Kiosk for Mixxx

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Forum rules
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
Dauphin
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: 3.4.0

Kiosk for Mixxx

Post#1 by Dauphin » 19 Aug 2015, 12:09

Hello at all, first of all: I am a complete newby to Linux at all, so my questions may be a little dumb :-)
I am trying to set up a Kiosk system for only one application: to play music in a dance school.
The desired app would be Mixxx (see mixxx.org). Goal would be to have Mixxx running in fullscreen, no other app is possible, no internet access, only access to filed music on the HDD and an optional USB-Stick is necessary.

I do think that this is possible with Porteus Kiosk, isn´t it?
I downloaded Porteus Kiosk 3.4.0, run the wizard, saved the ISO, unpacked it, unsquashed 003-settings .... and now I am stuck. How do I implement an app like Mixxx in a newly created module? Th documents "Manual Kiosk customization" and "What are modules" are not of much help (to me as a newby). What is the necessary mixxx-file and where do I find it?

Thanks for your patience!
Dauphin

Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586

Re: Kiosk for Mixxx

Post#2 by Rava » 19 Aug 2015, 14:09

Hi Dauthin, Grüße aus Franken!

Ich habe nie Kiosk angepasst. And I have not loaded the newest version as well. But me thinks there is a Firefox module. And that after X starts, Firefox gets started as only app.