Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Nemesis related tutorials and docs
Forum rules
Please only post tutorials and HOWTOs in here. It should not be a discussion area.
User avatar
istinnjazz
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 115
Joined: 15 May 2016, 14:10
Distribution: Manjaro-OpenRC/Nemesis

Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Post#1 by istinnjazz » 14 Jun 2016, 21:58

---
Install multiple desktop environments tutorial for Porteus Nemesis
Xfce4 and LXQT examples

for Nemesis 3.5
You will have to use a full persistence save changes method for this or create a module with your changes


For Nemesis keyring and update issues go here (original part moved):
http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5971

Manjaro keyring

To update anything in arch/manjaro you have to update key signatures (security for package signing), and for AUR certificates also.
There are 2 possible needed keyring packages, but I am not sure why, maybe there has to be some kind of arch repository communication somewhere, or AUR certification, I am not sure.





Multiple Desktop Environments at log-in screen selection


You can use multiple environments by editing lxdm.conf file in /etc/lxdm, you can install and include all the environments you want.
If you need the auto login just set only the time you will see the login screen with the option not to hide available sessions.

example:

Code: Select all

autologin=guest
timeout=30
you can set the default one e.g:

Code: Select all

## default session or desktop used when no systemwide config
session=/usr/bin/startlxde
#session=/usr/bin/startxfce4
You can set an image background also there.

you can use

Code: Select all

lxdm-config
also
but it seems auto login cannot be deactivated either way, probably there is an other global config that changes this always to autologin=guest

I was able to use the minimal openbox standalone this way

https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php/LXDM_Configuration
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LXDM


The manjaro lxdm has some options already there (predefined and auto-generated):
1. LXDE
2. XFCE SESSION
3. LXQT
4. KDE/Openbox
5. Openbox (Standalone)


If you use Openbox (Standalone) you can use lxpanel to run the LXDE panel if you want, as it is already there. You can config it independately of LXDE.
The openbox menu is not currently auto updated (lxpanel is ok)

To install xfce4:

Code: Select all

root /home/guest #
pacman -S xfce4
:: There are 18 members in group xfce4:
:: Repository extra
   1) exo  2) garcon  3) gtk-xfce-engine  4) thunar  5) thunar-volman
   6) tumbler  7) xfce4-appfinder  8) xfce4-mixer  9) xfce4-panel
   10) xfce4-power-manager  11) xfce4-power-manager-dev  12) xfce4-session
   13) xfce4-settings  14) xfce4-terminal  15) xfconf  16) xfdesktop  17) xfwm4
   18) xfwm4-themes

Enter a selection (default=all): 
and select all!

If you want to create xzm then:

Code: Select all

pman -S xfce4
and proceed to all again. Then put the xzm file to modules as usual.


Same for lxqt:

Code: Select all

root /home/guest #
pacman -S lxqt
:: There are 16 members in group lxqt:
:: Repository community
   1) lximage-qt  2) lxqt-about  3) lxqt-common  4) lxqt-config
   5) lxqt-globalkeys  6) lxqt-notificationd  7) lxqt-openssh-askpass
   8) lxqt-panel  9) lxqt-policykit  10) lxqt-powermanagement  11) lxqt-qtplugin
   12) lxqt-runner  13) lxqt-session  14) lxqt-sudo  15) openbox  16) pcmanfm-qt

Enter a selection (default=all): 


There could be more installed, like KDE, JWM etc. but not tested.


edit: JWM also installed and seems to work:

Code: Select all

pman -S jwm jwm-documentation jwmconf jwmtools manjaro-jwm-settings
...reboot
select desktop environment at your login screen...

enjoy!




(for admins: you can edit anything in this tutorial)
Last edited by istinnjazz on 22 Jun 2016, 09:10, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Post#2 by francois » 17 Jun 2016, 02:38

Thanks a lot for this howto. :D

I followed the instructions. I am working from a nemesis vbox install. Unable to get a browser to go.

Following your instructions, all seem to go fine until I use:

Code: Select all

pacman -S pacman
error duplicated database entry archlinux-keyring
error duplicated database entry manjaro-keyring
package-query: requires pacman <4.3
...
Trying to downgrade pacman, see:

In /var/cache/pacman/pkg there is only pacman-5.0.1-4??
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/do ... g_packages
Any suggestion?
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
istinnjazz
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 115
Joined: 15 May 2016, 14:10
Distribution: Manjaro-OpenRC/Nemesis

Re: Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Post#3 by istinnjazz » 17 Jun 2016, 18:12

I have seen those errors too.
No, do not downgrade pacman, you will not be able to upgrade anything later.
Try

Code: Select all

ls /var/lib/pacman/local/ | grep manjaro-keyring
ls /var/lib/pacman/local/ | grep archlinux-keyring
and if you find duplicated files, delete the outdated.
I think package-query is a package dependency to pacman 5, upgrade this one also after clearing outdated keyring packages.
I suppose you would be prompt to update package-query also with pacman, I do not remember exactly.
Maybe you could do:

maybe:

Code: Select all

pacman -R package-query

Code: Select all

pacman -Syy pacman package-query
If you clear outdated keys and still have problems, you can also try to upgrade pacman/package-query with gui package manager.
Pacman recently had this major update to version 5, I do not know if those keyring issues has to do with this.

" /var/cache/pacman/pkg there is only pacman-5.0.1-4"

Be careful not to confuse pacman cache and installed packages metadata directories, this is the downloaded package cache, its existence do not mean that it has been installed. It will be used if you will call it again. It could be used also for downgrade purposes in the future if you will not clear the package cache.
Last edited by istinnjazz on 22 Jun 2016, 08:31, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
istinnjazz
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 115
Joined: 15 May 2016, 14:10
Distribution: Manjaro-OpenRC/Nemesis

Re: Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Post#4 by istinnjazz » 19 Jun 2016, 15:44

Let's keep this tutorial away of keyring issues, I had opened a new topic especially for this:
http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5971

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Post#5 by francois » 21 Jun 2016, 07:10

Thanks for your procedure. But I never got to straighten up the system. Maybe I did not try enough.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
istinnjazz
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 115
Joined: 15 May 2016, 14:10
Distribution: Manjaro-OpenRC/Nemesis

Re: Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Post#6 by istinnjazz » 22 Jun 2016, 09:03

Original part deleted from this topic, and moved
Updated: http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5971

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: Install multiple desktop environments for Nemesis HOWTO

Post#7 by francois » 17 Dec 2016, 19:28

Blaze has provided a very simple way of updating nemesis http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=137&t=6459

In addition, blaze and ncmprhnsbl are leading a minimalist upgrade method of nemesis which brings it back to 290 MB http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=137&t=6462
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

Post Reply