Page 1 of 2

Mate Desktop

Posted: 07 Oct 2013, 18:43
by ralcocer
I just gave MaTe Desktop a new try, however if I press the Desktop Icon in the desktop I get a " Unable to mount location" error , if I use /mnt and then try to open a a mounted drive then it works, I just downloaded this version this morning. Is there a way to show all mounted partitions with the file manager.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 08 Oct 2013, 12:53
by brokenman
however if I press the Desktop Icon in the desktop I get a " Unable to mount location" error
I don't understand. What 'Desktop icon'? Do you mean the 'Computer' icon? If so then this should open the file manager (caja) showing all mounted drives.

You can also open the file manager using the icon at the top of the screen, and then click on the little green computer icon in the file manager (at the top) which should give you a list of all mounted drives. I havn't seen this reported by anyone else, nor can i reproduce it and it is a fundamental operation of the file manager. For this reason I am moving thisthread out of bugs and into MATE desktop help.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 19 Nov 2013, 23:51
by phhpro
...

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 28 Feb 2014, 14:39
by ztealmax
Just a thought it might be when open filemanager at location [computer://] it shows all connected usb/drives/cdrom etc
but when clicking the drive containing the linux dist it will not open, but its not just on this dist , its just the way it works.
filesystem links on left side works as it should..

But as i said it was just a idea of what i thought he was thinking of?

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 01 Mar 2014, 18:50
by roadie
Clicking on the computer icon within Caja does show the mounted drives.....clicking on a mounted drive does give the error message mentioned, as it would because the drive is already mounted. The default action of Caja, on opening a drive, is to mount it.

roadie

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 12 Mar 2014, 21:23
by laikexpert
I don't see my partitions in the file manager?
Porteus-MATE-v3.0-i486
Porteus-MATE-v3.0-x86_64

Image

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3184#p22593

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 13 Mar 2014, 12:57
by brokenman
I answered your question in the other thread. This is the expected behaviour for Caja file manager and always has been. Click on 'File System' and then '/mnt'. You can add them to your favourites if you want to see them in the side panel. If you know how to get Caja to display partitions in the side panel then let me know.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 13 Mar 2014, 21:35
by laikexpert
brokenmanThanks for your help.

I m start topic about this in github
mate-desktop / caja
How to get Caja to display partitions in the side panel - Porteus MATE
https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/271

If you can look at and help with advice to better present the given problem.


All the best.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 14 Mar 2014, 00:14
by brokenman
Thanks. I am using the prebuilt slackware packages so I will rebuild caja from source against the version of gvfs in Porteus and see if I can get it to display partitions. The MATE version of Porteus is using udisks2 so hopefully we can get it to work. It would nice to see the partitions there.

EDIT:
We have gvfs compiled with udisks and udev support already. Caja is compiled against this gvfs so the problem is not here. What i noticed was that in the screenshot of the person that posted on github, there is a 'devices' section which i had never seen. When I manually compiled gvfs (not slackbuild) I noticed that the 'GDU volume monitor' was not being compiled. This may be because 'Gnome Disk Utility' is not installed in Porteus. I am looking for a version of GDU that compiles on Porteus and is recognized by the gvfs compile. Getting closer. Thank you for your report because I would never have noticed partitions could be shown in the panel otherwise.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 14 Mar 2014, 10:08
by laikexpert
brokenman Thanks for your work and help for better Porteus MATE.

For the purpose of finding solutions I post your answer on:
https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/271


For example only:
I m download and boot in live mode Linux Mint MATE 16
and I make screenshot
How Linux Mint MATE (default)
shows the partitions in file manager

Image


Glad to hear "Getting closer" solution of this problem.
I hope soon Porteus MATE that will solve this.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 14 Mar 2014, 13:38
by brokenman
It may help for the github discussion to know that Porteus is a slackware derivative.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 14 Mar 2014, 14:13
by laikexpert
Thanks
I post your answer on
https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/271

I hope that this will be solved soon.
All the best for Porteus MATE.

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 14 Mar 2014, 22:37
by brokenman
Thinking more about this, udisks2 should be taking care of volume monitoring. Please try a test for me.

Create a folder: mkdir /media/mypartition

Then mount a partition at this point: mount /dev/sda2 /media/mypartition

Does it show up in the side panel?

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 15 Mar 2014, 00:39
by brokenman
Confirmed. When I mount a partition in /media it shows as a 'device' in caja. I'll need to create a udisks rule to fix this for now. Thanks laikexpert!. :beer:

Re: Mate Desktop

Posted: 15 Mar 2014, 01:57
by brokenman
For now you can place this script in /opt/porteus-scripts (make it executable) and then call it from rc.local or the sysvinit scripts.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

## Remount partitions in /media so caja finds them
## Usage examples:
## remount.sh all
## remount sda3 sda4 hda5
## The last will remount sda3 sda4 hda5 in /media

## Check that all arguments are valid
[ -z $1 ] && exit 1

for a in $@; do
	# Only process if partition is valid
	[ `wc -c <<<$1` -lt 4 ] && continue
	if [[ `grep -o $a /proc/partitions` ]]; then
		# Sanitize input
		b=${a##*/}
		[[ `mount|grep $b` ]] && umount /dev/$b
		[ ! -d /media/$b ] && mkdir -p /media/$b
		mount /dev/$b /media/$b
	fi
done
udevadm control --reload 
In /etc/rc.d/rc.local you would put one of the following lines:

/opt/porteus-scripts/remount.sh all
/opt/porteus-scripts/remount.sh sda4 sdb5 sdb6


The first remounts ALL partitions under /media
The second remounts only the partitions you choose.

If you only want to run it sometimes then at the boot menu, hit tab and use the cheatcode: cliexec=/opt/porteus-scripts/remount.sh

Let me know if you need something more accurate using UUID.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/686 ... -mount.png