Porteus 5.0rc3 KDE boots to a blank screen

Get help with KDE specific problems
Post Reply
rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 277
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc3 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0rc3 KDE boots to a blank screen

Post#1 by rchase » 05 Mar 2022, 18:27

When I boot a fresh copy of Porteus 5.0rc3 KDE on an old iMac and on an old Dell laptop (Vostro 1000), I get a blank screen; if I hit the power button, a string of error messages appear and the machines shut down. Any suggestions?

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1228
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Porteus 5.0rc3 KDE boots to a blank screen

Post#2 by wread » 05 Mar 2022, 19:59

Hi rchase!
I had the same experience....but I found out how to get my machine up and running. This very moment I even started my laptop as follows:
1. Start the machine in text mode,
2. Login as root, passwd is toor. (I need to be root to setup my favorite programs, ok?)
3. Start the X server by typing "xinit", as it should be...
4. Then you must move the cursor on the top left corner until it changes to an "x", as it should be...
5. Now you type "startx" and voila!, it is up and running!

Try it, it works!

P.S: By the way, many applications ask for the package kde-gtk. I added them to my 002-xorg-extra.xzm.
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply