Page 13 of 14

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 22 Sep 2018, 14:25
by lukaluki
brokenman wrote:
24 Aug 2018, 23:16
Yes missing the NetworkManager plugins. Can you run the openvpn from a command line? You will need to research how this is done.
Why does porteus not work from scratch with vpn ? I remember times when Version 3 had no problem using vpn / openvpn :(

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 22 Sep 2018, 17:06
by brokenman
lukaluki wrote:
22 Sep 2018, 14:25
Why does porteus not work from scratch with vpn ?
Well it does work from scratch. I use it everyday. I think the problem is that the desktop mantainers aren't including the GUI portion which is the NetworkManager applet.

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2018, 16:39
by Ed_P
The Savedat file is saving too much when changes=EXIT is used. IMO

/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/storage/default/* and all the /home/guest/.java/deployment/cache/6.* sub directories are not needed.

Fewer files means faster shutdown and less disk space needed.

-update-


cleanup script copy update

/etc/changes-exit.conf :good:

Code: Select all

 :
 :
!/home/guest/.cache/thumbnails/normal
!/home/guest/.cache/mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/thumbnails/
!/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/storage/default/
!/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/datareporting/archived
!/home/guest/.java/deployment/cache/6.0/

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 31 Oct 2018, 15:43
by Ed_P
Vbox Builder not downloading 05-devel.xzm module. Not in /tmp when module attempting to be activated.

And update-vbox shows link=$SERVER/i586/testing/live/update-vbox-live yet my machine is x86_64.

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 31 Oct 2018, 22:34
by ncmprhnsbl
Ed_P wrote:
31 Oct 2018, 15:43
And update-vbox shows link=$SERVER/i586/testing/live/update-vbox-live yet my machine is x86_64.
that's just where all the live update-* scripts are kept, the scripts themselves cover and detect arch..

EDIT:
looking at update-vbox-live:
line 96:

Code: Select all

KSRCLINK=$SERVER/$ARCH/kernel/porteus-$KR/05-devel.xzm
which translates to dl.porteus.org/x86_64/kernel/ or a mirror thereof.. which doesn't contain the latest kernel(and devel,sources.)
so, brokenman needs to, either copy the kernel to that directory,
or change the script to point to the correct location:

Code: Select all

KSRCLINK=$SERVER/$ARCH/current/kernel/05-devel.xzm
and same for crippled sources line: 134

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 02 Nov 2018, 12:16
by brokenman
That should be fixed now. Thanks.

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 03 Nov 2018, 15:18
by Ed_P
Yup, it works. :happy62: :good: :)

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 23 Nov 2018, 13:43
by francois
Bouncing cursor. Problem and solution. Should be taken into account at next version?
Mouse madness

Re: Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 02:23
by Rava
I try to copy a file from a zip archive into the local $PWD folder (which is /tmp) using mc in x86-64 Port 4.0 (XFCE)

The following error occurs:

Code: Select all

Cannot create target file "/tmp/tmpaddon.zip/uzip:"
      Not a directory (20)
Looks like the setup for this mc function is somehow amiss.

I presume this is not due to some changes in Port setup but most probably an error in the used mc version.

I used "." as the target directory, and mc used to be able to then copy the file into the base folder of the archive itself.
When switching the other panel into /tmp and use that as target default folder for the extraction, the extraction works okay.
Still, mc should be able to extract into "." as well, cause then the user does not need to change the other panel only for extracting.

I also tried it with a different archive file, a rar one, and the very same error occurs. mc is unable to extract into ".", but can extract into the other panel.

Version used:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/$ mc --version
GNU Midnight Commander 4.8.20
Built with GLib 2.54.2
Using the S-Lang library with terminfo database
With builtin Editor
With subshell support as default
With support for background operations
With mouse support on xterm and Linux console
With support for X11 events
With internationalization support
With multiple codepages support
Virtual File Systems: cpiofs, tarfs, sfs, extfs, ftpfs, sftpfs, fish, smbfs
Data types: char: 8; int: 32; long: 64; void *: 64; size_t: 64; off_t: 64;

Re: Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 05:38
by Ed_P
Rava wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 02:23
I try to copy a file from a zip archive into the local $PWD folder (which is /tmp) using mc in x86-64 Port 4.0 (XFCE)
In Cinnamon $PWD doesn't point to /tmp.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ echo $PWD
/home/guest
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# echo $PWD
/home/guest
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
I used "." as the target directory,
I've never heard of "." to refer to a directory. "/." yes. What happens if you leave the destination blank?

