Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#151 by Blaze » 06 Jan 2020, 15:05

amplatfus, as far as I know in a new Samba 4.11.x - SMB1 is disabled by default, but Porteus 5.0 RC1 is use Samba 4.10.x version.

Try in /etc/samba/smb.conf these options:

Code: Select all

   client min protocol = NT1
   client max protocol = NT1
restart samba daemon via

Code: Select all

su
toor
# Note. Check on chmod +755 /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart
if with above options of samba does not work, try to comment it:

Code: Select all

#   client min protocol = NT1
#   client max protocol = NT1
and restart samba daemon.

After this run these commands:

Code: Select all

su
toor
# I prefer /media/my-folder location for this (it show my mounted things at the left side bar of file manager)
mkdir /mnt/pc
chown guest:users /mnt/pc
mount -t cifs -o user=cliff //192.168.0.1/pc /mnt/pc
or you can try this temporary variant (no password is required when mounting - but I think this is not a safe method):

Code: Select all

su
toor
chmod u+s /sbin/mount.cifs
echo -e "username=USERNAME\\npassword=PASSWORD" > /your/path/.smblocal1
chmod 400 /your/path/.smblocal1
mkdir -p /media/your-share
chown your-user:group-of-your-user /your/path/.smblocal1
chown your-user:group-of-your-user /media/your-share
echo -e "\\n# Local partitions:
//IP-address-of-PC/Windows-share /media/your-share cifs user,noauto,vers=1.0,credentials=/your/path/.smblocal1,dir_mode=0777,file_mode=0777 0 0" >> /etc/fstab
reboot
after reboot, check your mount point at the left side bar of your DE file manager.

BTW, I wrote FAQ - Install and configure OpenVPN server in Porteus (Russian topic)
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 138
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#152 by amplatfus » 06 Jan 2020, 19:47

Dear Blaze,

Thank you very much for detailed post and for FAQ contribution to community with Install and configure OpenVPN server in Porteus (Russian topic).
I failed in all steps. I am still looking for option to try. Please, should I try also .smblocal1 way? I have not found it yet the file on Porteus. Only this is left without been tried already until now.

I found this already in /etc/samba
client max protocol = NT1
I added client min protocol = NT1, save then tried:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password:
mkdir /mnt/pc
chown guest:users /mnt/pc
root@porteus:/home/guest# chmod +755 /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart
smbd: no process found
nmbd: no process found
Starting Samba:  /usr/sbin/smbd -D
                 /usr/sbin/nmbd -D
root@porteus:/home/guest# mount -t cifs -o user=user //192.168.0.1/pc /mnt/pc
Password for user@//192.168.0.1/pc: 
mount error(22): Invalid argument
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs) and kernel log messages (dmesg)
root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart
Then commented

Code: Select all


   #client min protocol = NT1
   #client max protocol = NT1

Then failed again:

Code: Select all

Starting Samba:  /usr/sbin/smbd -D
                 /usr/sbin/nmbd -D
root@porteus:/home/guest# mount -t cifs -o user=user //192.168.0.1/pc /mnt/pc
Password for user@//192.168.0.1/pc: 
mount error(22): Invalid argument
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs) and kernel log messages (dmesg)
Then I tried again without comment because I saw in first place that smbd: no process found. Same result.
I mention that I haven't tried with Windows, because in my case Linux Porteus is the main OS.
In the Porteus log I have same error:

Code: Select all

Jan  6 21:27:20 porteus kernel: [ 3736.266350] No dialect specified on mount. Default has changed to a more secure dialect, SMB2.1 or later (e.g. SMB3), from CIFS (SMB1). To use the less secure SMB1 dialect to access old servers which do not support SMB3 (or SMB2.1) specify vers=1.0 on mount.
Thank you again,
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#153 by Blaze » 07 Jan 2020, 08:47

Hi amplatfus, this

Code: Select all

smbd: no process found
nmbd: no process found
mean that you are not run samba daemon

Code: Select all

# chmod +755 /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
# /etc/rc.d/rc.samba start
but it’s not important anymore since you assigned permissions 755 on /etc/rc.d/rc.samba and after reboot daemon of samba will start automatically.
amplatfus wrote:
06 Jan 2020, 19:47
I have not found it yet the file on Porteus.
.smblocal1 created in this step:

Code: Select all

echo -e "username=USERNAME\\npassword=PASSWORD" > /your/path/.smblocal1
amplatfus wrote:
06 Jan 2020, 19:47
should I try also .smblocal1 way?
If the above variant does not work -
amplatfus wrote:
06 Jan 2020, 19:47
#client min protocol = NT1
#client max protocol = NT1
I think no.

