Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3924
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#151 by ncmprhnsbl » 24 Sep 2020, 04:13

Ed_P wrote:
23 Sep 2020, 22:51
I've tried different options with it but all the windows look the same; -d info, -d err, -d warn. Same with -p and -s. Am I missing something?
only the icons are different ;) (you saw :) ) and -d yesno has two buttons.. the next version will have a -w option to set the window title..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#152 by Ed_P » 24 Sep 2020, 05:06

My new dialog code:

Code: Select all

read size used avail percent <<< $SDspace
if [ ${percent%\%} -gt  85 ]; then
   /usr/share/porteus/gtkdialog.py -p "Warning!  save.dat file $percent full" -s "Used: $used - Free: $avail" -d err
   exit
else
#  https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?p=78822#p78822 - ncmprhnsbl - '/usr/share/porteus/gtkdialog.py -h' to see the usage..  
   /usr/share/porteus/gtkdialog.py -p "save.dat file $percent full - Used: $used - Free: $avail" -d info 
   exit
fi
# if no dialog option.
if [ ${percent%\%} -gt  85 ]; then
   echo 
   redwarning "Warning! save.dat file $percent full.  Used: $used  Free: $avail"
   echo 
   sleep 2
else
   echo "save.dat file $percent full.  Used: $used  Free: $avail"
fi
Thank you again for your help. :beer:

Added in 16 minutes 17 seconds:
Ed_P wrote:
22 Sep 2020, 01:09
And rc.local_shutdown is not displaying savedat file usage when shutting down.
This is what I see when shutting down. No savedat space line.
Image
Sorry about the quality. :( We need a cheatcode that allows writing these lines to a file. :happy62:
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3869
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#153 by Blaze » 24 Sep 2020, 09:52

roadie, ok, try this :dl-blue: Kernel 5.4.67 x86_64
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 400
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 5.0-RC1
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#154 by roadie » 24 Sep 2020, 14:26

Blaze wrote:
24 Sep 2020, 09:52
roadie, ok, try this :dl-blue: Kernel 5.4.67 x86_64
Blaze, yes, this kernel is fine, touchpad works. I was able to patch the 5.7.19 source, so I'll try to compile the kernel today

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ dmesg | grep ELAN
[    1.360278] usb 1-1.1: Product: ELAN:Fingerprint
[    1.360280] usb 1-1.1: Manufacturer: ELAN
[    2.225973] i2c_hid i2c-ELAN1300:00: i2c-ELAN1300:00 supply vdd not found, using dummy regulator
[    2.226088] i2c_hid i2c-ELAN1300:00: i2c-ELAN1300:00 supply vddl not found, using dummy regulator
[    2.372819] input: ELAN1300:00 04F3:3087 Mouse as /devices/platform/AMD0010:03/i2c-0/i2c-ELAN1300:00/0018:04F3:3087.0004/input/input11
[    2.383712] input: ELAN1300:00 04F3:3087 Touchpad as /devices/platform/AMD0010:03/i2c-0/i2c-ELAN1300:00/0018:04F3:3087.0004/input/input12
[    2.383883] hid-generic 0018:04F3:3087.0004: input,hidraw3: I2C HID v1.00 Mouse [ELAN1300:00 04F3:3087] on i2c-ELAN1300:00
[    2.912636] input: ELAN1300:00 04F3:3087 Mouse as /devices/platform/AMD0010:03/i2c-0/i2c-ELAN1300:00/0018:04F3:3087.0004/input/input17
[    2.912839] input: ELAN1300:00 04F3:3087 Touchpad as /devices/platform/AMD0010:03/i2c-0/i2c-ELAN1300:00/0018:04F3:3087.0004/input/input18
[    2.912973] hid-multitouch 0018:04F3:3087.0004: input,hidraw3: I2C HID v1.00 Mouse [ELAN1300:00 04F3:3087] on i2c-ELAN1300:00

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#155 by Ed_P » 29 Sep 2020, 05:48

When I activate the pysolfc-2.6.4-x86_64-alldesktops.xzm module it doesn't appear in the Porteus Menu. There is no Games category created.

The /usr/share/applications/pysol.desktop file:

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=PySol Fan Club Edition
Exec=pysol.py
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Game;CardGame;
Icon=/usr/share/icons/pysol01.png
Ed

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2086
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#156 by beny » 30 Sep 2020, 08:33

hi Ed_P the slackbuild deps list need "six" but i do not have found in my sbo...i have the sbo-git version

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3924
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#157 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Sep 2020, 09:16

beny wrote:
30 Sep 2020, 08:33
deps list need "six" but i do not have found in my sbo
you can get the package python-six from slackware-current
but this isn't the problem Ed has uncovered: the pysol bundle works fine, it's just that Cinnamon menu fails to recognise the .desktop for some reason..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#158 by Ed_P » 30 Sep 2020, 22:18

The .desktop problem extends to:

AisleRiot-3.22.4-x86_64-don.xzm
pysolfc-2.6.3-x86_64-alldesktops.xzm
xmahjongg-3.7-x86_64-don.xzm

None show in a Porteus menu Games section or any other section.

Added in 1 hour 29 minutes 31 seconds:
Where is the Cinnamon menu template stored?

Added in 18 minutes 44 seconds:
Found it.

/home/guest/.cinnamon/configs/menu@cinnamon.org/0.json

Added in 2 hours 58 minutes 26 seconds:
A fix. Add GTK to the .desktop's Categories setting. :celebrate3:

Code: Select all

Categories=GTK;Game;CardGame;
No idea why it works but it does. :good:
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3924
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#159 by ncmprhnsbl » 01 Oct 2020, 09:09

Ed_P wrote:
01 Oct 2020, 03:05
Add GTK to the .desktop's Categories setting.
nice catch :)
ironic, since pysol-fc doesn't use gtk( it uses python/tk)
i've added this to the .desktop part of update-palemoon-live script, so maybe that will fix it for that too..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#160 by Ed_P » 01 Oct 2020, 23:31

Does this explain my GTK scenario ncmp?

/mnt/live/memory/images/gtk+2-2.24.32-x86_64-3.xzm

I've been running it since April 23, '20. Don't remember who told me to, I suspect jssouza.
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3924
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#161 by ncmprhnsbl » 02 Oct 2020, 05:28

Ed_P wrote:
01 Oct 2020, 23:31
Does this explain my GTK scenario ncmp?
/mnt/live/memory/images/gtk+2-2.24.32-x86_64-3.xzm
you need that for palemoon(and any other gtk2 apps)
i did a little experiment: activated palemoon> doesn't appear in the menu>opened the .desktop file in an editor>did nothing>saved unchanged file>now it appears in the menu..
now i think the 'GTK' addition to Categories doesn't have an effect, simply resaving the .desktop, somehow "wakes up" cinnamon's menu..
strangely, also, pysol-fc appeared straightaway, without doing that, here..
can you post output of:

Code: Select all

cat /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/update-menu
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#162 by Ed_P » 02 Oct 2020, 05:58

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
02 Oct 2020, 05:28
can you post output of:

Code: Select all

cat /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/update-menu
Sure.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/update-menu
#!/bin/sh
# Update openbox app menu:

echo "Updating  menu: update-desktop-database"
update-desktop-database

guest@porteus:~$ 
I did an experiment also. I deactivated the gtk module, ran the script to load the pysol module and tweak it's desktop file and it showed in the menu. So I agree the gtk module is not revelant to the menu situation.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#163 by francois » 02 Oct 2020, 21:13

Very nice work from the development team. Your tenacity and courage will be certainly become some day legendary. :happy62:

This rc version works fine for now on my toshiba satellite z930. Though I have not been triggering all the possible buttons to test the beast. But I will do. I understand that always fresh mode is the way to test.

Are there peculiar area that you would like to be tested? Is it pertinent to test with the slackware current packages?

Slackyd is still a package included stock. It does not seem to work:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo slackyd -u

Warning: package `libreoffice-5.2.3.3-x86_64' isn't standard. Skipping.
Repository: slackware [www.slackware.at]
`- Downloading FILELIST.TXT [File Not Found]             

Warning: cannot retreive all file (0/8). Trying next: nothing
guest@porteus:~$ 
slackyd might be worth being kept working as this has been traditionally one of the mainly package building tool on porteus before usm creation.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#164 by Ed_P » 02 Oct 2020, 23:25

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
02 Oct 2020, 05:28
i did a little experiment: activated palemoon> doesn't appear in the menu>opened the .desktop file in an editor>did nothing>saved unchanged file>now it appears in the menu..
now i think the 'GTK' addition to Categories doesn't have an effect, simply resaving the .desktop, somehow "wakes up" cinnamon's menu..

I tried the same thing with the pysol desktop file and got the same results as you. I checked the file's permissions before and after and they didn't change. :crazy:

I wonder if fulalas's file attributes change is tied to this.
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3924
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#165 by ncmprhnsbl » 02 Oct 2020, 23:49

Ed_P wrote:
02 Oct 2020, 05:58
Sure.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/update-menu
#!/bin/sh
# Update openbox app menu:

echo "Updating  menu: update-desktop-database"
update-desktop-database
well there's (part of) your problem ;) : deactivate the porteus-scripts-xorg-20200920-noarch.xzm (updated scripts) because this is overwriting the cinnamon update-menu script..
if you want to use porteus-scripts-xorg-20200920-noarch.xzm: extract it; remove /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/update-menu; and recompress it.
francois wrote:
02 Oct 2020, 21:13
Are there peculiar area that you would like to be tested? Is it pertinent to test with the slackware current packages?
just using it normally should be enough to find bugs :) and slackware current packages are the ones most likely to work..
francois wrote:
02 Oct 2020, 21:13
Slackyd is still a package included stock. It does not seem to work:
needs some configuration: /etc/slackyd/slackyd.conf .. finding a working mirror is the trick, i think.. i managed to do this, but have forgotten what it was exactly..
there's also getpkg to fetch packages from slackware-current(if you know what you're looking for)
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply