[kiosk] set password in shadow

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
sacarde
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Jan 2018, 20:25
Distribution: archlinux

[kiosk] set password in shadow

Post#1 by sacarde » 02 Feb 2018, 19:33

hi,
customizing porteus-kiosk...
if I would use password "12345" for root
what I have to insert in /etc/shadow ? (in password field)





thank you

sacarde
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Jan 2018, 20:25
Distribution: archlinux

[kiosk] set password in shadow

Post#2 by sacarde » 18 Feb 2018, 10:31

I try setting null password.. and this is OK

but, enabling ssh, I cant ssh-login with null password

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4663
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

[kiosk] set password in shadow

Post#3 by fanthom » 18 Feb 2018, 11:37

Whats wrong with setting up the password the official way?

Code: Select all

root_password=12345
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

sacarde
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Jan 2018, 20:25
Distribution: archlinux

[kiosk] set password in shadow

Post#4 by sacarde » 18 Feb 2018, 13:17

I followed FAQ #5

sacarde
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Jan 2018, 20:25
Distribution: archlinux

[kiosk] set password in shadow

Post#5 by sacarde » 21 Feb 2018, 09:57

fanthom wrote:
18 Feb 2018, 11:37
Whats wrong with setting up the password the official way?

Code: Select all

root_password=12345
OK , at configuration time this works

but if I wanted to change it after installation?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4663
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

[kiosk] set password in shadow

Post#6 by fanthom » 21 Feb 2018, 10:24

You need to enable remote management then:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/faq.html#3
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply