[Solved] Kiosk without network connection

'User made' tutorials related to Porteus Kiosk edition.
Official kiosk documentation can be find here: http://porteus-kiosk.org/documentation.html
Post Reply
edsulst
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Jun 2019, 09:11
Distribution: 3.7.0

[Solved] Kiosk without network connection

Post#1 by edsulst » 14 Jun 2019, 09:35

I want to run Porteus Kiosk without network connection.
I've run the installer and added the VNC and SSH modules so I can add files after I saved the iso to the usb drive so I can boot from it.
After I boot from usb I can upload local html files though WINSCP and all works fine, but as soon as I unplug the network cable and reboot the device I only see the Porteus splash screen for a short period and than the screen is blank.
I've checked if the html files have dependencies to the internet but that's not the case.
Even a simpel Hello in a .html file doesn't show up.
The only thing I can think of is the modules. Do they need an active internet connection ??

Can anybody please help me out.

Gr. Edwin.

(below is my configuration file)

Code: Select all

connection=wired
dhcp=yes
browser=chrome
hostname=kiosk_loods3
homepage=file:///var/www/localhost/index.html
enable_file_protocol=yes
disable_navigation_bar=yes
session_idle=5
wallpaper=file:///var/www/localhost/background.jpg
persistence=/var
timezone=Europe/Amsterdam
scheduled_action=Monday-18:00 Tuesday-18:00 Wednesday-18:00 Thursday-18:00 Friday-18:00 Saturday-18:00 Sunday-18:00 action:shutdown
shutdown_menu=shutdown reboot sleep restart-session
additional_components=08-ssh.xzm 09-x11vnc.xzm
root_password=****
vnc_password=****
vnc_interactive=yes
Last edited by edsulst on 14 Jun 2019, 11:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5174
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Kiosk without network connection

Post#2 by fanthom » 14 Jun 2019, 10:19

Hello edsulst,

Are you using 3.7.0 release or latest?

Please setup static IP otherwise kiosk will wait for 2 minutes for 'gateway check' function to time out.
Other than that - i see no reason why this setup would not work.

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

edsulst
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Jun 2019, 09:11
Distribution: 3.7.0

Kiosk without network connection

Post#3 by edsulst » 14 Jun 2019, 10:42

OK, so the problem may lay in the dhcp setting.

I'm using 3.7.0. It's not the latest version I know.
Is it better to upgrade to version 4 ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5174
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

[Solved] Kiosk without network connection

Post#4 by fanthom » 14 Jun 2019, 11:48

If your CPU is 64bit then latest kiosk version is always recommended (many bugs fixes and new features).

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply