Xorg distord desktop on VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
benjibasson
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
Distribution: Arch linux

Xorg distord desktop on VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

Post#1 by benjibasson » 11 Mar 2019, 19:25

Hi,
I have downloaded Porteus 4.0 to use it on the Igel 's computer with VIA hardware.
VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

Screen Fujitsu l19t-1
Size 1368*768

But I noticed a bug with Xorg that:
-Distort Desktop display at 45° for rectangular screen
-Distord opened windows
-Distort panels, icons and menu
No problem with square screen Same computer.

This is a bug because it is a regression: last porteus it worked perfect was 3.2.2 with same computer, same screen, and bug occure since Porteus 4.0
I have never used external neither restricted driver for this computer

Bad environment display
Image

Correct mouse cursor in front of display
Image

this big doesn't impact mouse cursor, neither mouse driving: the I stay Vertical for exemple. thus more the mouse is down, more its offset increase in X from the grafic environnement
Consol stay displayed perfect when we do ctrl alt fx


How to reproduce:
1) Install porteus 4.0 on usb. I have choosen 4.0 X86-64 xfce
2) boot the fresh install with the option always fresh
3) as soon as grafic environnement is loaded: it is redriving 45° instead of vertical sizes of screen
this s the startup movie
http://dl.free.fr/vkLAlVsCc

How to know if it is xorg's bug and not xfce: boot with the option always fresh and add noload=xfce. Log as root and startX. then right click on X environment.


Here are logs:
Xorg
https://pastebin.com/CFvPNC6p

Message
https://pastebin.com/Lu7cAWQH

Dmesg
https://pastebin.com/f2h4Unu7

Debug
https://pastebin.com/Bsvg8zL1


Thanks for your help.
Cheers
.

benjibasson
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
Distribution: Arch linux

Xorg distord desktop on VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

Post#2 by benjibasson » 29 Mar 2019, 09:54

Hi, i am afraid because I have no news.

With porteus 4.0, my screen take 3 pixel more offset per line: how to temove offset please?

The command xvidtune is missing so I cannot calibrate my monitor's resolution.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2180
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 4.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Xorg distord desktop on VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

Post#3 by Rava » 29 Mar 2019, 10:20

Is your machine capable of running a live OS from a CD or from a DVD?

Due to the known capabilities in hardware debugging, I recommend you start your machine with a different Linux - with the most recent Knoppix.

https://www.knopper.net/knoppix/index-en.html

Hopefully this gives you more info about the possible reason for Porteus 4.0 acting this weird.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

benjibasson
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
Distribution: Arch linux

Xorg distord desktop on VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

Post#4 by benjibasson » 16 May 2019, 12:27

Hi, unfortunately this computer doesn't have any cd reader.

But with any other linux it will fail because of tiny ram size 1go.

However with this other Linux ( porteus Linux 3.2.2) this bug never occurred. With same monitor. Same igel ( via technology)


With porteus Linux with dell square monitor I have no problems.
With lg monitors I get black screen

Cheers.

nanZor
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 RC1 XFCE
Location: Los Angeles

Xorg distord desktop on VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

Post#5 by nanZor » 17 May 2019, 08:50

To cure your 45 degree screen, if you can open up a terminal, or possibly a virtual terminal to make it easier, (ctrl-alt-f2), try resetting it back to normal with:

Code: Select all

xrandr -o normal
You'll have to type on a slant, or perhaps type in the blind, but if it works, reboot and see if that fixed a stuck bit. :) You don't have to be root, a normal user can execute this.

Note that there is no "e" in the command. I always get bit by trying to issue xrander :)

If the command works, but does not survive a reboot, perhaps put

xrandr -o normal

in your rc.local file. I just tried it for kicks, using 'left' and 'right' too, and emulated an old Alto computer....
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

Post Reply