Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1735
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#226 by donald » 10 Dec 2020, 06:22

@Rava
regarding plugin-registry

What happens because of the plugin-registry file supplied if you boot porteus
on this or that PC?
Nobody had known beforehand with which hardware porteus will be used.
So which settings were selected in this file doesn't really matter, does it?

If you just want to have the GTK-Gui as default, delete the plugin-registry file,
open/close audacious and you get a new "default" plugin-registry file.

IMO it doesn't matter if you change the settings afterwards and boot a different PC.

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1631
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#227 by fulalas » 10 Dec 2020, 08:10

@Rava, I tried here and I could replicate your issue. Running this fixed the problem:

Code: Select all

sudo su
cache-module
You probably should save the cache module and get it from /tmp then put it in your module or base folder :)

Since this is a nice finding, I'll add this package to Xfce and LXDE so it'll work out of the box. :good:

Thanks!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2853
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#228 by Rava » 10 Dec 2020, 12:14

donald wrote:
10 Dec 2020, 06:22
If you just want to have the GTK-Gui as default, delete the plugin-registry file,
open/close audacious and you get a new "default" plugin-registry file.
I just want audacious using the GTK interface from the start.
I look into what kind of generic setup audacious comes with, maybe it ships with a minimal plugin-registry file where I can set the GUI to GTK…
It must have the GUI interface preference stored somehow.
______________________________________
fulalas wrote:
10 Dec 2020, 08:10

Code: Select all

sudo su
cache-module
You probably should save the cache module and get it from /tmp then put it in your module or base folder :)
Never manually used cache-module. Got me intrigued… nice what

Code: Select all

less /sbin/cache-module
tells me. :good: :celebrate3:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1631
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#229 by fulalas » 10 Dec 2020, 21:25

@Rava, here it goes:

Xfce 4.14 for RC2:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/r8boyzc2 ... 201211.xzm

Xfce 4.12 for RC2 (for performance maniacs like me :P):
https://www.mediafire.com/file/ld8rylhv ... 201211.xzm

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1735
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#230 by donald » 10 Dec 2020, 22:58

Rava, unpack the module containing the plugin-registry file -- should be 003-xfce i think,
adjust the values - I told you which - and repack the module...done.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2853
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#231 by Rava » 11 Dec 2020, 05:46

^ will do.
Once again my lsxzmgrep comes in handy:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sdb/Porteus_5.0rc2/porteus/base# lsxzmgrep . plugin-registry
./003-xfce-4.12-20201108.xzm
/home/guest/.config/audacious/plugin-registry
./003-xfce-4.12-20201108.xzm
/root/.config/audacious/plugin-registry
_________________________________________
fulalas wrote:
10 Dec 2020, 21:25
@Rava, here it goes:

Xfce 4.14 for RC2:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/r8boyzc2 ... 201211.xzm

Xfce 4.12 for RC2 (for performance maniacs like me :P):
https://www.mediafire.com/file/ld8rylhv ... 201211.xzm
What's the difference? Is Xfce 4.12 for RC2 (for performance maniacs like you and me :P) just coloured Ferrari yellow? :pardon:
_________________________________________

besides XFCE's standard editor mousepad I also have geany and leafpad activated, and good so:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# touch dummy.txt
root@porteus:~# l dummy.txt
-rw-r--r-- 1 root 0 2020-12-11 06:18 dummy.txt
root@porteus:~# leafpad dummy.txt
root@porteus:~# cat dummy.txt
leafpad was here!
root@porteus:~# mousepad dummy.txt
Failed to initialize xfconfroot@porteus:~# cat dummy.txt
leafpad was here!
root@porteus:~# geany dummy.txt
root@porteus:~# cat dummy.txt
leafpad was here!
geany was here!
My versions of geany and leafpad are the unaltered ones in use for ages since some years old 5.0-pre-rc1 version:

Code: Select all

root 3227648 2015-01-05 09:29 021-geany-1.23.1-x86_64-1gv.xzm
root   94208 2019-05-22 07:19 030-leafpad-0.8.18.1-x86_64-2ponce.xzm
Is there a quick fix to get mousepad running as root?

This time cache-module is no help.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1631
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#232 by fulalas » 11 Dec 2020, 07:24

Rava wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 05:46
Is there a quick fix to get mousepad running as root?
Yes. Always Fresh mode :)

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2853
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#233 by Rava » 11 Dec 2020, 10:30

fulalas wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 07:24
Rava wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 05:46
Is there a quick fix to get mousepad running as root?
Yes. Always Fresh mode :)
Umm I always run my Porteus in Always Fresh Mode - no changes saved , only manual selected few settings saved via rootcopy/ or rootcopy.xzm.

So, mousepad should be running as root okay, then why is it not?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 304
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 5.0-RC1
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#234 by roadie » 11 Dec 2020, 18:13

fulalas wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 07:24
Rava wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 05:46
Is there a quick fix to get mousepad running as root?
Yes. Always Fresh mode :)

I was getting the error in Always Fresh mode.....base_only, norootcopy, as well as Standard mode. I fixed it by adding /etc/machine-id, or /var/lib/dbus/machine-id.

It now works fine with rootcopy and modules enabled. Thunar will give the same error if that file is not in place.

EDIT:

Running the following generates the file.

Code: Select all

dbus-uuidgen --ensure=/etc/machine-id

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2853
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#235 by Rava » 11 Dec 2020, 20:39

roadie wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 18:13
Running the following generates the file.

Code: Select all

dbus-uuidgen --ensure=/etc/machine-id
Did create it:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/live/memory/images# dbus-uuidgen --ensure=/etc/machine-id
root@porteus:/mnt/live/memory/images# cd 
root@porteus:~# mousepad dummy.txt
Failed to initialize xfconfroot@porteus:~# l /etc/machine-id
-rw-r--r-- 1 root 33 2020-12-11 21:29 /etc/machine-id
root@porteus:~# file /etc/machine-id
/etc/machine-id: ASCII text
root@porteus:~# thunar
Thunar: Failed to initialize Xfconf: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.

Error creating proxy: The connection is closed (g-io-error-quark, 18)
Error creating proxy: The connection is closed (g-io-error-quark, 18)
Error creating proxy: The connection is closed (g-io-error-quark, 18)
Error creating proxy: The connection is closed (g-io-error-quark, 18)

(thunar:31834): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: 21:31:14.008: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(thunar:31834): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: 21:31:14.009: g_signal_handler_disconnect: assertion 'G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed
thunar works, mousepad not.

I copy my 5.0rc2 files with old kernel for my Nvidia driver to a 2nd USB stick and check out 5.0rc2 on a different machine, either tomorrow or Sunday.
And report if there is also the mousepad as root issue. :)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 304
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 5.0-RC1
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#236 by roadie » 11 Dec 2020, 21:11

Rava,

I don't now think the issue is the lack of that file as /etc/rc.messagebus runs that command when starting dbus. It places the file in /var/lib/dbus and applications look there or /etc......it should already be in place.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2788
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#237 by ncmprhnsbl » 11 Dec 2020, 21:58

in order to launch a mousepad instance from a root terminal in a guest x session you need to:

Code: Select all

# dbus-launch --exit-with-session mousepad dummy.txt
--
with a root thunar instance( in a guest x session), mousepad just works..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2853
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#238 by Rava » 12 Dec 2020, 00:17

roadie wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 21:11
I don't now think the issue is the lack of that file as /etc/rc.messagebus runs that command when starting dbus. It places the file in /var/lib/dbus and applications look there or /etc......it should already be in place.
Thanks, I was unaware of these details. :friends:
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
11 Dec 2020, 21:58
in order to launch a mousepad instance from a root terminal in a guest x session you need to:

Code: Select all

# dbus-launch --exit-with-session mousepad dummy.txt
--
with a root thunar instance( in a guest x session), mousepad just works..

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# dbus-launch --exit-with-session mousepad dummy.txt
dbus[17508]: Unable to set up transient service directory: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR "/var/run/user/1000" is owned by uid 1000, not our uid 0
root@porteus:~# cat dummy.txt
leafpad was here!
geany was here!
mousepad was here!
Thanks ncmprhnsbl, that does the trick. :Yahoo!: :beer:

I am wondering… one could replace mousepad binary with a script also called mousepad? While leaving the original /usr/bin/mousepad as it is.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# echo $PATH
/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin
root@porteus:~# fw mousepad
/usr/bin/mousepad: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2, stripped
root@porteus:~# fw fw
/usr/local/bin/fw: Bourne-Again shell script, ASCII text executable
root@porteus:~# cat /usr/local/bin/fw
#!/bin/bash
VERSION="0.3"
MYNAME="fw (file-which)"

test ! "$ECHO_COLORS"x = "x" && test -f $ECHO_COLORS && . $ECHO_COLORS

if [ $# -ne 1 ]; then
    echo -e $yel$bld$MYNAME$off$yel V$VERSION$off
    echo -e $bld${red}"You must specify *one* filename for which!"$off
    exit 1
else
    file `which "$1"` 2>/dev/null
    errorcode=$?
    if [ $errorcode -ne 0 ]; then
        echo -e $yel$bld$MYNAME$off$yel V$VERSION$off
	echo -e $bld$red"Errorcode $errorcode returned!
(Errormessage of \`file\` is suppressed)"$off
	exit 2
    fi
fi

exit 0
Since roots $PATH starts with /usr/local/sbin - wouldn't a script called /usr/local/sbin/mousepad not be the one being executed when a user just tries executing "mousepad" in a root xterminal?

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# touch /usr/local/sbin/mousepad
root@porteus:~# chmod u+x /usr/local/sbin/mousepad
root@porteus:~# l /usr/local/sbin/mousepad
-rwxr--r-- 1 root 0 2020-12-12 00:53 /usr/local/sbin/mousepad
root@porteus:~# leafpad /usr/local/sbin/mousepad
root@porteus:~# cat /usr/local/sbin/mousepad
#!/bin/sh
echo I am $0
As you can see, I created /usr/local/sbin/mousepad as dummy script with a debug output.

Code: Select all

echo I am $0
should be replaced with

Code: Select all

dbus-launch --exit-with-session /usr/bin/mousepad $*
but…

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# mousepad
Failed to initialize xfconfroot@porteus:~#
my system still tries executing /usr/bin/mousepad and not /usr/local/sbin/mousepad .

I presume some kind of caching of already known locations of programs are to be blamed for that.

I do not recall how to reset such info, so when root xterm tries to execute a mere "mousepad" /usr/local/sbin/mousepad gets executed and not /usr/bin/mousepad .

Any ideas how to get bash into doing so?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2788
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#239 by ncmprhnsbl » 12 Dec 2020, 00:30

Rava wrote:
12 Dec 2020, 00:17
Any ideas how to get bash into doing so?
why not just use an alias in roots .bashrc ?
alias mpad=dbus-launch --exit-with-session /usr/bin/mousepad

EDIT
and looking into this a bit further has revealed that this happens only with su, but not with sudo (or sudo su)
eg.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# mousepad test.txt
Failed to initialize xfconf
or even

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su -c mousepad test.txt
Password: 
Failed to initialize xfconf
but

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo su
Password:
root@porteus:/home/guest# mousepad test.txt
works without issue
also

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo su -c "mousepad test.txt"
works too..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2853
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc2 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#240 by Rava » 12 Dec 2020, 04:04

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
12 Dec 2020, 00:30
why not just use an alias in roots .bashrc ?
alias mpad=dbus-launch --exit-with-session /usr/bin/mousepad
I use both users (root + guest) .bashrc to load my extensive alias and function file… so I will not put the mousepad alias in my file but like you suggest: an extra line only in /root/.bashrc
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply