RC4
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#10 by roadie » 03 Dec 2018, 02:43

I'm still getting the same json error, as n0ctilucient say's, it doesn't happen on thread pages. I get the error roughly every 10 seconds, when the mchat updater kicks in.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4243
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Problems posting to Porteus chat...

Post#11 by Ed_P » 03 Dec 2018, 20:05

Still getting the "SyntaxError: JSON.parse: unexpected character at line 1 column 1 of the JSON data" error when the mChat window is displayed and unable to post into mChat even with all the prior postings gone. :%)
Ed

Post Reply