In this situatiin you must to

1) check your workgroup at your router and Porteus

Code: Select all

cat /etc/samba/smb.conf | grep workgroup
The workgroup should be the same. For example:

Code: Select all

   workgroup = WORKGROUP
2) try open in file manager of your DE this address:

Code: Select all

smb://ip-of-your-share/
#or
smb://hostname/
Image
and look at this path at your file manager too

Code: Select all

network:///
Image

play with these otions - comment and uncomment

Code: Select all

   #client min protocol = NT1
   #client max protocol = NT1
restart samba service /etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart

BTW, I have samba-4.11.3-x86_64-1 and I don't have these options and all shares works fine for me.

3) in terminal look at output of these commands:

Code: Select all

su
toor
arp -a
# password is toor for smbtree (if you don't changed it)
smbtree
nmblookup hostname-of-your-router
nmblookup -A ip-of-your-router
nmblookup -M -- -
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 138
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#154 by amplatfus » 07 Jan 2020, 13:35

Thanks again.

This one is working with all on default Porteus instalation.

Code: Select all

smb://ip-of-your-share/
Please, how can I use this in order to have a mount folder even if it is /mnt/pc or /media.

I apreciate very much your continuous detailed help,
amplatfus

Edit1: Please find below the output for command smbtree and the rest of them you sugested:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/media# smbtree
Enter WORKGROUP\root's password: 
share
	\\router           		router
		\\router\IPC$           	IPC Service (router)
		\\router\ftphand        	
		\\router\pc             	Expansion's pc in Seagate Desktop
		\\router\entware-ng.arm 	Expansion's entware-ng.arm in Seagate Desktop

root@porteus:/media# nmblookup router
192.168.0.1 router<00>
root@porteus:/media# nmblookup -A 192.168.0.1
Looking up status of 192.168.0.1
	router            <00> -         B <ACTIVE> 
	router            <03> -         B <ACTIVE> 
	router            <20> -         B <ACTIVE> 
	..__MSBROWSE__. <01> - <GROUP> B <ACTIVE> 
	share         <1d> -         B <ACTIVE> 
	share         <1e> - <GROUP> B <ACTIVE> 
	share         <00> - <GROUP> B <ACTIVE> 

	MAC Address = 00-00-00-00-00-00

root@porteus:/media# nmblookup -R router
192.168.0.1 router<00>
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#155 by Blaze » 07 Jan 2020, 15:19

amplatfus, I reproduce your issue at my MikroTik hAP ac². I shared my USB flash drive via router.

Code: Select all

su
toor
mkdir /media/pc
chown guest:users /media/pc
mount -t cifs -o user=guest //100.5.0.1/share /media/pc
Password for guest@//100.5.0.1/share: 
mount error(95): Operation not supported
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs) and kernel log messages (dmesg)
[  733.835296] CIFS: Attempting to mount //10.3.0.1/share
[  733.835305] No dialect specified on mount. Default has changed to a more secure dialect, SMB2.1 or later (e.g. SMB3), from CIFS (SMB1). To use the less secure SMB1 dialect to access old servers which do not support SMB3 (or SMB2.1) specify vers=1.0 on mount.
well :poke:

Code: Select all

mount.cifs //100.5.0.1/share /media/pc -o vers=1.0,username=guest
and success :magic:

This is howto for you - step by step :)

Code: Select all

su
toor
unset HISTFILE
chmod +755 /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba start
chmod u+s /sbin/mount.cifs
echo -e "username=HERE-IS-YOUR-USERNAME\\npassword=HERE-IS-YOUR-PASSWORD" > /etc/samba/.smblocal1
chmod 400 /etc/samba/.smblocal1
mkdir -p /media/pc
chown guest:users /etc/samba/.smblocal1 /media/pc
echo -e "\\n# Local partitions:
//192.168.0.1/pc /media/pc cifs user,noauto,vers=1.0,credentials=/etc/samba/.smblocal1,dir_mode=0777,file_mode=0777 0 0" >> /etc/fstab
echo -e 'echo -e "\\\\n# Local partitions:\n//192.168.0.1/pc /media/pc cifs user,noauto,vers=1.0,credentials=/etc/samba/.smblocal1,dir_mode=0777,file_mode=0777 0 0" >> /etc/fstab' >> /etc/rc.d/rc.local
cat /dev/null > ~/.bash_history
Please check your share in your DE file manager.

BTW, after reboot you will get your share automatically (without user name and password)

Cheers
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 138
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#156 by amplatfus » 07 Jan 2020, 17:37

Great support as always. Thank you again.
I did like this: I deleted my changes folder to avoid previous scenarios tried.

And after reboot with changes write mode on I followed howto step by step, and reboot after.
Unfortenately without succes, even, on the same laptop, same network, but with older Porteus, same Mate, but 3.22 is working.
So, after restart I have /media/pc.
I have in /etc/fstab

Code: Select all

# Local partitions:
//172.16.0.1/pc /media/pc cifs user,noauto,vers=1.0,credentials=/etc/samba/.smblocal1,dir_mode=0777,file_mode=0777 0 0
I have in /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Code: Select all

echo -e "\\n# Local partitions:
//172.16.0.1/pc /media/pc cifs user,noauto,vers=1.0,credentials=/etc/samba/.smblocal1,dir_mode=0777,file_mode=0777 0 0" >> /etc/fstab
But with this result:
Image
If you have any hint, as always, :), please share it.
Edit1: A reason could be that I use as internal network 172.16.x.x?
Edit2: But I think is not a reason, because on Porteus Mate v.3.2.2 is working fine.

Thank you as always,
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#157 by Blaze » 07 Jan 2020, 18:05

amplatfus, what output of

Code: Select all

su
toor
mount.cifs //172.16.0.1/pc /media/pc -o vers=1.0,username=YOUR-USERNAME
?

1) What model of your Asus router and his firmware version?
2) Can you update firmware of your router at last stock firmware from the official website?
3) Does it support OpenWRT firmware?

P.S. all this is very strange and suspicious :hmmm:
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 138
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#158 by amplatfus » 07 Jan 2020, 18:38

Hi dear Blaze,

The output is:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# mount.cifs //172.16.0.1/pc /media/pc -o vers=1.0,username=user
Password for user@//172.16.0.1/pc: 
mount error(22): Invalid argument
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs) and kernel log messages (dmesg)
1) Router model is RT-AC88U powerd by Merlin firmware: 380.70.
2) No, I wouldn't like to update it.. I have a custom Merlin Firmware. I can update to latest Merlin Firmware, but I wouldn't like to because I have some scripts for backup of the router settings, scripts that are not compatible yet with the latest Merlin Firmware. Latest Merlin Firmware have a updated Samba version, so it could work on Porteus Mate 5.0.
3) I think the router supports OpenWRT firmware, but never use it. Also ddwrt I think is available.

Regarding your P.S., it is strage, because in same circumstances with only diffrence is Porteus Mate 3.2.2 instead not working Porteus Mate 5.0; so with Mate 3.2.2 and on antoher laptop with Mate 4.0 is working without problems, same router, same IP's.
Even same USB stick with multiple versions of Porteus with custom menu the 3.2.2 is working, the 5.0 fresh is not working.

Thank you as always,
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#159 by Blaze » 08 Jan 2020, 08:34

Hi amplatfus.
Probably it's samba or kernel issue :shifty:

1) About kernel and SMB3 and CIFS support (advanced network filesystem) (NEW) - we had a discussion here
Image
Image

Try to update kernel to 5.4.8 from neko (choose your arch 32 or 64 bit)
[5.4.8] <---NEW : "All patches" patching was done.
32bit-ALL-kernel5.4.8.tar (88 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/yxw1zisz2 ... l5.4.8.tar
md5sum: 08fb0860e5bfe72df2b9c1edf447aa06 32bit-ALL-kernel5.4.8.tar

64bit-ALL-kernel5.4.8.tar (94 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/kx0su7l4g ... l5.4.8.tar
md5sum: b8ceb11fd21a79ceed5212001bdc8d12 64bit-ALL-kernel5.4.8.tar
As root unpack .tar archive with kernel and replace these files:

Code: Select all

/mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/06-crippled_sources-5.4.8-64bit.xzm
/mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
instead sdb1 must be your partition with Porteus.

