[Solved] Porteus Kiosk on High DPI screens

'User made' tutorials related to Porteus Kiosk edition.
Official kiosk documentation can be find here: http://porteus-kiosk.org/documentation.html
Post Reply
CMGeorge
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Nov 2016, 21:02
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Wisconsin

[Solved] Porteus Kiosk on High DPI screens

Post#1 by CMGeorge » 08 Feb 2019, 22:57

What is the best way to handle running Porteus Kiosk on a High DPI screen, such as a Surface Pro 3/4? The user interface is very small in my initial attempt to run Kiosk on this hardware.

Is there a UI scaling option available? I'd prefer not to simply reduce the screen resolution, as that will obviously cause the screen to look not as sharp.

Would customizing the ISO be required, and if so, how?
Last edited by CMGeorge on 13 Feb 2019, 20:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4941
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk on High DPI screens

Post#2 by fanthom » 09 Feb 2019, 08:12

Please use parameters below.

1) For Firefox:

Code: Select all

run_command=grep -q "devPixelsPerPx" $profile/user.js || echo 'user_pref("layout.css.devPixelsPerPx", "1.5");' >> $profile/user.js
2) For Chrome:

Code: Select all

run_command=grep -q "scale-factor" $chflags || echo '--force-device-scale-factor=1.5' >> $chflags
You need to change '1.5' value to match your preferences.

I'll add 'default_zoom=x.x" parameter to next kiosk release so will be bit easier to set it.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply