On-screen keyboard by default.

'User made' tutorials related to Porteus Kiosk edition.
Official kiosk documentation can be find here: http://porteus-kiosk.org/documentation.html
Post Reply
rd94
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Dec 2018, 17:22
Distribution: 4.7

On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#1 by rd94 » 10 Dec 2018, 17:25

Can someone point me to a thread on getting an on-screen keyboard by default? Everything I find online points me to a thread link that defaults to the main forum page, and the search function isn't working for me. We are using these with touchscreen systems in an academic environment.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4988
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#2 by Ed_P » 10 Dec 2018, 18:30

Be sure the links you find start with https: rather than http: The forum is undergoing some maintenance.

On Screen Keyboard
Ed

rd94
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Dec 2018, 17:22
Distribution: 4.7

Re: On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#3 by rd94 » 10 Dec 2018, 18:48

Okay, thanks!

propmanager
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Dec 2018, 18:16
Distribution: Proteus Kiosk

Re: On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#4 by propmanager » 21 Dec 2018, 18:25

Ok I know just about zero linux.

I can't build a custom porteus.

Like the user in this thread I need a automatic virtual keyboard.

The steps outlined here are outside my abilities and time.

I have been looking around the web to find the best solution to make a Payment Kiosk for my tenants to make online payments via a third party online web service. I like Porteus the best of what I've seen. All I need is a secure kiosk that does nothing but direct to one website. Since it is public, a hardware keyboard is a bad option.

Is it possible to purchase a custom version with a virtual keyboard that launches by default?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5117
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#5 by fanthom » 23 Dec 2018, 11:34

@propmanager
Porteus Kiosk website has 'Customized Builds' page which explains the purchasing process:
https://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kaiser-admin
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Jan 2019, 09:33
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 4.8

Re: On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#6 by kaiser-admin » 08 Feb 2019, 13:32

Hello,

as i am in the middle of setup my systems i also need a virtual keyboard for my all-in-one-pcs.
Is it possible to just use the firefox internal onscreen keyboard?
On my pc with 58 ESR it is enabled by default with no usb keyboard attached (former prefs: ui.osk.detect_physical_keyboard=false, not found in Firefox 60)

Regards,
Thorsten

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5117
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#7 by fanthom » 08 Feb 2019, 13:54

"Is it possible to just use the firefox internal onscreen keyboard?"
As far as i know there is no such thing.

"On my pc with 58 ESR it is enabled by default"
Is it Windows? If yes then onscreen keyboard is a part of the operating system. We do not have it in Linux unfortunately.

You can add the virtual keyboard addon yourself to the ISO as explained in the thread linked by Ed_P.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

gr362
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Jun 2019, 19:43
Distribution: Fedora

On-screen keyboard by default.

Post#8 by gr362 » 16 Jun 2019, 20:28

fanthom wrote:
23 Dec 2018, 11:34
@propmanager
Porteus Kiosk website has 'Customized Builds' page which explains the purchasing process:
https://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html
This is the option I will probably pursue, just so I can do a demo.

Post Reply