Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
meet
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 88
Joined: 31 Mar 2020, 04:37
Distribution: Porteus 4.0

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#181 by meet » 10 Apr 2020, 04:28

Reposting a bug from here.

Porteus 5 rc1 gets stuck on Shutdown as mentioned in this post:
Stuck at power down (shut down) page (Post by francois #76844)

MGarcia
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Apr 2016, 15:30
Distribution: 3.17.4-porteus
Location: USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#182 by MGarcia » 14 Apr 2020, 22:45

It's been some time since I used Porteus the last time (which I liked because of the speed mostly during booting), however, I'm now trying to work with the newest versions (v5.0rc1-x86_64) and for one reason or another, it appears that instead of going forward into the future, everything is going backwards.

Even though an earlier version I attempted some time ago was able to recognize the HP 17in laptop integrated WiFi card/board and in at least an original version I was able to use the ndiwrapper, now, even with the latest versions, not one recognize it.

I'm sorry but I can only say, what is wrong, so may years of version after version after version and still the core is unable to recognize the common Realtek adapter and use drivers or at least have a module or patch to include as an optional type of software? If not, provide users a guide for the work around.

Is there someone able to help create a simple fix to carry over from new version to new version to prevent updates/upgrades from changing the entire base and still have a simple way to copy and paste into the proper directory to continue to be functional?

Totally disenchanted with MS and Win based products, not totally convinced by Mac/Apple cost-effectiveness and now kind-of-feel the same with Linux as well!

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5763
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#183 by Ed_P » 14 Apr 2020, 22:54

rc1 is still a test release and does indeed have unresolved issues. That's why it hasn't been released yet. Have you tried a Porteus 4.0 version?
Ed

MGarcia
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Apr 2016, 15:30
Distribution: 3.17.4-porteus
Location: USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#184 by MGarcia » 15 Apr 2020, 01:02

Will try v4.0 and see. Thank you.

michalpelszyk
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Apr 2020, 17:42
Distribution: Porteus OpenBox

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#185 by michalpelszyk » 22 Apr 2020, 19:09

Blaze wrote:
11 Jul 2019, 17:41
raja wrote:
11 Jul 2019, 17:08
Volume icon on boot shows a cross mark, with Device as "Default". Becomes normal when device selected as HDA Intel PCH. Some conflict with Pulse installation.
raja, this happens (about volume icon) in Openbox DE?
Yes, this happens for OpenBox DE. Volume icon is crossed out on boot and volume control does not work. Starting choosing the "Open Mixer" option allows to control the volume.
I found it works fine if I exit and start volumeicon again, so my guess is that the applet loads before alsa/pulseaudio finishes initialising. Changing the device must have caused it to reload the interface as well.

The workaround: Add a delay to autostart of Volume Icon applet. Now the volume control works just on boot.
In file /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart change the launching line to:

Code: Select all

(sleep 5; volumeicon) &

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5763
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#186 by Ed_P » 21 Jun 2020, 04:08

Problems with wi-fi drivers, broadcom and realtek, discussed beginning here: Help with installation of Porteus from one usb(Live) to another usb (Post by Ed_P #77600)
Ed

portypit
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 11:09
Distribution: 4.0

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#187 by portypit » 16 Jul 2020, 22:23

Nice to see Porteus 5.0 , thanks to all.
Why does official installation still only refer to two folders: boot and porteus? And only extract those two?
There is a third included, EFI, with no indication how it's used in a laptop whose BIOS is set from CSM to UEFI.
Doesn't work for me under UEFI, only CSM!!
But then Windows 8.1 won't boot under CSM :(

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5763
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#188 by Ed_P » 17 Jul 2020, 05:40

Is your installation drive FAT32?
Ed

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#189 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 01:50

Several times recently on two different machines, I've been using Porteus 5.0rc1 (editing documents in Mousepad or looking at files in Thunar), when the screen has gone blank briefly and the desktop has reappeared but all running applications are gone. I suppose that the graphical environment was restarted -- why?

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1605
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#190 by fulalas » 10 Aug 2020, 02:58

@rchase, this is really odd. I hope it doesn't happen on RC2 :)

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2641
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#191 by Rava » 03 Nov 2020, 03:50

I run the XFCE variant.

I run all my PORT variants in always fresh so alteration I want them to keep have to be copied into the rootcopy folder.

I want go get 023-RedshiftGUI-0.2.4-Linux-x86_64-Fixed.xzm to be autoloaded at startup. Could it be that RS-GUI is more tricky than most cause I managed to get other modules to auto-load just fine.

It not shows up in the list of to-be-chosen from for autoloading in the settings.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2690
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#192 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Nov 2020, 05:01

Rava wrote:
03 Nov 2020, 03:50
I want go get 023-RedshiftGUI-0.2.4-Linux-x86_64-Fixed.xzm to be autoloaded at startup.
you could try the non-DE-specific cheatcode: guiexec=<your~desired~command> (tilds(~) are spaces, if needed)
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2641
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#193 by Rava » 03 Nov 2020, 11:19

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
03 Nov 2020, 05:01
you could try the non-DE-specific cheatcode: guiexec=<your~desired~command> (tilds(~) are spaces, if needed)
It is an applet to run and sit from the area around the other notifications, like the Audacious icon when you Quit Audacious, or the Network notification.

Since I already configured it so that it should start minimized that is all there is to be configured. I hope.

Code: Select all

 3 fsck guiexec=redshiftgui
This is how the kernel line now ends.
We will see after the next reboot if that works as it should.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
clarkjohannes
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 12:58
Distribution: Porteus

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#194 by clarkjohannes » 03 Nov 2020, 13:17

Country list went blank when setting up a mobile broadband.

USM won't extract some package modules.

Adawita Dark theme cuts off some icons on taskbar/panel bar.

Porteus won't boot sometimes and needs to be reboot in sudo in text mode in able to be reboot again.

More bugs to be report again soon.

Thank you :D

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2641
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#195 by Rava » 03 Nov 2020, 13:41

clarkjohannes wrote:
03 Nov 2020, 13:17
USM won't extract some package modules.
USM should be disabled in 5.0rc1. O_o
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply