Another Remote Server Management Issue

'User made' tutorials related to Porteus Kiosk edition.
Official kiosk documentation can be find here: http://porteus-kiosk.org/documentation.html
Post Reply
RBasil
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Apr 2019, 17:57
Distribution: KIOSK

Another Remote Server Management Issue

Post#1 by RBasil » 24 Apr 2019, 20:16

Just started testing the Kiosk and server under a 30 day trial.

Followed the documentation exactly but can't get this Kiosk to use the Kiosk servers remote config file. I've checked and rechecked all of my settings, I've reinstalled the Kiosk 10+ times and the Kiosk Premium server twice.

The server and Kiosk I am testing with are on the same local lan with no firewall in-between.

Other than the normal "Can't open config file" that others post about I'm also seeing this error when hard rebooting the Kiosk.

hush: can't open '/union/etc/ssh/sshd_config': No such file or directory

I checked the Kiosk machine and there is no sshd config file in this directory.

The issue is I am unable to wget to the Kiosk Premium server (even from the server itself) no matter which port I use.

Any ideas?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5086
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Another Remote Server Management Issue

Post#2 by fanthom » 24 Apr 2019, 21:54

Hello RBasil,

You are missing SSH component, please follow kiosk documentation carefully:
https://porteus-kiosk.org/server.html#troubleshooting

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

RBasil
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Apr 2019, 17:57
Distribution: KIOSK

Another Remote Server Management Issue

Post#3 by RBasil » 24 Apr 2019, 22:27

I added the additional_components=08-ssh.xzm 09-x11vnc.xzm to the config file and reinstalled the Kiosk client but nothing has changed.

RBasil
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Apr 2019, 17:57
Distribution: KIOSK

Another Remote Server Management Issue

Post#4 by RBasil » 24 Apr 2019, 22:35

Figured it out, added the UEFI to the config. The old computer I was testing the Kiosk on did not need it but of course this new Kiosk computer does. We don't turn legacy on in the BIOS.

Thanks. :)

Post Reply