Need reboot!

2) Remove and install the latest version of samba

Code: Select all

su
toor
cd /tmp
# save samba-4.11.4-x86_64-2.txz to /tmp directory
getpkg samba
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba stop
removepkg samba
installpkg /tmp/samba-4.11.4-x86_64-2.txz 
Open as root /etc/samba/smb.conf in any notepad and replace all content with this content.

Save changes and back to terminal:

Code: Select all

chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba start
smbd -V
and test as root

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /media/pc
chown guest:users /media/pc
mount.cifs //172.16.0.1/pc /media/pc -o vers=1.0,username=user
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 138
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#160 by amplatfus » 08 Jan 2020, 13:02

Dear Blaze,

You rock! Is working. :Yahoo!: I did step by step like in your last post and now it's working.
Image
Thank you so much for promt and best support. I owe you some beers :punk: .

Now, please final advice, what shoud I do to import this configuration in persistent mode to work also in copy2ram mode?
It's OK like this:
1. keep below files in folders:

Code: Select all

/mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
/mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/samba-4.11.4-x86_64-2.xzm
2.keep this file into changes folder:

Code: Select all

etc/samba/smb.conf
I think this is was requested only for configuration of samba-4.11.4-x86_64-2.xzm and is not mandatory, OK?
/mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/06-crippled_sources-5.4.8-64bit.xzm --is not need it, I think it was requested for installing samba, not need it on daily normal user usage.

Thank you very much!
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2804
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#161 by Blaze » 08 Jan 2020, 14:39

amplatfus, awesome :punk:

Code: Select all

/mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
/mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
right

Code: Select all

/mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/samba-4.11.4-x86_64-2.xzm
how about /mnt/sdb1/porteus/modules/ ?
amplatfus wrote:
08 Jan 2020, 13:02
I think this is was requested only for configuration of samba-4.11.4-x86_64-2.xzm and is not mandatory, OK?
At this moment for samba-4.11.x series need to use this configuration (but you can tweak it as you want):

Code: Select all

/etc/samba/smb.conf
you can repack (unpack and pack only as root user!) samba-4.11.4-x86_64-2.xzm and replace this file.
amplatfus wrote:
08 Jan 2020, 13:02
06-crippled_sources-5.4.8-64bit.xzm
need for compilation from sources.
not need it on daily normal user usage
Yep.
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 138
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#162 by amplatfus » 08 Jan 2020, 15:16

:magic: you rock! Thank you so much for!
This year started grea; you are so awesome!

Wishing you and the community to have a best year yet!
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5346
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#163 by Ed_P » 18 Jan 2020, 18:01

Beware! rc1 doesn't have a Suspend power option for closing the lid of a notebook! Thus overnight with the lid closed anything left running continues to run and the battery dies, any changes die with it and the porteussave.dat file becomes corrupted.

The default setting is Do nothing. Shutdown is the only option. :cry:
Ed

sean
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 150
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 02:30
Distribution: Porteus v3.0 LXDE i486
Location: South Central PA, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#164 by sean » 22 Jan 2020, 15:56

No Wifi search

RE: Porteus-XFCE-v5.0rc1-x86_64.iso

Hope this is a contribution to the success of Porteus Version 5.0. I also hope I'm putting this in the correct place here, if not please re-direct.

No Wifi network connection with my Dell Inspiron 1440 laptop. Actually it won't even search for a signal. The Network Manager icon in the taskbar shows both Enable Networking and Enable Notifications checked.

Using 3 boxes here, works flawlessly on Dell Precision T3400 desktop & Dell Latitude d630 laptop.

All the above boxes boot MX-19 Live, SLAX, and older 2.0 & 3.0 versions of Porteus. All those live distro's find Wifi with no problem.

On the Dell Inspiron 1440 laptop in question, lspci shows it to have:

Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)

(Hi Ed_P, it's been a long time :-)

sean

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5346
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#165 by Ed_P » 22 Jan 2020, 22:27

Hello sean. :)

Dell Inspiron 13 5000 series

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# lspci | grep Network
01:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 3165 (rev 79)
Networking works fine.

Maybe someone will have a workaround for you.
Ed

Post Reply