Adding skype module to Porteus Kiosk

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Forum rules
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
manos
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: Porteus-Kiosk-5.0.0-x86_64

Post#1 by manos » 18 Jun 2020, 15:39

Hello there.

I'm new to porteus and slackware distros and i need some help if it's possible.
We are a small business and Porteus-Kiosk-5.0.0-x86_64 seems a pretty decent OS for our needs.
So far so good but what we need also is to make it possible for the users to use skypeforlinux because is essential for our kind of work.

Reading through the documentation i found that is possible to implement extra modules at xzm directory that is found inside the iso and then recreate the iso with that new module in it.
I followed the instruction on the documentation but for creating a skype module i followed these steps:

I used another live cd Porteus-KDE-v5.0rc1-x86_64 for creating the skype module.
Downloaded the skypeforlinux.deb from skype website. I then converted this skypeforlinux.deb to a module xzm with the tool that was inside the KDE Porteus distro deb2xzm.
It converted correctly the deb to xzm module.. I copied this module to xzm directory and after that i executed the make_iso.sh bash script and it managed to create the iso with the new skype.xzm module inside it.

After all these steps that i did, i wanna ask.. what should i do next to make the skype possible to run on Porteus Kiosk client version.