Page 9 of 22

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 04 Sep 2020, 15:22
by Ed_P
maia does gsettings work in freedesktop? Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports (Post by Ed_P #78542)

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 04 Sep 2020, 17:11
by mbos
@fulalas

No, it doesn't change file permissions. It mounts filesytem as read-only.

For example, I create directory /dir1 as guest user, then run:

Code: Select all

firejail --noprofile --read-only=/dir1 --debug bash -c 'mkdir /dir1/dir2'
When it works, it will print:

Code: Select all

Mounting read-only /dir1
107 39 0:18 /dir1 /dir1 ro,relatime - aufs aufs rw,...
...
mkdir: cannot create directory '/dir1/dir2': Read-only filesystem
When it doesn't work, it won't say it's mounting /dir1 and writing will succeed.

I tried also with 5.7.9 kernel but X fails so I couldn't test.

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 04 Sep 2020, 22:43
by maia
Ed_P wrote:
04 Sep 2020, 15:22
maia does gsettings work in freedesktop? Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports (Post by Ed_P #78542)
Hi Ed_P,
I do not use the CINNAMON version. Would this command work for the Openbox version?
What should the syntax be?

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 05 Sep 2020, 04:32
by Ed_P
maia wrote:
04 Sep 2020, 22:43
I do not use the CINNAMON version. Would this command work for the Openbox version?
What should the syntax be?
I don't know if Openbox has the command but worth a try. Try something like this:

Code: Select all

echo "Before"
gsettings get org.freedesktop.UPower lid-close-ac-action
gsettings set org.freedesktop.UPower lid-close-ac-action suspend
echo "After"
gsettings get org.freedesktop.UPower lid-close-ac-action

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 05 Sep 2020, 06:58
by ncmprhnsbl
maia wrote:
04 Sep 2020, 13:19
Unfortunately it didn't work.
i've found another way: use consolekit manager:

Code: Select all

dbus-send --system --print-reply --dest=org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit /org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Manager  org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.Suspend boolean:true
which, for /opt/porteus-scripts/extra/gtk-logout.py line 47 translates as:

Code: Select all

subprocess.run(['dbus-send', '--system', '--print-reply', '--dest=org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit', '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Manager', 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.Suspend', 'boolean:true'])
which fixes the suspend option in the logout menu..

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 05 Sep 2020, 15:26
by neonred
So I tried Porteus 5.0 Mate RC2, and these are the issues I came across.
1. Doesn't resume from suspend thus lacking substantial power saving features, could that have to do with copy to ram?
2. When I switched to the Arc-Blue-Dark GTK theme, the popup windows (via click) eventually became empty
3. Porteus Settings Centre, Main Menu doesn't work.
4. Wireless support isn't up to par, doesn't support latest...see tails...maybe has to do with the lack of linux firmware....but you have to think netbooks man, they MUST connect otherwise your distro gets the thumbs back

Still an excellent release, but at least 3 of the above are very important and why the release is still in RC.
The difference between extensive wireless support and not, is whether people use your distro or not. Make sure you support as much wireless as Tails including the Intel wireless firmware...

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 06 Sep 2020, 13:16
by maia
Ed_P wrote:
05 Sep 2020, 04:32
I don't know if Openbox has the command but worth a try. Try something like this:
Thanks Ed_P
partially worked, when leaving suspend mode a black screen appears after
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
05 Sep 2020, 06:58
i've found another way: use consolekit manager:
Thanks ncmprhnsbl, it worked like a charm :)

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 06 Sep 2020, 15:34
by Ed_P
The touchpad Disable while Typing option isn't working. The Mouse and Touchpad app needs to be fixed or this needs to be done: Re: Mouse pad option (Post by brokenman #13596) :)

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 07 Sep 2020, 04:08
by evergreen
It's is my very first time I can Suspend my laptop with Openbox. Thank you @ncmprhnsbl

I would like to report bugs but always I am modifying and making it fit to me so often I did everything work fine to me. There is something with the Power button if it's pressed my computer shutdown.. it can be fixed in acpi_handler.sh living empty

Code: Select all

case
power) 
and then config the power button shortcut to execute gtk-logout.py.
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
05 Sep 2020, 06:58
maia wrote:
04 Sep 2020, 13:19
Unfortunately it didn't work.
which, for /opt/porteus-scripts/extra/gtk-logout.py line 47 translates as:

Code: Select all

subprocess.run(['dbus-send', '--system', '--print-reply', '--dest=org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit', '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Manager', 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.Suspend', 'boolean:true'])
which fixes the suspend option in the logout menu..

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 11 Sep 2020, 16:25
by raja
In XFCE, lots of error information from memory is dumped on to the screen before shut down.

I think, this was overcome in Sam's Porteus offering. Neko's overlay-xfce too suffer from this.

Please have a look.

On choosing Network SSID, cursor is not active in the password window.

Both are not really bugs. Still, team can eliminate them.

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 11 Sep 2020, 18:45
by paf
Many, Many, MANY thanks for all the work with Porteus.

I am having troubles building the Virtual Box Guest Additions.
I only tried the XFCE version of Porteus.

Downloaded the Guest Additions iso and apparently the xzm module is ok, but is not activated at boot time. Also activating manually after boot, mounts the xzm file, but does not places the files available for execution.

Yes, I have downloaded the additional kernel recommended files.

As a sanity check, I made another xzm module, compiled from source and works ok.

The (bad) module is at: http://keeh.net/porteus64/020-vbox-gues ... 4-1prt.xzm

What tools do I have to further diagnose this?

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 13 Sep 2020, 14:24
by amplatfus
Dear Porteus Dev Team,

Thank you again, this time for Porteus 5.0 RC2 update. I can say that in my case, after boot, with copy2ram requires with 40-50 mb less. Thank you so much fo make this possible.
Only one thing I have: I cannot add the Bluetooth icon to my tray in bar, near to clock. And I cannot start it.
In RC1, same 5.0, it was there. I am using same laptop and same changes read only folder.
I am talking about Mate varsion.

In RC1 I had this in rc.local:

Code: Select all

chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth
sleep 1
/etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth start
In RC1 I can see the icon and also I am able to connect to bluetooth devices.
In RC2, ater doing rc.local commands I can see the Bluetooth Adapter and the Bluetooth Manager in the start-up menu, but I cannot start it and no icon in trey i added.
In dmesg log I can find this:

Code: Select all

[   38.529911] thinkpad_acpi: ThinkPad ACPI Extras v0.26
[   38.529911] thinkpad_acpi: http://ibm-acpi.sf.net/
[   38.529912] thinkpad_acpi: ThinkPad BIOS R06ET62W (1.36 ), EC R06HT31W
[   38.529912] thinkpad_acpi: Lenovo ThinkPad T460, model 20FMS27L05
[   38.530924] thinkpad_acpi: radio switch found; radios are enabled
[   38.531003] thinkpad_acpi: This ThinkPad has standard ACPI backlight brightness control, supported by the ACPI video driver
[   38.531026] thinkpad_acpi: Disabling thinkpad-acpi brightness events by default...
[   38.532769] thinkpad_acpi: rfkill switch tpacpi_bluetooth_sw: radio is unblocked
[   38.533896] acpi PNP0C14:01: duplicate WMI GUID 05901221-D566-11D1-B2F0-00A0C9062910 (first instance was on PNP0C14:00)
[   38.533990] acpi PNP0C14:02: duplicate WMI GUID 05901221-D566-11D1-B2F0-00A0C9062910 (first instance was on PNP0C14:00)
Could you please help to to find the fix? What chances do I have to make it work and add the icon in the tray?

Edit: In the meantime I did some research. I discovered this thread: [SOLVED] Problem bluetooth
I tried, below and it seems the Bluetooth is somehow there:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~#  rfkill list
0: tpacpi_bluetooth_sw: Bluetooth
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
1: tpacpi_wwan_sw: Wireless WAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
2: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
3: hci0: Bluetooth
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
root@porteus:~# hcitool dev
Devices:
	hci0	14:AB:xx:C1:10:xx
If you can see the root cause, please reply.

Thank you very much as always,
amplatfus

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 14 Sep 2020, 04:56
by ncmprhnsbl
amplatfus wrote:
13 Sep 2020, 14:24
What chances do I have to make it work and add the icon in the tray?
can you try to start blueman-manager(i think that's the right one) from a terminal and see what messages result?

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 14 Sep 2020, 05:44
by amplatfus
Hi

Thank you for reply. Very good idear. It seems that we are getting close:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth start
Starting Bluetooth services:  bluetoothd hciconfig sdptool hciattach
D-Bus setup failed: Name already in use
root@porteus:~# /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth stop
root@porteus:~# /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth start
Starting Bluetooth services:  bluetoothd hciconfig sdptool hciattach
root@porteus:~# blueman-manager
bash: /usr/bin/blueman-manager: /usr/bin/python3.7: bad interpreter: No such file or directory
I discovered that pythoin3.7 files are in 001-core.xzm so I copied tsome files froms RC1 to current session. I chmod +x and run it:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# blueman-manager
bash: /usr/bin/blueman-manager: /usr/bin/python3.7: bad interpreter: Permission denied
Could you please advices what we should try next? From where should I obtain those files for RC2?

Thank you very much,
amplatfus

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Posted: 14 Sep 2020, 09:01
by fulalas
@paf, thanks for the feedback. :)

I can confirm the issue that you reported. We're still investigating it, but in the meantime try this guest module and let us know if it works for you:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/e97g9pilp ... 4-1prt.xzm
(3.55 MB)