Page 1 of 1

Browser update

Posted: 12 Mar 2021, 20:43
by Ed_P
Cinnamon 4.0 64-bit Firefox 78.6.1esr upgrading to 86.0.1

Code: Select all

firefox/plugin-container.sig
firefox/firefox.sig
firefox/libxul.so.sig
 Linking firefox binary ... 
/tmp/portff
 Copying firefox files ... 
 Creating default settings ... 
 Copying config files ... 
cp: cannot stat '/home/guest/files/*': No such file or directory
chown: cannot access '/tmp/portff/ff.3901/home/guest': No such file or directory
Adding home page ...
Creating module ...
Problem?? :%)

Browser update

Posted: 13 Mar 2021, 02:06
by ncmprhnsbl
Ed_P wrote:
12 Mar 2021, 20:43
Problem??
you mean this bit? :

Code: Select all

Copying config files ... 
cp: cannot stat '/home/guest/files/*': No such file or directory
chown: cannot access '/tmp/portff/ff.3901/home/guest': No such file or directory
just some redundant lines in the script.. you get a new firefox module in /tmp, right? (i do)
have commented those lines now in the script on the server..

Browser update

Posted: 13 Mar 2021, 05:25
by Ed_P
Yes, I got a new firefox module in /tmp and am using it as I write this.

A strange thing is a desktop file opening a webpage in firefox now doesn't open the url, it just brings up a firefox window with no open tabs. I don't know if it's a firefox 86.0.1 problem or a nucleus 5.11.6 problem since both are new at this point. :%)

Added in 11 minutes :
I don't have the problem with the desktop file using firefox 86.0.1 in Porteus 4.0. :o

Added in 1 day 10 hours 31 minutes 20 seconds:
Ed_P wrote:
13 Mar 2021, 05:36
A strange thing is a desktop file opening a webpage in firefox now doesn't open the url, it just brings up a firefox window with no open tabs. I don't know if it's a firefox 86.0.1 problem or a nucleus 5.11.6 problem since both are new at this point.
And today it works. :%) :unknown:

Browser update

Posted: 02 Jun 2021, 17:46
by Rava
I just ran update-browser -d -p with a manually downloaded palemoon-29.2.0.linux-x86_64-gtk3.tar.xz and got these errors:

Code: Select all

xargs: warning: options --max-args and --replace/-I/-i are mutually exclusive, ignoring previous --max-args value
xargs: warning: options --max-args and --replace/-I/-i are mutually exclusive, ignoring previous --max-args value
They come here:

Code: Select all

[…]
'palemoon/defaults/pref' -> '/Porteus_modules/5.0/palemoon/.pale.21574/package-palemoon/opt/palemoon/defaults/pref'
'palemoon/defaults/pref/channel-prefs.js' -> '/Porteus_modules/5.0/palemoon/.pale.21574/package-palemoon/opt/palemoon/defaults/pref/channel-prefs.js'
Setting Porteus Forum to Homepage
Adding home page ...
Fixing permissions ...
xargs: warning: options --max-args and --replace/-I/-i are mutually exclusive, ignoring previous --max-args value
xargs: warning: options --max-args and --replace/-I/-i are mutually exclusive, ignoring previous --max-args value
Setting libmozavutil.so as executable ...
Setting libnspr4.so as executable ...
Setting run-mozilla.sh as executable ...
Setting libxul.so as executable ...
Setting libsoftokn3.so as executable ...
[…]
Is that an issue?

Browser update

Posted: 02 Jun 2021, 22:46
by ncmprhnsbl
Rava wrote:
02 Jun 2021, 17:46
Is that an issue?
not really, because "ignoring previous --max-args value" does no harm.. have seen this in a lot of scripts recently, i guess that with some recent xargs update 'the rules' have been tightened around this...
and technically, a warning is not an error :)
i will get around to cleaning this up, though .. thanks

Browser update

Posted: 02 Jun 2021, 23:42
by Rava
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
02 Jun 2021, 22:46
have seen this in a lot of scripts recently, i guess that with some recent xargs update 'the rules' have been tightened around this...
and technically, a warning is not an error :)
i will get around to cleaning this up, though .. thanks
Makes sense that they changed the code when the warnings are all over the place.
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
02 Jun 2021, 22:46
because "ignoring previous --max-args value" does no harm..
When your code explicitly relies on the old behaviour, it can be the start of a bug.

Anyhow, I have a script question: Since it is off topic, I PM you, hopefully you have a tip for me. :)