High GPU Temperature on Porteus

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 92
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

High GPU Temperature on Porteus

Post#1 by lukaluki » 19 Aug 2018, 18:54

Hi,

I am using Porteus-KDE-v4.0-x86_64.iso
GPU: Nvidia GTX-980 Ti

Temperature on Win7 Desktop Idle: 50°C
Temperature on Porteus Desktop Idle: 93°C, just have the settings window opend, temprerature keeps rising and rising till shut down (pc just goes off).

There must be something wrong with the GPU Driver?
I now realize why the RC4 which I used before used to just shut down without any reason, now it makes sense why it could have happend. Crit Temp shutdown.

How to find the reason why temp goes up that high on Porteus? Must be like 100% useage and or even something wrong with the fans?.. But Win7 is making no problems as said.

Any ideas ?

EDIT: complete psinfo_report.txt: https://pastebin.com/raw/fhdFrFP2
I tested it again and it seems the cooling fans are not turning on, its getting hotter and hotter till system just turns off. So must be something with the GPU drivers disabling the fans + creating gpu load

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

High GPU Temperature on Porteus

Post#2 by brokenman » 19 Aug 2018, 21:48

Does this also happen under the xfce4 desktop?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

High GPU Temperature on Porteus

Post#3 by tome » 20 Aug 2018, 20:41

On my laptop with another Nvidia I have similar issue for current Porteus kernels. One process uses ca 100% (udevd? or similar). My solution for this device is to use older kernel (+vmlinuz). You can try kernel from Porteus v3.1 for test.
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 92
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

High GPU Temperature on Porteus

Post#4 by lukaluki » 20 Aug 2018, 22:11

brokenman wrote:
19 Aug 2018, 21:48
Does this also happen under the xfce4 desktop?
Just asking before I try it, if it works on xfce4, what is the solution? I have to stick to the xfce4 than ?
tome wrote:
20 Aug 2018, 20:41
On my laptop with another Nvidia I have similar issue for current Porteus kernels. One process uses ca 100% (udevd? or similar). My solution for this device is to use older kernel (+vmlinuz). You can try kernel from Porteus v3.1 for test.
If Kernel 3.1 works, it would mean I can not use Porteus 4 anyways ?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2135
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

High GPU Temperature on Porteus

Post#5 by ncmprhnsbl » 20 Aug 2018, 22:59

lukaluki wrote:
20 Aug 2018, 22:11
If Kernel 3.1 works, it would mean I can not use Porteus 4 anyways ?
Top
you can use the kernel from 3.1 with 4.0 : just swap out /porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm and /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from 3.1(or 3.2 if that works)
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

High GPU Temperature on Porteus

Post#6 by brokenman » 24 Aug 2018, 23:13

Just asking before I try it, if it works on xfce4, what is the solution? I have to stick to the xfce4 than ?
Just trying to narrow down the cause. If I can isolate it to a KDE or QT library I can pinpoint the problem more easily. Or you can just go backwards with kernels. Your call.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply