Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2708
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#196 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Nov 2020, 23:07

evergreen wrote:
17 Nov 2020, 18:25
To fix the dialog of blank password are not allowed. I did a short modification
thanks :), i'll check it out
evergreen wrote:
17 Nov 2020, 18:25
I would like to learn Python to help for now I cant do too much
my first ever pygobject3 script was done in march of this year (the logout dialog for openbox) :D ... so if i can do it, anybody can ;)
these are very useful resources: https://python-gtk-3-tutorial.readthedocs.io/en/latest/ & https://docs.python.org/3/ and many random stackoverflow and superuser pages...
francois wrote:
17 Nov 2020, 18:37
Any peculiar reason for the update?
there has been an ongoing project to port our gui scripts to pygobject3/gtk3 (from bash/gtkdialog)
jssouza laid a lot of the ground work, and i've been continuing it..
at the time of RC2 release, various scripts were incomplete, some non-functional, so this update seeks to remedy some of that, in lieu of an RC3 release....
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
evergreen
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 27 Mar 2016, 16:58
Distribution: Ignis, Porteus x86_64
Location: Argentine, Patagonia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#197 by evergreen » 17 Nov 2020, 23:23

I am feeling optimistic with those resources thank you @ncmprhnsbl I will take a try to coding with pygobject3 I like programming when I have freetime. :roll:
ncmprhnsbl wrote: my first ever pygobject3 script was done in march of this year (the logout dialog for openbox) :D ... so if i can do it, anybody can ;)
these are very useful resources: https://python-gtk-3-tutorial.readthedocs.io/en/latest/ & https://docs.python.org/3/ and many random stackoverflow and superuser pages...
AMD A8-7410, APU AMD Radeon R5 Graphics M330

marcelocripe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 15 Nov 2020, 17:39
Distribution: Porteus

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#198 by marcelocripe » 18 Nov 2020, 20:51

Hello dear colleagues,

As I had no answers in the link topic: Falha ao tentar executar a ISO Porteus OPENBOX e LXDE v5.0rc2 x86 x64.iso that I started on 11/16-2020, I send in this topic the problems that happened with my first contact Porteus Linux.

Original title: Failed to attempt to run ISO Porteus OPENBOX and LXDE v5.0rc2 x86 x64.iso

Report fails when trying to run ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc2-x86_64.iso and ISO Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc2-x86_64.iso.

The transfer of the above ISOS was done with a download manager program, from the link: Porteus-v5.0rc2 is released.

Preparation of the bootable flash drive with ventoy-1.0.21
Computer Description: Motherboard: Asus P5S800-VM, Intel (R) Celeron (R) D CPU 2.66GHz, 1 GB DDR 400 MHz (memory cards were tested with the memtest86 + program and passed the tests)

The images containing the error messages are shared on the links below, this link will expire on 11/21-2020:
https://filebin.net/m061lnrgq4kl5a3k
go.php?https://filebin.net/m061lnrgq4kl ... t=1tnmgtcs
go.php?https://filebin.net/m061lnrgq4kl ... t=yq2zc4ak

The ISOs: Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso and Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso have successfully started the graphical mode, download these ISOs from the link: http://ftp.vim.org/ ftp / os / Linux / distr / porteus / x86_64 /.

The default user password: root and password: root, is not working for ISO: Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso, displays the message "Authentication failed! Wrong password". There is no way to test the installation (Porteus Installer) or try to change the language to pt-BR. The same is true with the root password for ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso, "Authentication Failure".

Retry with ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso, download link: Porteus-v5.0rc1 is released, default user password: root and password: root, is not working for this ISO.

Doubts:

1 - What is the correct password?

2 - How can it be installed without ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso without root password working?


ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso has a great possibility of making old computers, similar to the one described above, useful again and be reused again.

RAM memory consumption of ISOs running via Flash Drive SM_USB20 prepared with ventoy-1.0.21:

ISO: Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso

Terminal:
demo @ porteus: ~ / Desktop $ free {Enter}
Memory: total: 976192 KB, used: 156456 KB, free: 290436 KB, shared: 15284 KB, buff / cache: 529300 KB, avaliable: 654836 KB
Swap: total: 0, used: 0, free: 0

$ htop {Enter}
bash: htop: command not found

Task Manager:
Menu, Applications, System Tools, Task Manager displays: CPU usage: between 2 and 7% and Memory: 192 MB of 953 MB used.


ISO: Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso

Terminal:
demo @ porteus: ~ / Desktop $ free {Enter}
Memory: total: 976192 KB, used: 155424 KB, free: 291516 KB, shared: 15272 KB, buff / cache: 529252 KB, avaliable: 655880 KB
Swap: total: 0, used: 0, free: 0

demo @ porteus: ~ / Desktop $ htop {Enter}
bash: htop: command not found

Task Manager
Displays: CPU usage: between 1 and 3% and Memory: 198 MB of 953 MB used.

Because the default passwords didn't work, that's what I have so far for information, in addition to being a very fast and beautiful operating system. But it is impossible to use it without the root password

marcelocripe
(Original text in Brazilian Portuguese, translated into English by an online translator)

----------

Olá caros colegas,

Como eu não tive respostas no tópico do link: Falha ao tentar executar a ISO Porteus OPENBOX e LXDE v5.0rc2 x86 x64.iso que iniciei no dia 16-11-2020, envio neste tópico os problemas que aconteceram com o meu primeiro contato com o Porteus Linux.

Título original: Falha ao tentar executar a ISO Porteus OPENBOX e LXDE v5.0rc2 x86 x64.iso

Relato falha ao tentar executar a ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc2-x86_64.iso e a ISO Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc2-x86_64.iso.

A transferência das ISOS acima forma feitas com um programa gerenciador de download, do link: Porteus-v5.0rc2 is released.

Preparação do pendrive inicializável com ventoy-1.0.21
Descrição do Computador: Placa Mãe: Asus P5S800-VM, Intel (R) Celeron (R) D CPU 2,66GHz, 1 GB DDR 400 MHz (as placas de memória foram testadas com o programa memtest86+ e passaram nos testes)

As imagens contendo as mensagens de erro estão compartilhadas nos links abaixo, este link irá expirar no dia 21-11-2020:
https://filebin.net/m061lnrgq4kl5a3k
go.php?https://filebin.net/m061lnrgq4kl ... t=1tnmgtcs
go.php?https://filebin.net/m061lnrgq4kl ... t=yq2zc4ak

As ISOs: Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso e Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso conseguiram iniciar o modo gráfico com sucesso, download destas ISOs do link: http://ftp.vim.org/ftp/os/Linux/distr/porteus/x86_64/.

A senha padrão de usuário: root e senha: root, não está funcionando para a ISO: Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso, exibe a mensagem "Authentication failed! Wrong password". Não tem como testar a instalação (Porteus Installer) ou tentar alterar o idioma para pt-BR. O mesmo acontece com a senha de root para a ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso, "Authentication Failure".

Nova tentativa com a ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso, download do link: Porteus-v5.0rc1 is released, senha padrão de usuário: root e senha: root, não está funcionando para esta ISO.

Dúvidas:

1 - Qual é a senha correta?

2 - Como pode ser instalado sem a ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso sem que senha de root funcione?


A ISO Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso possui grande possibilidade de fazer o computadores antigos, semelhantes ao descrito acima voltar a ter utilidade e ser reutilizado novamente.

Consumo de memória RAM das ISOs sendo executado via pendrive Flash Drive SM_USB20 preparado com o ventoy-1.0.21:

ISO: Porteus-OPENBOX-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso

Terminal:
demo@porteus:~ /Desktop$ free {Enter}
Memória: total: 976192 KB, used: 156456 KB, free: 290436 KB, shared: 15284 KB, buff/cache: 529300 KB, avaliable: 654836 KB
Swap: total: 0, used: 0, free: 0

$ htop {Enter}
bash: htop: command not found

Gerenciador de Tarefas:
Menu, Applications, System Tools, Task Manager exibe: CPU usage: entre 2 e 7% e Memory: 192 MB of 953 MB used.


ISO: Porteus-LXDE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso

Terminal:
demo@porteus:~ /Desktop$ free {Enter}
Memória: total: 976192 KB, used: 155424 KB, free: 291516 KB, shared: 15272 KB, buff/cache: 529252 KB, avaliable: 655880 KB
Swap: total: 0, used: 0, free: 0

demo@porteus:~ /Desktop$ htop {Enter}
bash: htop: command not found

Gerenciador de Tarefas (Task Manager)
Exibe: CPU usage: entre 1 e 3% e Memory: 198 MB of 953 MB used.

Devido as senhas padrões não funcionaram, por enquanto é isso que eu tenho de informações, além de ser um sistema operacional muito rápido e bonito. Mas é impossível de utilizá-lo sem a senha de root

marcelocripe
(Texto original em idioma Português do Brasil, traduzido para o idioma inglês por um tradutor online)

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2682
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#199 by Rava » 18 Nov 2020, 21:03

marcelocripe wrote:
18 Nov 2020, 20:51
The default user password: root and password: root, is not working
password: toor - root backwards.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

marcelocripe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 15 Nov 2020, 17:39
Distribution: Porteus

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#200 by marcelocripe » 18 Nov 2020, 22:11

Rava,

Thank you!

I can now test the operating system.

marcelocripe

----------

Rava,

Muito obrigado!

Agora eu posso testar o sistema operacional.

marcelocripe

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2682
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#201 by Rava » 19 Nov 2020, 12:42

^
you are welcome.
me being glad when helping is so easy. Image
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2682
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#202 by Rava » 03 Dec 2020, 15:57

Honestly, I am quite embarrassed to not be able to boot 5.0rc2 as 2nd Porteus from a USB stick. Image Here the details:

from= cheatcode from=UUID:WhAt-EvEr/Porteus_5.0rc2/porteus is called invalid at boot.

5.0rc1 sits in porteus/ and 5.0rc2 in Porteus_5.0rc2/porteus

porteus-v5.0-x86_64.cfg exists:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/mnt/sdb/Porteus_5.0rc2/porteus$ realpath porteus-v5.0-x86_64.cfg 
/mnt/sdb/Porteus_5.0rc2/porteus/porteus-v5.0-x86_64.cfg
and the base folder, too:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/mnt/sdb/Porteus_5.0rc2/porteus$ file base/
base/: directory
After that 5.0rc1 gets started instead…

The UUID should be correct, checked via blkid.

Where is my error?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 243
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#203 by raja » 03 Dec 2020, 19:13

Change declared variables in initrd/linuxrc file..

CFG file name ..5.0rc2
FOLDER=porteus-5.0rc2 and replace porteus with porteus-5.0rc2 in cfg search.

or as evergreen has done, make FOLDER=$PORTEUS with similar changes to cfg search. Since $PORTEUS is not declared as a variable, they are ignored and only FROM=../.../.. will be used to find cfg file. Very effective.

Since both rc1 and rc2 have same name cfg file, rc1 under porteus folder is booted.
Linux Kernel-4.4.243-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.9.1-64 bit.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2682
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#204 by Rava » 03 Dec 2020, 19:50

^
I still do not get why the from:UUID= is not working, what is wrong with that approach?

And I do not really get how to make that work:
CFG file name ..5.0rc2
FOLDER=porteus-5.0rc2 and replace porteus with porteus-5.0rc2 in cfg search.

or as evergreen has done, make FOLDER=$PORTEUS with similar changes to cfg search. Since $PORTEUS is not declared as a variable, they are
Could you please spell it out, or link me to where evergreen posted his working solution?

Prior the UUID approach I changed the cfg file name from its standard to porteus-v5.0rc2-x86_64.cfg and addressed it as such

Code: Select all

cfgfile=porteus-v5.0rc2-x86_64.cfg
but that also did not work.

Added in 7 minutes 36 seconds:
I looked up all 14 pages of this thread, looking for all posts by evergreen, but did not find one where he writes about the setup for booting 5.0rc1 and 5.0rc2. :(
Last edited by Rava on 03 Dec 2020, 19:59, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: typo
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2708
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#205 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Dec 2020, 21:58

raja wrote:
03 Dec 2020, 19:13
or as evergreen has done
it was roadie, and
Rava wrote:
03 Dec 2020, 19:58
I looked up all 14 pages of this thread
i think it was in a separate topic ... here: Running Porteus on harddisk via GRUB ?! (Post by roadie #79016)
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
evergreen
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 27 Mar 2016, 16:58
Distribution: Ignis, Porteus x86_64
Location: Argentine, Patagonia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#206 by evergreen » 04 Dec 2020, 04:22

@rava

I want to try too again with a similar scenario , I remembered to have had the same problem when I want to boot from my USB key it was always loading my hard disk Porteus installation... I think I fixed it changing the .cfg file name or removing the file to another folder. I will let you know if I have a good result
AMD A8-7410, APU AMD Radeon R5 Graphics M330

User avatar
babam
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 139
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus Xfce 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#207 by babam » 04 Dec 2020, 15:25

Rava wrote:
03 Dec 2020, 15:57
Honestly, I am quite embarrassed to not be able to boot 5.0rc2 as 2nd Porteus from a USB stick. Image Here the details:

from= cheatcode from=UUID:WhAt-EvEr/Porteus_5.0rc2/porteus is called invalid at boot.

Where is my error?
Try with this from=UUID:WhAt-EvEr/Porteus_5.0rc2
Sorry, my English is bad.

User avatar
evergreen
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 27 Mar 2016, 16:58
Distribution: Ignis, Porteus x86_64
Location: Argentine, Patagonia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#208 by evergreen » 04 Dec 2020, 19:35

@rava

Look at /etc/profile.d/porteus.sh and you will find something interesting :)

Probably you could make an extra module, to overwrite your new setup
AMD A8-7410, APU AMD Radeon R5 Graphics M330

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5797
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#209 by Ed_P » 04 Dec 2020, 22:18

evergreen wrote:
04 Dec 2020, 19:35
Look at /etc/profile.d/porteus.sh and you will find something interesting :)
Indeed.

Code: Select all

export DISTRO=porteus
export BOOTDEV=/mnt/isoloop
export BASEDIR=/mnt/isoloop
export PORTDIR=/mnt/isoloop/porteus
export MODDIR=/mnt/isoloop/porteus/modules
export PORTCFG=/mnt/isoloop/porteus/porteus-v5.0-x86_64.cfg
Nothing rc specific.
What's also interesting is Porteus is not designed as a multi-boot system so why is this not being discussed in a grub2 or grub or grub4dos thread? :%) Porteus has a rEFInd boot menu for EFI systems but does it work with BIOS based systems? Do we need a rEFInd thread to discuss options and/or problems? :hmmm:
Ed

Post Reply