Arch based Porteus community project

Moderator: M. Eerie

guest253
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: Poreteus Nemesis

Questions about Porteus Nemsis

Post#1 by guest253 » 28 Feb 2016, 21:44

I am still pretty new to Porteus and linux in general and I have a couple questions that I want to ask.

For reference, I am currently running Porteus Nemesis on my hard drive in my laptop.
  1. From what I understand, Porteus Nemesis is based on Manjaro, which is based on Arch. Since Arch is a rolling release distro and since the same goes for Manjaro, is Porteus Nemesis also a rolling distro? When new versions of Porteus Nemesis comes out, will I be able to simply update to the latest versions, or will I still have to reinstal Porteus nemesis?
  2. In Porteus Nemesis, what is the difference between pman and pacaur? From what I understand from this post, pman does not save changes but produces modules, while pacaur saves changes but does not produce modules. I used "pman -S firefox" to install firefox and although I got a message that said somthing along the lines of "modules folder cout not be found. Changes will not be saved", I still had firefox after a reboot. Also, I did have "changes=/porteus" in my 'porteus.cfg' file but, I still got that warning message and there was nothing in my modules folder. I checked my modules folder and it was indeed empty.
  3. Following up on #2, for running Porteus Nemesis on a internal hard drive, is it recommended to use pman of pacuar? Both seem to do the same thing to me. Changes are saved and I cannot find any new modules.

brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops

Re: Questions about Porteus Nemsis

Post#2 by brokenman » 28 Feb 2016, 21:56

is Porteus Nemesis also a rolling distro?
Yes

When new versions of Porteus Nemesis comes out, will I be able to simply update to the latest versions, or will I still have to reinstal Porteus nemesis?