Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#151 by Rava » 20 Jul 2018, 15:39

@rchase
Either try adding the user "avahi" and save the changes files from /etc/, at least save /etc/passwd to be used with the next boot.

Or evben better, look into Porteus 3.2.2 /etc to see in which files the user "avahi" was put into, and copy these info into the 4.0 files, again saving all so that they survive a boot.

I cannot tell you which files these are since 3.2.2. never ran on my current system, so I only have still 3.1 and 4.0 on it.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2987
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#152 by Blaze » 20 Jul 2018, 17:34

Rava, I think you can try this and
Image
Linux 5.4.57-porteus #1 SMP Sun Aug 9 09:03:28 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#153 by Rava » 20 Jul 2018, 20:20

Blaze wrote:
20 Jul 2018, 17:34
Rava, I think you can try this and
Image
Hmmmm wasn't the checksum tester not part of P3.1, incorporated into Thunar`s right click context menu?
It is not there in standard P4.0…
Is the program not part of 4.0? Do I need to add it?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1640
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#154 by donald » 20 Jul 2018, 21:34

@ Rava
look for a script named "clipsum" in /opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/
if there is none copy it from another porteus version or use a newer
xfce module
in case you copied the file into /opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/
you have to create a thunar custom action:
/opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/clipsum %f

EDIT
@ rchase
--> "unknown user name "avahi"" message during boot <--
You can get rid of this message if you create a avahi group and user

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# groupadd -r -g 85 avahi
root@porteus:~# useradd -r -u 85 -g avahi -d / -s /bin/false -c avahi avahi
reboot - the message should be gone now.

Bear in mind that creating a avahi group/user will also allow the avahi daemon
to start.(avahi comes with the kodi module)

test if it is running:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/etc/rc.d# ./rc.avahidaemon status
Avahi mDNS/DNS-SD Daemon is currently running
If you don't want this, remove the executeable bit from /etc/rc.d/rc.avahidaemon.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# chmod -x /etc/rc.d/rc.avahidaemon
otherwise ignore the "unknown user name "avahi"" message and delete
the *.desktop files related to avahi in /usr/share/applications
so avahi doesn't show up in the menu.
I overlooked these .desktop files - sorry
(porteus 4.0 x86_64 - XFCE + kodi_17.6-x86_64_XFCE-don.xzm)
EDIT
It is better to put a NoDisplay=true line in the (avahi) .desktop files than to delete them,
so you can always undo it.
Last edited by donald on 22 Jul 2018, 06:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#155 by Rava » 20 Jul 2018, 23:43

donald wrote:
20 Jul 2018, 21:34
@ Rava
look for a script named "clipsum" in /opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/
if there is none copy it from another porteus version or use a newer
xfce module
in case you copied the file into /opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/
you have to create a thunar custom action:
/opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/clipsum %f
A script named "clipsum" in indeed in /opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/ … How do I create a thunar custom action again? (Remember I still lack the offline man pages)
Not via Thunar / Edit / Preferences it seems.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1640
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#156 by donald » 21 Jul 2018, 01:16

Thunar / Edit / Configure custom actions ...> create a new one = + button

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2987
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#157 by Blaze » 21 Jul 2018, 10:01

Rava, checksum right click action are included in dev iso
My uca-xfce-actions-by-blaze-2018-06-30.xzm
Linux 5.4.57-porteus #1 SMP Sun Aug 9 09:03:28 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#158 by Rava » 21 Jul 2018, 19:15

donald wrote:
21 Jul 2018, 01:16
Thunar / Edit / Configure custom actions ...> create a new one = + button
Thanks
I presume this is somehow stored in ~/.config/xfce4
Cheers!
Yours Rava

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1640
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#159 by donald » 21 Jul 2018, 19:28

~/.config/Thunar/uca.xml

<action>
<icon>package-x-generic</icon>
<name>Get md5sum</name>
<unique-id>1479219991020421-1</unique-id>
<command>/opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/clipsum %f</command>
<description>Get md5sum</description>
<patterns>*</patterns>
<audio-files/>
<image-files/>
<other-files/>
<text-files/>
<video-files/>
</action>

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#160 by Rava » 23 Jul 2018, 00:12

Found another missing dependency:

Code: Select all

$ ldd /usr/bin/memusagestat|grep not
	libgd.so.3 => not found
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5629
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#161 by Ed_P » 24 Jul 2018, 16:18

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# usm -s libgd.so.3

 ----------------------------- 
 Are you searching for a library file? 

libgd.so.3, it seems a library.
Would you like to find the package for it? [y/n]

 libgd.so.3  was found in   gd-2.2.5-x86_64-1_slack14.2.txz 

root@porteus:/home/guest# usm -i gd-2.2.5-x86_64-1_slack14.2.txz

Package:  gd-2.2.5-x86_64-1_slack14.2.txz  (144 K) [upgrade]
gd: gd (a graphics library)
gd:
gd: gd is a graphics library. It allows your code to quickly draw images
gd: complete with lines, arcs, text, multiple colors, cut and paste from
gd: other images, and flood fills, and write out the result as a PNG or
gd: JPEG file. This is particularly useful in web applications, where
gd: PNG and JPEG are two of the formats accepted for inline images by
gd: most browsers. The gd library was written by Thomas Boutell.
gd:
gd: Homepage: https://www.libgd.org
gd:

root@porteus:/home/guest#  
:)
Ed

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#162 by rchase » 25 Jul 2018, 16:12

This may be a bug unrelated to Porteus 4.0, but I notice that my Porteus 4.0 x86-64 XFCE frugal installation to hd on my old Toshiba Satellite constantly resets my display preferences to use the laptop's own display when it resumes from suspend -- I use an external display and have set the display preferences not to use the laptop's display. The preferences are correctly applied on startup, but not when resuming.

mhens
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Jul 2018, 10:07
Distribution: Porteus 4.0

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#163 by mhens » 30 Jul 2018, 10:17

When running the (fresh) Porteus 4.0 XFCE iso file "Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso" in VirtualBox I get the following error when trying to update usm:

root Terminal
usm -u all

"
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz DONE
There was a problem downloading the file:
"

I am a Linux newb and have searched in the internet for around 2h now to find a solution.
Since this happens in fresh mode I would have suspected that other Porteus users also face this bug; but I have not found anything new about that topic.

How can I get USM to work? Are there other ways to (easily) install packages in Porteus? Need MongoDB and MongoDBTools.

Thanks,
Martin

User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5629
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#164 by Ed_P » 30 Jul 2018, 13:59

Hello Martin.

One of the Porteus mirrors has a bad file or you have a bad connection to it. Note the name of the mirror you are downloading from when you get the error. Then click on USM's Settings option, next to the Update one. Edit the problem mirror's file, putting a "#" in front of the active URL and removing a "#" from a URL closer to you. Save the updated file, shutdown USM, restart it and run the update again. :)



BTW I just ran an update on my system and it ran to completion so the problem is not wide spread.
Ed

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 220
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#165 by raja » 30 Jul 2018, 17:54

MongoDB and MongoDB-Compass available in slackonly. Update slackonly and download and convert to xzm module..
Linux Kernel-4.4.120-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.2-64 bit.

Post Reply