Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
pblack476
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 14:05
Distribution: Porteus v5.0

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#1 by pblack476 » 22 Jul 2019, 14:49

I get no sound on my machine with Porteus v5 rc1. I get normal sound out of the box with puppy linux and alsamixer tweaking with mint 19.1

As I've tried most of what is out there here are some of my reports:

aplay -l

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC269VB Analog [ALC269VB Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
lsmod | grep snd

Code: Select all

snd_hda_codec_hdmi     49152  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek    90112  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    61440  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
ledtrig_audio          16384  2 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel          32768  3
snd_hda_codec          94208  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core           53248  5 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                73728  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              28672  1 snd_pcm

I tried

Code: Select all

cat >> /etc/asound.conf << EOF
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
EOF
And it did not work. Then I changed to:

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {

    type hw

    card 1

}



ctl.!default {

    type hw

    card 1

}
It also does not work (But it does help because with this my main device is defaulted on reboot when I check in Alsamixer)

Also I have done:

Code: Select all

echo "options snd-hda-intel index=1,0" > /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf

Code: Select all

echo "options snd-hda-intel model=auto" > /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf

Code: Select all

echo "options snd-hda-intel model=generic" > /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf

Code: Select all

echo "options snd-hda-intel model=headset-mic" > /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf

Code: Select all

echo "options snd-hda-intel id=PCH index=1" > /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf
To no effect.


Going into alsamixer and unmuting and raising volumes does not work either.

I also do not have any HD-Audio.txt file in /usr/src/linux/Documentation/sound/alsa/ to compare my chipset model against. By the way, my cat /proc/asound/card*/codec* | grep Codec is:

Code: Select all

Codec: Realtek ALC269VB
Codec: Intel PantherPoint HDMI
And lastly, PavuControl is not available as I've been getting LIBS.TXT error when trying to use USM to grab the package. I also tried compiling it myself but I run into the same error when trying to download some of its dependancies.


All of the above is the result of my google searches and now I am coming here for help.

I appreciate all help I can get.
Last edited by pblack476 on 22 Jul 2019, 18:46, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2765
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#2 by Blaze » 22 Jul 2019, 17:22

Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

pblack476
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 14:05
Distribution: Porteus v5.0

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#3 by pblack476 » 22 Jul 2019, 17:48

Blaze wrote:
22 Jul 2019, 17:22
Hi pblack476.
Look at this tutorial Asus Eee Pc X101ch and Intel Atom: Fix The Speaker And Microphone!
Thanks. But it did not work.

One doubt I have is if there should be anything ELSE on my .conf file inside /etc/modprobe.d/ besides

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=headset-mic
If I put just that inside the file I cannot even start alsamixer as it says there is no such file or directory.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2765
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#4 by Blaze » 22 Jul 2019, 18:04

Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

pblack476
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 14:05
Distribution: Porteus v5.0

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#5 by pblack476 » 22 Jul 2019, 18:22

Blaze wrote:
22 Jul 2019, 18:04
pblack476, ok, try this solution https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 2#p1045832
Tried that. Ran

Code: Select all

# cat /proc/asound/card1/id
PCH 
then changed my 50-alsa.conf file to:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel id=PCH index=1
And nothing changed.


One quirk of my system is that if I do not put

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {

    type hw

    card 1

}



ctl.!default {

    type hw

    card 1

}
in asound.conf, my card goes back to index 0 when I run aplay -l and when I boot into the system alsamixer does not display the full mixer, ust a single volume bar. Still here is no sound no matter what I put in /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf. But I will undo the asound bit and try id=PCH index=0 for the 50-alsa.conf parameters to see if it works.

pblack476
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 14:05
Distribution: Porteus v5.0

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#6 by pblack476 » 22 Jul 2019, 18:39

I found out that leaving asound.conf like

Code: Select all

#pcm.default pulse
#ctl.default pulse
defaults.pcm.card 0
defaults.ctl.card 0
is enough to get he system to boot automatically using the correct hardware (full alsamixer controls) so I no longer use the longer code above. But still, even with this I have no luck. Tried every etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf entry one by one with this new asound.conf. And still nothing.

Again. Sound works fine on other OS's.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2765
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#7 by Blaze » 22 Jul 2019, 19:28

pblack476, it's really strange. Try to update kernel (build by neko)
Simple package (vmlinuz, 000-kernel.xzm, 06-crippled_sources-NNN-XXbit.xzm)
[5.2.2] <---NEW : "All patches" patching was done by manual operation.
32bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar (86 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/0bkqfo4nk ... l5.2.2.tar
md5sum: 3d289de867516ce08b40c7bb84c39bfa 32bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar

64bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar (92 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/jzgdzr61x ... l5.2.2.tar
md5sum: fc590d0cb2e09a51427ae8dcc594598b 64bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar

Code: Select all

# All operations performed by root user!

# replace 000-kernel.xzm
# remove crippled_sources.xzm
# add 06-crippled_sources-NNN-XXbit.xzm
/path-to/porteus/base

# replace vmlinuz
/path-to/boot/syslinux

# reboot Porteus
reboot
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

pblack476
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 14:05
Distribution: Porteus v5.0

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#8 by pblack476 » 22 Jul 2019, 21:03

Blaze wrote:
22 Jul 2019, 19:28
pblack476, it's really strange. Try to update kernel (build by neko)
Simple package (vmlinuz, 000-kernel.xzm, 06-crippled_sources-NNN-XXbit.xzm)
[5.2.2] <---NEW : "All patches" patching was done by manual operation.
32bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar (86 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/0bkqfo4nk ... l5.2.2.tar
md5sum: 3d289de867516ce08b40c7bb84c39bfa 32bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar

64bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar (92 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/jzgdzr61x ... l5.2.2.tar
md5sum: fc590d0cb2e09a51427ae8dcc594598b 64bit-ALL-kernel5.2.2.tar

Code: Select all

# All operations performed by root user!

# replace 000-kernel.xzm
# remove crippled_sources.xzm
# add 06-crippled_sources-NNN-XXbit.xzm
/path-to/porteus/base

# replace vmlinuz
/path-to/boot/syslinux

# reboot Porteus
reboot
Did that.

I had no crippled sources in my /mnt/sda1/base folder so that is now appearing in booting process. I guess that is a good thing.

there was also a vmlinuz file in /base folder but i did not change it. only the one in /syslinux

But no change in audio. Tried all the asound and 50-alsa parameters again. no change whatsoever. Nothing on headphones or speakers.

pblack476
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 14:05
Distribution: Porteus v5.0

Intel PCH - No sound (tried a lot of different things with no success)

Post#9 by pblack476 » 22 Jul 2019, 21:15

Just to note:

Booted same system from a Pop! OS live USB and sound did not work out of the box, but I opened alsamixer and turned HEADPHONE volume all the way up and then sound came on the speakers (even with HEADPHONES bar MUTED). So there is obviously something weird there but nothing the alsa-base.conf file cannot help resolve. But sound DOES work on other OS's, if not with minor tweaking.

If it makes ANY difference. Alsamixer version on Porteus v5 is 1.1.9 and on Pop OS was 1.1.8

Post Reply