Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Rapha_
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 238
Joined: 12 Jun 2021, 21:59
Distribution: Xfce 4.12 - 5.rc3 - x86_64
Location: France

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#1 by Rapha_ » 11 Jul 2021, 23:58

The latest Porteus ISO images do not boot from an USB key in multi boot with a bootloader like Ventoy (in Legacy BIOS mode) :

- Porteus-XFCE-v5.0rc2-x86_64.iso
- Porteus-XFCE-v5.0rc3-x86_64.iso


While it works fine on previous versions:

- Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso (and others desktops)
- Porteus-XFCE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso


At boot time, the Syslinux Menu appears and allows to choose options but very quickly the system freezes:

Code: Select all

^searching for porteus-v5.0-x86_64.cfg file
^device not ready yet ? delaying 1 seconds

Porteus data not found.
You are maybe using an unsupported boot device 

Code: Select all

sh: can't access tty; job control turned off

Here is apparently no reason for it do not to be able to find the files in the "syslinux" folder (e.g.: vmlinuz or initrd.xz) since it has already found "porteus.cfg" and the same for the files in the
folder and subfolders of "porteus" (ex: porteus-v5.0-x86_64.cfg) since it is the same tree of the one of Porteus installed on hard disk (or on usb) and which works very well



it's not practical for most people but in fact I was able to by-pass the bug by modifying the "porteus.cfg" files of the v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3 ISOs like this:

Code: Select all

LABEL Option_ISO
MENU LABEL Option Iso
KERNEL /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
INITRD /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
APPEND from=/dev/sdb1/Porteus-XFCE-v5.0rc3-x86_64.iso
TEXT HELP
    from=/dev/sdb1/Porteus-XFCE-v5.0rc3-x86_64.iso
ENDTEXT
--> And it's now working very well !

I guess the bug comes from the last 2 versions of "initrd.xz" scripts...

in any case, it is a pity that last version of Porteus cannot be tested easily by a large number of people with systems such as Ventoy (90%+ distros in distrowatch.com supported * )



Rapha

*
Last edited by Ed_P on 12 Jul 2021, 02:01, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed an unnecessary link.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#2 by Ed_P » 12 Jul 2021, 02:00

I find the searching and delay problem occurs when I don't shutdown Windows before rebooting. Selecting Restart causes Windows to hibernate which somehow interferes with rebooting ISOs. I use Grub2Win to multi-boot numerous ISOs and have never heard of Ventoy until recently. You should ask the Ventoy programmer if he has plans to update it to grub2 for modern ISOs.

Added in 11 hours 23 minutes 54 seconds:
Rapha, this posting shows how to boot rc3 using grub. You should try raja's grub code in with your systems.
Booting porteus-5.0rc3 with Grub boot loader

Added in 4 hours 29 minutes 40 seconds:
And these grub2 menus work for booting 4.0 USB installs. I haven't done an install of 5.0 to a USB drive yet.

Code: Select all

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 USB - AF'" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set porteus_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold extramod=/Modules;/Modsavedat noload=save.dat

     set bootdrv=$root
     search -f /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz --set=root
     if [ $root != $bootdrv ]; then
        linux  /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz $porteus_parms
        initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     else
        echo "----------------------------------------"
        echo USB drive NOT found.
        echo
        sleep -v -i 10
     fi
     set root=$bootdrv
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 USB - EFI" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set bootmgr=/EFI/boot/bootx64.efi          #grubx64.efi    

     set bootdrv=$root
     search -f $bootmgr --set=root
     if [ $root != $bootdrv ]; then
        chainloader $bootmgr
     else
        echo "----------------------------------------"
        echo USB drive NOT found.
        echo
        sleep -v -i 10
     fi
     set root=$bootdrv
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 USB - syslinux" --class slackware --class icon-porteus {

     set bootmgr=/boot/syslinux/isolinux.bin

     set bootdrv=$root
     search -f $bootmgr --set=root
     if [ $root != $bootdrv ]; then
        syslinux_source $bootmgr
        syslinux_configfile /boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg
     else
        echo "----------------------------------------"
        echo USB drive NOT found.
        echo
        sleep -v -i 10
     fi 
     set root=$bootdrv
     }
Ed

Rapha_
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 238
Joined: 12 Jun 2021, 21:59
Distribution: Xfce 4.12 - 5.rc3 - x86_64
Location: France

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#3 by Rapha_ » 16 Jul 2021, 13:37

As I said, I can load now Porteus-XFCE-v5.0rc3-x86_64.iso (but I have to modify the ISO to boot on it )
And in general, Ventoy is very convenient to use !

Ed_P wrote:
12 Jul 2021, 17:54
You should ask the Ventoy programmer if he has plans to update it to grub2 for modern ISOs
Ventoy is based on grub2 and it is regularly updated every month...

I use Grub2Win
I don't use Grub2...But I use a little Grub2Win, and the problem is worse to load ISO (on Bios system) with it : Settings are fastidious and same bug (not only with V5)

And these grub2 menus work for booting 4.0 USB installs
I don't know how to add raja's grub code (or yours) , because grub2.fg is not allowed to be modified (and anyway, it erases what is added)


The Syslinux menu is already in the ISO, why make a script to remake it ?

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#4 by Ed_P » 16 Jul 2021, 15:27

I'm confused. I boot Porteus ISOs, 4.0 & 5.0rc and others, without modifying the syslinux menu.
Rapha_ wrote:
16 Jul 2021, 13:37
I don't know how to add raja's grub code (or yours) , because grub2.fg is not allowed to be modified (and anyway, it erases what is added)
I don't know about raja's code but the code I posted is grub2 grub.cfg code.

Oh, you're saying Ventoy erases what is manually added to the grub.cfg code it creates. Does Ventoy not support user code!! Grub2Win overwrites the grub.cfg file it creates also which wipes out changes made manually to it, which I do frequently :happy62: , but the author modified his app to allow for user code to be included from outside grub2. In my cfg file I have:

Code: Select all

submenu     'Porteus 4.0                                                    '                 --class submenu   --class icon-porteus  {
     set gfxpayload=1024x768
     export gfxpayload
     savelast 2 'Porteus 4.0'
     # 
     source $prefix/userfiles/Edsconfigs/Porteus4.0.cfg
#     source ($root)/grub2/userfiles/Eds.configs/Porteus4.0.cfg
     #
}
See if Ventoy supports the 'source' ability and/or the ability to have user code. Or plans to support the new initrd.xz formats. Certainly better options than having to change the code in ISOs.
Ed

Rapha_
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 238
Joined: 12 Jun 2021, 21:59
Distribution: Xfce 4.12 - 5.rc3 - x86_64
Location: France

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#5 by Rapha_ » 16 Jul 2021, 16:17

No, I don't touch Ventoy configs files !

In Grub2Win the configs files I edit are in "grub2/windata/customconfigs/"

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#6 by Ed_P » 16 Jul 2021, 17:35

Rapha_ wrote:
16 Jul 2021, 16:17
No, I don't touch Ventoy configs files !
It's got to be easier than "touching" ISO files. I take it Ventoy only executes when you add a new ISO and not every boot, same as Grub2Win. Which means once it has created a new grub.cfg file you can tweak the file and it will stay until the next run of Ventoy. Again, easier to do then modifying ISOs.

Ideally though, Ventoy should support adding user code and menus.
Rapha_ wrote:
16 Jul 2021, 16:17
In Grub2Win the configs files I edit are in "grub2/windata/customconfigs/"
Interesting. My folder is empty. What version of Grub2Win do you have?

And for your original problem try Shutting Down Windows rather than Rebooting Windows before rebooting a Porteus ISO.
Ed

Rapha_
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 238
Joined: 12 Jun 2021, 21:59
Distribution: Xfce 4.12 - 5.rc3 - x86_64
Location: France

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#7 by Rapha_ » 16 Jul 2021, 18:48

I take it Ventoy only executes when you add a new ISO and not every boot, same as Grub2Win. Which means once it has created a new grub.cfg file you can tweak the file and it will stay until the next run of Ventoy.
No configuration file (the 2nd partition of the USB key) has changed since its installation (April 2021)

There are possibilities for the advanced users to make adjustments but I haven't looked yet...

Interesting. My folder is empty. What version of Grub2Win do you have?
Last one (updated)

And for your original problem try Shutting Down Windows rather than Rebooting Windows before rebooting a Porteus ISO.
I avoid reloading Windows it's too long...I edit .cfg files from Porteus and for re-boot too from it (the problems don't come from there)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#8 by Ed_P » 16 Jul 2021, 20:19

Rapha_ wrote:
16 Jul 2021, 18:48
I avoid reloading Windows it's too long...I edit .cfg files from Porteus and for re-boot too from it (the problems don't come from there)
If the last time you shutdown Windows was via Reboot the "device not ready" problem can continue for months until you actually use ShutDown on it. Rebooting other systems won't resolve it. And since you "edit .cfg files" edit the grub.cfg file to fix some of the boot problems you're having. ;)
Ed

Rapha_
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 238
Joined: 12 Jun 2021, 21:59
Distribution: Xfce 4.12 - 5.rc3 - x86_64
Location: France

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#9 by Rapha_ » 17 Jul 2021, 17:00

If the last time you shutdown Windows was via Reboot the "device not ready" problem can continue for months until you actually use ShutDown on it.
I turn off the computer every days from Windows... :D
edit the grub.cfg file to fix some of the boot problems you're having
As we said, grub2.cfg is not allowed to be modified...And grub2 software seem to be too much complex for me (I am not a programmer) :(

Rapha_
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 238
Joined: 12 Jun 2021, 21:59
Distribution: Xfce 4.12 - 5.rc3 - x86_64
Location: France

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#10 by Rapha_ » 17 Jul 2021, 17:04

I Have to try this ...
Memdisk Mode

In normal mode, Ventoy will only read the iso file at booting time, and only read the content needed for boot. Ventoy works well in normal case, but not 100%. On some machines (especially in Legacy BIOS mode) there may be problems.
In Memdisk mode, Ventoy will load the whole ISO file into memory and boot it. This will take up some additional memory, but with higher success rate to boot.
( Source : https://www.ventoy.net/en/doc_memdisk.html )

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#11 by Ed_P » 17 Jul 2021, 18:55

Rapha_ wrote:
17 Jul 2021, 17:00
I turn off the computer every days from Windows...
But that is not the same as Windows Shutting Down. Easy enough to try to see if it fixes your problem.
Rapha_ wrote:
17 Jul 2021, 17:00
As we said, grub2.cfg is not allowed to be modified...And grub2 software seem to be too much complex for me
Yes, but nothing is preventing you from tweaking it. And changing a grub2 menu, not adding or deleting, to boot the ISO is not much different that the changes you make to the sysclient menu.

Added in 4 minutes 43 seconds:
Rapha_ wrote:
17 Jul 2021, 17:04
I Have to try this ...
Memdisk Mode

In normal mode, Ventoy will only read the iso file at booting time, and only read the content needed for boot. Ventoy works well in normal case, but not 100%. On some machines (especially in Legacy BIOS mode) there may be problems.
In Memdisk mode, Ventoy will load the whole ISO file into memory and boot it. This will take up some additional memory, but with higher success rate to boot.
Interesting. So grub2 isn't being booted, Ventoy is. :o But Memdisk Mode sounds like a good option for you to try with the Porteus ISOs.
Ed

Rapha_
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 238
Joined: 12 Jun 2021, 21:59
Distribution: Xfce 4.12 - 5.rc3 - x86_64
Location: France

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#12 by Rapha_ » 19 Jul 2021, 16:01

Memdisk Mode sounds like a good option for you to try with the Porteus ISOs
I just tested Memdisk Mode with these 2 ISOs, and it doesn't bring any improvement

User avatar
M. Eerie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 618
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: Nemesis Xfce/MATE x64

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#13 by M. Eerie » 22 Oct 2021, 08:39

I've found that my Kingston DataTraveler USB 3.0 stick doesn't boot *in BIOS mode* (it works ok in UEFI), while my Sandisk is perfectly booting both in UEFI/BIOS modes.

That's weird.
> Does not compute_ 🖖

https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?p=94310#p94310
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?p=84002#p84002
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?p=77174#p77174
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=8584

nanZor
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 381
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.01 x86-64 LXQT

Boot failure on the last 2 ISO images v5.0rc2 and v5.0rc3

Post#14 by nanZor » 31 Dec 2021, 05:03

Going a bit OT, but since windows shutting down as a problem that can crop up ...

Sometimes even if you shutdown, if your bios is defaulted to "Fast boot" or something similar, when you shutdown windows, the filesystem is in a hibernate-state, not a full shutdown.

But I didn't care, UNTIL I booted Gparted Live, and watched the boot messages warn me that the ntfs filesystem was in a hibernation-state, and trying to access the ntfs filesystem could easily lead to corruption, inability to read etc.

Amazingly, gparted's boot warning about it also displayed the hint to turn OFF any form of fast-boot. Which I did, even though I had no intention of accessing ntfs with Porteus anyway.

I found that in some of my cheap boxes, the default bios setting was for fast-boot, which gparted warns as a potential problem. Disable it now.

Just a side comment on something brought up in the thread in case it helps.
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

Post Reply