Re: Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 06:00
by ncmprhnsbl
Ed_P wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 05:38
In Cinnamon $PWD doesn't point to /tmp.
$PWD is wherever you happen to be = "present working directory" ;)

Re: Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 06:32
by Rava
Update
I think I know the reason why it fails, it also fails using "./" as target. "./" even gives a better error message that just "."

mc is attempting to copy the file into its virtual filesystem (mc opens archives as virtual file systems), and since it only can copy files out of an archive but not into an archive, therefore the error.
It would not copy the file to "." / "§PWD" / "/tmp" since in the virtual filesystem the current §PWD is not /tmp even when the archive itself is in /tmp.

I most certainly remembered wrong thinking that this worked in a previous version of mc.
____________________________________
Ed_P wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 05:38
In Cinnamon $PWD doesn't point to /tmp.
I thought PWD means "Present Working Directory", but I could be wrong, that is how I read it and it is usually just what $PWD does.
Change your bash shell into some random folder and use $PWD to ask where you are, like so:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cd
guest@porteus:~$ echo $PWD
/home/guest
guest@porteus:~$ cd /tmp/
guest@porteus:/tmp$ echo $PWD
/tmp
guest@porteus:/tmp$ cd /etc/UPower/
guest@porteus:/etc/UPower$ echo $PWD
/etc/UPower
HTH!

EDIT
seems I am veeery slow, ncmprhnsbl beat me to that. :oops:

____________________________________
Ed_P wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 05:38
I've never heard of "." to refer to a directory. "/." yes.
Could it be you confused "./" with "/."?
Cause /. refers to the root folder:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/etc/UPower$ ls /.
etc   lib64  opt   run    srv  usr    bin     home  media  proc  sbin   sys  var   dev     lib   mnt    root  tmp 
guest@porteus:/etc/UPower$ ls ./
UPower.conf
Ed_P wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 05:38
I've never heard of "." to refer to a directory.
Just try it like so:

Code: Select all

cp /path/filename .
You won't get a filename named ".", instead /path/filename will be copied into the directory the shell is in, aka "$PWD" aka "."

BTW, the "." in the directory listing stands for "current directory" and the ".." stands for "one directory up":

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/etc/UPower$ ls -a
.  ..  UPower.conf
In this example "." is /etc/UPower and ".." is /etc

The "." and the ".." is similar to $PWD, it is not a fixed variable, but it changes accordingly to the folder the current shell is in.

Also, quoted from here http://www.linfo.org/current_directory.html
A single dot is also used to represent the current directory in some commands, scripts (i.e., short programs) and the PATH environmental variable.
Compare guest's $PATH with root's $PATH:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/etc/UPower$ echo $PATH
/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/games:/opt/porteus-scripts:.
vs

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# echo $PATH 
/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin
The missing "." for root means it won't execute programs or scripts from the current directory, but in guest's case it will do so.

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 13:30
by brokenman
Ok don't get carried away with a bash lesson. This is for bug reports.

In any case Rava I couldn't reproduce this mc bug in the porteus-v5 release candidate that I have here. Looks like it is fixed. tested with zip and tarball and both copied from archive into base folder containing the archive.

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 17 Dec 2018, 14:33
by Rava
brokenman wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 13:30
Ok don't get carried away with a bash lesson. This is for bug reports.
Agreed.
brokenman wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 13:30
In any case Rava I couldn't reproduce this mc bug in the porteus-v5 release candidate that I have here. Looks like it is fixed. tested with zip and tarball and both copied from archive into base folder containing the archive.
I did not manage to test 5.0 yet, the version with the behavior was 4.0, but I believe it was a misconception about how to do it on my part and not even a bug in 4.0

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Posted: 12 Mar 2019, 21:52
by mbos
Some issues I found so far:

1. With copy2ram boot option, receive "sh: y: unknown operand" in boot console.
Tested on LXDE and MATE with vanilla Porteus ISO booting in VirtualBox, also getting it on real system.

2. guiexec does not start with copy2ram (whereas it does start without copy2ram option). Tested on real system only. Could you give me a hint, which script executes guiexec?

3. Invalid owner/group on both copies of "win8" folder and its whole contents. Folder seems duplicated in /usr/share/icons and pixmaps. Observed on LXDE and LXQt. It gets nastier when I create a purpose group of my own and these files just happen to receive this group (as it did happen). Either way, should be all-root?

Note: using x86_64.

Cheers for the new Porteus :beer: